Skip to content

babies and their showers!

September 25, 2009

Our trip to Ireland (which I have talked about ad nauseum) was sandwiched between baby showers – before we left, we attended a baby shower for Jason’s sweet sister, Bridget, and the day after we returned, I went to a baby shower for my BFF, Kitty (seriously, we took a quiz in high school and it identified that we should be BFFs, so we are).  Since we live so far from friends and family, it’s always great to have these excuses to spend time with the people we love most!

Bridget’s shower was held at her cousin, Marcie’s beautiful house in South Jersey.  There was delicious food, cute kids, and lots of presents!

He’s carrying it a little higher than she is.

(Otherwise titled: Am I a horrible wife for making my husband pose like this?)

This photo involved a little less husband torture.

Our little niece, Lucy is walking already!  Our time with Lucy and her brother, Peter, has been limited, so each time we see them they seem SO much bigger.

Bridget’s sweet friend, Julia, made a diaper cake!  Isn’t it cool?  I love craftiness.

I made a baby quilt!  This is the first quilt I’ve started AND finished (I have a half-finished quilt upstairs…) and I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out.  Bridget picked a cute blue and green bedset that has octopus, turtles, etc on it, and I tried to coordinate the fabrics with that set. I was really flattered that Jason’s cousin suggest that I make and sell these on Etsy, but my quilting skills aren’t quite there yet…

Beautiful mother and daughter photo!

Bridget – We hope all goes well over the next few days and that labor and delivery goes smoothly!  We can’t wait to meet our new niece!

The day after we returned from our vacation, I went to Kitty’s baby shower in Chicago.  My wonderful, lovely, amazing high school friends came from all over to be there, and it was so great to catch up with them again.  Also?  Kitty’s parents have an awesome condo with a great view of the Chicago skyline, and it was *perfect* weather to hang out on their patio.  I didn’t take quite as many photos of this shower… after spending 2 weeks with a camera stuck to my face, I was a little tired of taking pictures.

Babies love Kitty and Kitty loves babies!  (Which is a good thing, seeing as she will have one of her very own in 3 months!)  Last year around this time, we all met for a baby shower for my friend Carrie, and this little one, her beautiful baby Cora.  Aren’t those curls adorable?

The girls and the Chicago skyline.  Amazing, no?

Kitty’s baby won’t be arriving until December, and she just has the cutest little baby bump!  Can’t wait to meet your new little one, Kitty!  Hope everything goes smoothly over the next few months, and come visit us soon!

I think that as I get older, and as I’ve been away from friends and family, I really cherish these times together – especially when getting together under such happy circumstances!  So this week, I am hooked on spending time with loved ones and finding beauty and inspiration in celebrating new life!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    September 25, 2009 12:53 pm

    Great pictures (once again) although I may be a bit prejudiced! I am going to have two beautiful and fun granddaughters! We’re not sure at this point what Jason is carrying ; I suspect it may be a few six packs.
    I cherish the times the family is together and that was another great time!
    Best wishes to Kitty also on her new arrival!

    • mom permalink
      September 25, 2009 5:47 pm

      Debbie, you are so funny!!! Six-pack abs, isn’t there a video on that?

  2. September 25, 2009 3:12 pm

    YOu look great! LOVE 1st photo with hubby… classic!

  3. GGG permalink
    September 25, 2009 4:35 pm

    I must have gotten lost somewhere. I thought Bridget and Jason were brother and sister! ””””””’what’s the Hubby comment about?

  4. September 25, 2009 10:44 pm

    LOL, I love that back to back picture. Baby showers are so much fun!

  5. September 26, 2009 3:23 am

    We don’t have baby showers here – just lots and lots of RAIN showers…LOL!

    • September 26, 2009 9:38 am

      Really? No baby showers?

      I know all about the rain showers… 🙂

  6. September 26, 2009 11:41 pm

    love your baby quilt –
    what a special gift!!
    Have a great weekend.

Trackbacks

  1. i *heart* faces – blue! «

Leave a Reply

