Skip to content

souvenirs

September 23, 2009

Now that you’ve read the 7-part series that was our Ireland vacation, I thought I’d show you a few of the goodies that we picked up along the way!

On vacation, I usually try to pick up a few things that I can hang or otherwise display in the house.  That way, every time I walk past the picture in the hallway or the candle on the dining table, I see my little souvenir and remember the vacation.  It’s swell, and works with my desire to fill my home with meaningful pieces.

We picked up this adorable porcelain coffee container at Avoca.  I fell in love with the turquoise and red stripes, and figured that it could totally work at my super-awesome fix-myself-coffee-and-toast station.

This metal stand thingamajig also came from Avoca.  I’ve got some big plans involving this guy, some pumpkins, and my dining room table.  (How is it fall already?)

I also found this vintagey-looking metal and beaded star at Avoca.  We’ve had to tie a bow to the top of our Christmas tree the past few years because we never had a tree-topper.  I promise that it’s cuter than it sounds.  Anyways, I was so excited to finally find a little tree-topper that I liked (and on clearance, to boot!) that I had to pick it up.  Christmas will be here before you know it!

My last two finds were not from Avoca (but I don’t remember the names of the shops that I bought them from…).  I picked up the carved wooden frame at some sort of random touristy shop, and I’m going to throw a picture of J and I on our vacay in it.

The awesome metal pig with wings came from a random home shop in Kenmare.  I love it.  Jason rolled his eyes.  BUT PEOPLE!  It’s a FLYING PIG!  How awesome is that?

I should also confess that I fell victim to the ploys of the tourist shops and bought these sheep salt and pepper shakers.  Oy.  They are cute, right?  But cheesy and totally unnecessary.  I think I came home with a sheep fetish.  I mean, I found like 300 pictures of cows and sheep on my camera… which is ridiculous because I live across the street from cows and sheep, so I could pretty much see them anytime.  Would it be inappropriate to use them next time I serve lamb?  (Reality check: I can barely cook pasta, lamb is totally out of the question.)

Well!  There they are!  My finds!  I’m working on making a video of our trip (complete with never-seen-before photos!  Does that “teaser” make it sound more exciting than it is?).  When it’s done, I hope to be technologically savvy enough to figure out how to share them with all of you!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 1:56 pm

    I like your cute little sheep! The pictures have been amazing!

  2. Debbie permalink
    September 23, 2009 5:51 pm

    It’s hard not to have pictures of sheep and cows since they’re everywhere!
    Can’t wait for the video!

  3. September 23, 2009 6:27 pm

    What great finds! The sheep are my favorite. They make me think of my mom because she used to have a fetish for cute sheep, too. 🙂 One time, she even made a trivet and painted a cute little sheep on it at a pottery place. I inherited it when she passed away and it makes me smile every time I see it! 🙂

    • September 24, 2009 6:50 am

      That is so sweet, Courtney! Glad to hear I’m not alone with my sheep hangup. 🙂

  4. mom permalink
    September 23, 2009 11:27 pm

    Oh my gosh! Great Grandma’s chicken salt & pepper shakers are going to look great beside those sheep!

  5. September 24, 2009 3:24 am

    Love your souvenirs – what would you have done without Avoca!

    Love those cute sheep and the flying pig too.

    I always try to buy some everyday homeware stuff to to remind me of a holiday trip.

    Looking forward to the video (no pressure!) and would you consider a post about food/meals too?

    Really enjoying seeing it all through your eyes.

  6. September 24, 2009 6:52 pm

    If you recall you now have two pigs that fly! And Naturally I LOVE the woolies!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

