Skip to content

happy new year!

January 3, 2011

2010 was, well, kind of… hmm.  Let’s just say that it ended much MUCH better than it started.

It started off rough – our miscarriage the first week of 2010 did not set a great tone for the year, and, I think we both spent at least the first half of the year sorting out our emotions from that ordeal.  Things slowly got better, though, and life moved on, as it always does.

Jason continued to like his jobby job (which is excellent, because if he has to look for a new job, we have to move again), and I was lucky enough to land a gig teaching at localsmallcollege, which I LOVED and am very much looking forward to again this year.

We had plenty of visitors in 2010: both sets of parents and siblings, my aunt & cousin, and a few out-of-town friends, too.  We also had wonderful travel opportunities this year: we headed to NYC for a wedding in May, visited J’s family in Philly in May, October, & December, made several trips to Milwaukee to visit with my family, spent Thanksgiving in Minneapolis, and had a super-awesome two-year anniversary trip to Costa Rica in October.  I also had a blast visiting my cousin in Montana (despite the deer incident), with mama bear, sister, aunt, & other cousin.

The house saw it’s share of changes this year: new washer & dryer, we remodeled the half bath, turned a bowl into a light fixture for the kitchen, painted & added new shelving to our pantry, started a vegetable garden & actually got produce from it, built a pergola, switched up the dining room, finally finished the full bath remodel we started before we moved in, and had the retaining wall around the front of our house rebuilt.

I also got my craft on this year, and you can bet I enjoyed every minute of it: I was all over holidays & seasons with my heart garland, paper eggs, bird feeder, walnut turkeys, & ornament wreath, and my sewing machine & I became BFFs as I made a napkin pillow, a colorful baby quilt, new cushion covers for our Ikea loveseat, a baby doll sling, and a pillowcase dress.

I’ve not mentioned the project that will be the biggest & best of 2010 (and beyond!):

{not the t-shirts (although, I did make those because we all know I’m too cheap to buy them) – the message on the t-shirts: we’re having a baby!}

Barley & Jezzie’s human chew toy little sibling is set to arrive at the end of June & we couldn’t be more *thrilled*!  So stay tuned to hear more than you ever wanted to know about my pregnancy, our thoughts on parenting, and other human-growing-related-goodness!  (And maybe this explains my blogging hiatus recently?  Because all of this human growing has left me exhausted & unmotivated.)

And here’s where I’d usually insert our goals for the next year, but I’m going to keep it simple and share 2 wishes for 2011 instead:

  1. to have a healthy baby
  2. to quickly figure out how to make that healthy baby happy

And, heck, if I happen to pick up a few new photography skillz this year or lose the babyweight before my BFF’s wedding in August, you know I won’t complain. 🙂

Hope you all had a stellar New Year’s & I hope to return with some more bloggy goodness before the week is over!

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 2:01 pm

    CONGRATS!

    Hugs and prayers and bestest bestest wishes for June 🙂

    I could not be more delighted for you!

  2. Monique permalink
    January 3, 2011 2:23 pm

    Congrats – What a wonderful way to end a year that did not start in the same light. We send our wishes of health and happiness to you and your growing family for 2011 and beyond.

  3. January 3, 2011 2:39 pm

    Congratulations! We are so excited for you and your growing family! I can’t wait to read more about your pregnancy and then baby in June! Happy 2011! 🙂

  4. Katie permalink
    January 3, 2011 2:52 pm

    Love you guys! So incredibly happy for you!

  5. January 3, 2011 4:03 pm

    Congratulations to you guys! Great news to start what I hope is a great year for all.

  6. January 3, 2011 4:54 pm

    You know, as I’m tearing up typing this, those are some of the best dang goals I have seen posted through out the internet. I am so so so happy to hear of your news and excited we get to go through this together!

    Happy 2011!

  7. January 3, 2011 10:31 pm

    Wow, congrats you two! I hope you have a happy and healthy next 6 months.

  8. Jan permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:14 pm

    Oh my gosh! Congratulations, I am so excited for you and Jason.

  9. January 4, 2011 9:47 am

    I am so happy for you!!! Congratulations! I’m so excited!! Keep us filled in on everything!!!

  10. GGG permalink
    January 4, 2011 2:45 pm

    I love the picture of your Doggies! That is one to frame and hang in the babies room! So now that everyone knows about it, can I talk about it?

    • January 10, 2011 11:42 am

      Yep, now you can talk about it! 🙂

  11. January 4, 2011 5:18 pm

    Oh my heart sank when I read that first part because I didn’t know you and your blog back then…I’m so sorry! Then I read about your great travels and fun house redo’s—and I’m jealous you and your sewing machine are BFF, I want that someday, but I should probably get a sewing machine first. Then I saw the photo and I got so excited for you guys! I wish you all well and yeah for healthy baby—baby you can do it! Does the baby have a little nickname?

    • January 10, 2011 11:43 am

      Thanks so much! For now, we’re calling the baby Rico… we won’t find out the baby’s sex until it’s born, so that nickname should stick for a few more months!

  12. January 4, 2011 11:17 pm

    I just squealed out loud when I saw the doggie photo!

    AMAZING! I’m so over-the-moon excited for you. You deserve all the happiness in the world.

    Yay!

  13. Tami permalink
    January 4, 2011 11:39 pm

    Yeah! We can’t wait to meet Baby! Congrats to you! 🙂

  14. Erin permalink
    January 5, 2011 10:06 am

    Congrats!! I don’t even know you, but I feel like I’ve been waiting for this day. Weird, right? 😉

    • January 10, 2011 11:44 am

      Thanks so much to everyone for the sweet & encouraging comments! We are definitely very excited about this news & hearing that all of you are rooting for us just adds to our excitement! Thanks! You’re the best! 🙂

  15. January 5, 2011 11:28 am

    Yay! Love the big announcement and the t-shirts (especially that you made them). As you know, I am SO happy for you! Can’t wait to read all about your experience 🙂

    xoxoxo,
    Erin

  16. January 5, 2011 5:40 pm

    Congratulations!!! I’m so excited for you! You’re due just a few months after me (in April)! Can’t wait to hear all about everything! 🙂

  17. January 8, 2011 12:36 am

    Oh Jen! I am so excited for y’all 🙂 Many, many congratulations to both you and Jason. I cannot imagine how happy y’all must be. xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. buhbye 2011, hello 2012 «

Leave a Reply

