Skip to content

painted pvc

August 12, 2010

It’s been a while since I showed you any pictures of our full bath, and that’s probably because after last year’s big presto chango, I was kind of stopped and stuck on what to do next. I decided it looked good enough and that I should move on to something else. (Because I totally have project ADD. Have you caught on to that yet?!).  Just for fun, here’s the before:  (OMG, I almost forgot about the awesome pink carpet on the wall.  So classy.)

And the after was better, but there was still one thing that was totally driving me nuts.

Can you spot it?  Here, let me help you out:

For whatever reason, I just assumed that the plumber who installed our sink would use chrome pipes underneath.  I guess because I had only seen wall mount sinks with chrome pipes underneath?  So you can imagine my surprise when he left for the day and I walked up to find gigantic white PVC pipes sticking out of my wall.  Not thrilled.  I think it really ruins the classic look of the wall mount sink.

So I bought a can of spray paint and painted the pipe silver, after covering EVERYTHING in the bathroom with plastic and painter’s tape, then priming with a generic all-purpose spray primer.  (Note: if you accidentally get paint on the tiles, it will come off with vinegar & elbow grease.  Not that I know from experience or anything…)

The original idea is from a commenter on my bathroom guest post on Brooklyn Limestone last fall.  Pioneer Woman painted her exposed under-sink PVC pipes oil-rubbed bronze here.  I figured it was at least worth a try.  (And if this didn’t work, I was going to beg Jason to replace the PVC with chrome.  He is very very lucky that it did work.)

In all, it was a 30-min fix (and 29 of those minutes were spent taping plastic bags to tiles).  I think it looks so much better.  And this reminds me that I’ve just picked up some material that I think will be *lovely* for our shower curtain (that’s the other thing that was driving me nuts about our bath: no pretty shower curtain).  Hopefully I can finish that up sometime soon (I am currently infatuated with my sewing machine – expect many sewing posts in the upcoming weeks), and post updated pictures of the entire bathroom!

I’m sharing this with the CSI Project’s Spray Paint Challenge!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 10:45 am

    Holy Cow!!!! Way better! I have the same issue and now I think I will have to steal your idea!

  2. August 12, 2010 10:48 am

    I would have thought the spray paint would just call more attention to it but it looks great! Glad one of the commenters made the suggestion.

  3. August 12, 2010 10:53 am

    Awesome! Great idea.

  4. August 12, 2010 12:24 pm

    YOU ARE A GENIUS! Seriously. It looks amazing.

  5. August 12, 2010 12:52 pm

    That’s a GREAT idea! I still loved the bathroom, even with the white pipes. Can’t wait to see your sewing projects. That’s next on my list when we recover from this kitchen renovation!

  6. August 12, 2010 3:24 pm

    So smart!!! It looks great. Who would have known!?

  7. Janna permalink
    August 12, 2010 5:55 pm

    What a quick and fantastic change!!!! Brilliant!

  8. Anna permalink
    August 13, 2010 9:53 am

    I love it! A quick and easy fix! (Love the subway tile too!)

  9. August 13, 2010 2:29 pm

    Great idea! small fixes are usually the best ones 🙂

  10. August 16, 2010 10:01 pm

    This looks great! You fooled me- looks just like chrome. Spray paint can transform anything : )

  11. August 20, 2010 12:44 pm

    Awesome! It really looks great and the love the classic look of the subway tiles.

  12. August 20, 2010 1:40 pm

    Genious!!! I love it! It looks so much better! I definately think you deserve to be one of the top picks for such and original idea! Good luck!

  13. Heather R permalink
    August 24, 2010 3:59 pm

    brilliant!

Trackbacks

  1. bathroom reno «

Leave a Reply

