Skip to content

next up!

July 20, 2010

Now that we’ve successfully tackled the half bath, I’m thinking that it’s high time we put the finishing touches on a few other rooms around here…

Up next on our project lists:

1. The dining room.

It’s kind of bland and boring.  We don’t really have much hung on the walls, and we’re trying to figure out if we need any additional dining room furniture.  I mean, we love our table and our gun-rack-turned shelving unit, but I can’t help but think we could use a little something else in here.  A buffet maybe?  Or a little corner cabinet?  Curtains would probably also be swell, as would framing & hanging some artwork.  Or plates?  Maybe I will hang plates in here.

I kind of love this buffet from Dining Rooms Direct.

2. The full bath.

The (lack of a) shower curtain is annoying me.  I need an extra long shower curtain, and I need it to not cost a ton.  I’ve tried out a few colored or patterned options, but now I’m thinking that plain white might be the way to go.  Like with ruffles or something?  Cross your fingers that JT will let me get away with something so girly.

Maybe I can make my own version of Target’s ruffle curtain, but maybe with less ruffles?

3. The laundry room.

It’s a disaster.  We started work on it – painted the floor & block walls and bought new washer/dryer – and then the water softener went out and took some of the paint on the floor with it.  I’d love a nice double-wide laundry tub in here (especially since J needs the big sink for some of his homebrewing adventures and we always seem to be getting in each other’s way).  Since the dryer currently vents to our 3 season porch, we’ll need to move the dryer vent, too.  And I’m thinking that a seriously durable rubber floor might be our laundry room’s new BFF.

4. The living room.

I just think it needs some color.  Like more throw pillows and curtains!  We would also love a new couch, since our 2 love seat + futon combo doesn’t fit the space well and the futon is ridiculously uncomfortable.  But we’re holding out on that for a little bit.

5. The office.

My desk is amazingly uncomfortable to sit at, so we’re going to remedy this with an awesome desk that we literally found on the side of the road (leading me to think that I am really turning into one of those people. whoever they are).  Some curtains and color wouldn’t be too bad in here, either.

And that about wraps up my top 5 inside-the-house to dos (and keeps me accountable to accomplish something during my summer sabbatical!).  Any thoughts/advice for me?  What’s on your to-do list?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 1:05 pm

    Do you really want my thoughts? Here they are, straight at you…

    Nix the ruffle curtain in the bath. I think the white tile with dark grout creates enough of a pattern in there that you need to keep a large thing like a shower curtain simple.

    Donate the futon to Robby, what better cause? I bet you could swap a day’s work for it and then you don’t have to move it.

    Get a comfy chair for the desk, like one of those architect chairs that are higher, then you don’t need a new desk. The one you have has a nice big workspace.

    I love that buffet picture too but a dining room is a great place for all your Craig’s List remakes. Go for the new flooring first, it will help you decorate to have the right color on the floor.

    Whew, thanks for letting me put my two cents worth in, now go do what YOU want to do!

    • July 22, 2010 10:50 am

      Thanks, mom.

      I already have the new desk, so it’s happening.

      I’m not giving away the futon until I have something to replace it. And, like you said, new flooring is the first step! So it might be years before we have a comfortable couch. I sit on the floor anyways, so it’s just our guests who are uncomfortable.

  2. Tami permalink
    July 20, 2010 1:30 pm

    The Bathroom is great already! The tile work is fun and the items in the bathroom are interesting…don’t go for the over kill! I agree with Picture This, nix the ruffle and go for a very tailored plain shower curtain. Maybe you can find something with a small tone-on-tone pattern woven into the fabric so you don’t feel like you hung up a bed sheet (which I have done, with stunning results, I might add 🙂 ).

    The architect/draftsman chair idea would work and look good too…and some of those are ergonomically designed so it could be comfy. And, a bit different/funky for a home office.

    I LOVE the buffet (does it also come about 1/2 that wide for me???).

    As far as the futon…don’t you sit on the floor like I do anyways???? I’d give up the futon for a good weekends worth of work from Robby! 🙂

    • July 22, 2010 10:51 am

      I think you’re right about the shower curtain thing (so does everyone else who commented)! I am off to find a sheet now! 🙂

  3. July 20, 2010 2:36 pm

    you have a lovely dining room!! I large vintage buffet would be perfect! Mirrors 🙂 Artwork, shelves would also work and lovely curtains….

  4. July 20, 2010 4:26 pm

    Basement- I have several 1/2 inch rubber tiles that I had “under weight sets” and they fit together like puzzle pieces. Approx 8×8 feet of coverage. no slip and a vac over the top takes care of dirt… they are black.
    Siding on the room off the basement– “Hardy plank” as it will not rot near the ground also dryloc the walls…
    http://www.ugl.com/drylokMasonry/masonryWaterproofer/index.php

    Now go and do what YOU want to do.

  5. July 20, 2010 5:30 pm

    I think we are two chicks cut from the same cloth. We are constantly remodeling-but I’m sure you knew that since you already stopped by.
    We just finished up a huge project that I will be posting tonight, adding the finished pictures. It’s been a month long process and I have been documenting it, step by step.
    Thanks for stopping by http://www.potholesandpantyhose.com! Hope to hear from you again soon!

  6. GGG permalink
    July 20, 2010 6:58 pm

    Buy a white shower curtain and add some black and white random sized stripes on the bottom if you need it longer. Don’t buy too much till you look at the stuff at our house. You won’t be able to take it right now but you’d at least be able to work around a plan. I want to have everyone say what they want and then we will dole it out. some of it will come out here to the lake but not much. Some of this here will have to go. Most of it ws here when we bought the place and some of is just junk. Maybe I shouldn’t put this in writing-I’ll have the antique dealers at my door:)

  7. July 20, 2010 10:36 pm

    I adore your bathroom…. I would stick with something less ruffly since the tile is perfection, but that’s just me. Everything you do, I love. So, do it. 😉

    As for everything else, I can’t wait to see it. I hope you put plates on the wall in the dining room. I’ve been wanting to do this but haven’t. 🙂

  8. July 21, 2010 4:26 pm

    I’m excited to see what you come up with. Do you know what you’re going to do first? I feel like I always need to stick with one room and get it finished or I get overwhelmed and nothing gets done. 🙂 That laundry room has lot of potential! And I love the tile in your bathroom!

    • July 22, 2010 11:12 am

      No idea what we’ll do first… I already have a desk for the office that I’m in the process of refinishing, so maybe that will get finished first? The laundry room is probably the biggest undertaking, but will require Jason’s help, so I’ll have to wait until he’s ready! I suppose the other stuff will happen as I find fabric/inspiration!

  9. July 22, 2010 1:29 am

    You have quite the to-do list as do I. I like your home! The buffet you pictured is beautiful. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving your sweet comments on my faux zinc nightstand. I posted the tutorial a little bit ago.

    Have a great day,
    Jami
    (one of those people. haha!)

Leave a Reply

