Skip to content

Half Bath Before & After

July 19, 2010

You GUYS! I am so so excited to share what is probably our biggest and best project DIY project to date – our half bath.  A few months ago, I blogged about how nasty our 1/2 bath was… carpet on the floors, CARPET ON THE WALLS!, wallpaper on every. single. surface. possible. (including the door, window, and trim!), not to mention a totally weird radio in the ceiling that would turn on with the flick of the light switch (the light, however, did NOT turn on with said flick – totally mind-boggling).  Tearing it all apart was about the best feeling ever (you can read all about the before/demo here).

And, yes, we totally defaced our own home with graffiti in a move that I am one part embarrassed about (who defaces their own home?), and one part pleased with (it gave us the idea for the chalky after).

We removed everything from the bathroom and smoothed the walls where the carpet squares had been attached with liquid nails.  Then, we replaced the weirdo radio in the ceiling with a cheap & loud ceiling fan that is wired to the new light fixture we hung, making it nearly impossible for others to hear your business – super-crucial since the kitchen is just steps away.  We Jason blocked out the area where our wall-hung sink would go, and hung the wainscoting.  Everything was covered in several coats of paint…  It’s amazing how removing the bulky cabinets and drop ceiling and giving everything a fresh coat of paint really made our tiny, tiny half bath seem much bigger and fresher.

We splurged on a tiny wall mount sink – there were few that would nicely fit the 15″ square sink space in our tiny half bath, so we were pretty fortunate to find this one on ebay for $300.  Other details needed to be cheap to fit into our budget… we purchased a cheapish faucet online, had the mirror we removed from the half bath cut to a smaller size and then framed it with stained 1x2s, and hung a string from 2 nails as our towel rack.  I made the curtain for the bathroom from an old tablecloth, and hung a silly wooden fish purchased years ago on a family vacay above the door to the bathroom (since JT hates it, it’s pretty much the only place he’d let me hang it), and threw a handful of chalk into a jar I already had.

We’re currently saving up to replace all of the flooring on our first floor with beautiful hardwood floors, so we didn’t want to do anything too permanent (or expensive!) with the floor in the half bath.  When we ripped up the carpet that was originally in the half bath, we found old 60s laminate flooring that we covered in 2 coats of black paint and three coats of polyurethane.  It seemed to scratch easily, so we covered it in woven mat tiles from World Market (this also helps reduce echos and eliminate bathroom noises from wandering into the kitchen).  I threw some TP in an old wooden crate under the sink and called it good.

Initially, we thought we’d spend $400 in this space.  That was before we realized that we were going to have to splurge a little on the sink.  Instead, here’s our budget breakdown:

  • Drywall Compound – $7
  • Cheap & Loud Fan – $13
  • Wiring – $25
  • Light Fixture – $37
  • Wainscotting & Trim – $80
  • Paint – $34 for black/chalkboard paint
  • Plumbing – $50
  • Sink – $300
  • Faucet – $75
  • Woven Carpet Tiles – $10
  • Wooden Crate – $5
  • Materials we had before starting the project: primer, white semigloss paint, ceiling paint, stain for the mirror trim, polyurethane for the floor, old tablecloth for curtain, ridiculous wooden fish, chalk, glass jar, mirror, string to hang towels on
  • Total: $636
  • Satisfaction that we did it all ourselves: Priceless

Not bad!  And, so so so much better than the before…

I’m linking up to the CSI’s Beautiful Bathroom Challenge, Shabby Nest’s Frugal Friday, Just a Girl’s Show & Share Day, Thrifty Decor Chick’s Before and After Party, and the DIY Show Off’s Project Parade!

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. GGG permalink
    July 19, 2010 11:28 am

    Good job! I hope to get there someday and write on that chalk wall! How far is there an airport from you or a lake big enough to land on?

  2. July 19, 2010 11:51 am

    It really is a darling space! I love the charm/vintage feel of the jar filled with chalk and the curtain detail…combined with the urban touches. I think the splurge on the sink was the right choice! Great job!!

  3. Janna permalink
    July 19, 2010 12:22 pm

    Beautiful bathroom! I love the nails and string for a towel rack – so cute! It’s all really lovely and you did an amazing (and inexpensive!) job!

  4. July 19, 2010 12:55 pm

    You did an amazing job! This looks a million times better, and I know your guests will love the chalkboard walls! 🙂

  5. July 19, 2010 7:16 pm

    I love it! I love the chalkboard walls and the sink is my favorite. So cute! Love the shape. Great job!

  6. July 20, 2010 6:27 am

    It looks great! And, the fish is cute. 🙂

  7. July 20, 2010 9:36 am

    Jen, oh my goodness! It looks ah-mazing! Great Job! I love the chalk board idea that is really creative and I love that y’all got the idea when you were graffiti-ing the wall 🙂 Goes to show inspiration is everywhere. Seriously, job well done girl. I love it.

    XOXO
    Katherine Anne

  8. July 21, 2010 2:30 am

    I LOVE it – looks amazing – I want a chalkboard wall in our house 🙂

    The perfect finishing touch? Has to be the old wooden box. I’m with J on the fish! (sorry)

  9. July 25, 2010 11:38 am

    Love it! The chalkboard is a great idea. It reminds me a little of a hip restaurant type bathroom. I love it!

  10. July 25, 2010 1:39 pm

    WoW!! I love the bathroom–and im assuming that the beer comment on the wall was jasons?? pretty clever..

  11. July 29, 2010 11:33 pm

    I. love. this! What a fun and fantastic idea! It turned out toooo cute!

  12. August 3, 2010 1:15 pm

    The beer saying got me alone…that is too funny. I love your quirky personality. I am having a before and after party now…I also have a weekly garage salen party. I would love for you to come join in the fun. Debbie
    This was an awesome transformation.

  13. November 18, 2010 11:03 pm

    I really love the chalk board walls above the wainscoting- how totally fun! I also like the Ben Franklin beer quote- your house must be like ours, lots of friends having a fun time! VERY COOL

  14. November 21, 2010 5:15 am

    Your bathroom is so fun. I love that blackboard paint with the beadboard!!!

    You won the giveaway over on The CSI Project! Send me an email and I will get you in touch with Amanda @ Our Humble A{Bowe}d!

    xox
    Jen

    jennifer@tatertotsandjello.com

  15. December 7, 2010 2:50 pm

    I love your bathroom! Saw it on CSI Project and you inspired us to do a chalkboard bathroom too! We wrote about your bathroom on our blog, still in the process of finishing up the bathroom, but will post our afters soon! I think yours will still look better though 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Winner’s of the Beautiful Bathrooms Challenge! « The CSI Project
  2. happy new year! «

Leave a comment