Skip to content

knobs make all the difference

September 24, 2009

Before we left to go on vacation, we finished painting the kitchen and traded out our old, dirty, and unimpressive kitchen cabinet knobs for new sleeker brushed silver ones.  It made a HUGE difference for just around $30!

I thought I’d share the full transformation, since we’re done working on this space for a little while.  Of course, I still have a big to-do list before my dream kitchen is created (new sink/faucet, replace countertops/backsplash, add dishwasher, replace appliances), but everything else we’d do should probably be done at the same time at a big expense and we’ve got bigger fish to fry right now.

The view from the dining room:

Before

After

In the kitchen, looking towards the hallway:

Before

After

View from the hallway:

Before

After

In the interest of showing off, here are more after pictures (I’m really proud of myself).

(remember my little Ikea hack?)

And I’m even prouder of the fact that this makeover cost us less than $250.

Here’s our cost breakdown:

Ceiling Paint – $30

Light Green Paint – $30

Light Fixture (Ikea) – $50

Electrician – $40 (he split an hour between this project and our bathroom)

Shelves and pot rack (Ikea) – $40

Cabinet Knobs – $50

Black spray paint for Ikea Cart – $8

(We had the white paint, primer, and wallpaper remover on hand from our dining room makeover.  For our hole-in-the-ceiling fix, we had plaster left from our Minneapolis House and a 2×4 and cement board left over from our bathroom makeover.)


Now I just need to learn how to cook…  Anyone have any good recipes to share?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 10:28 am

    Holy Cow, thats an improvement! I am just blown away at how something so small can really make a difference.

    PS, aren’t Kitchen Aid mixers da bomb?

  2. Amy permalink
    September 24, 2009 3:51 pm

    Looks great, Jen!

    I have no recipes to offer, but will boldly proclaim: the only three cookbooks you need to own!

    How to Cook Everything, Bittman (or his vegetarian one)
    Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day (which you probably heard a ton about in Minneapolis)
    The Art of Simple Food, Waters

  3. mom permalink
    September 24, 2009 4:03 pm

    LOVE IT!!! Come redo my house now, I’m so done with wallpaper!

  4. Debbie permalink
    September 24, 2009 6:27 pm

    It looks great! Would you like to come “vacation” in NJ? We could us a little(lot) of remodeling! How are you at putting in steps and sidewalks?

  5. September 25, 2009 3:58 pm

    Ooo! That IS lovely! We did found lots of great stuff at Ikea! The apartment is slowly coming together. I move all of the rest of my stuff in this weekend while Ben is at his “bachelor weekend.” I’m looking forward to being there for an extended period of time and really making a dent in the organizing and arranging. We found some really great deals on a hutch (to display the pint glasses) and an armoire that we are going to turn into a rack for our dishes!

  6. September 26, 2009 3:20 am

    Love the pics – talented girl!

    Now if I had known you needed recipes I would have given you the Avoca Cafe Cookbook for your birthday instead 🙂

  7. November 30, 2009 4:35 pm

    GORG! I love hwat paint can do! I really like your storage area. I spy the same cake stand we ahve, love Martha!

  8. January 19, 2010 12:50 pm

    This is amazing! I wish all my kitchen needed was new paint and hardware (both of which it does need plus new floor, cabinets, countertops, oh yeah, and a new layout). But I digress.

    You did a great job on such a small budget – you have every right to be proud of yourself and do a little booty dance. 🙂

    -Emily

  9. June 28, 2010 3:52 pm

    I know I’m late to the party – but your kitchen looks great!! I found your blog through EADL.
    Do you mind sharing the color of your wall paint?

    • June 29, 2010 5:56 pm

      Thanks, Rachel! The color we used was Panacea by Valspar.

Trackbacks

  1. our fancy sink «

Leave a comment