Skip to content

black kitchen cart

August 18, 2009

After accidentally painting our little Ikea kitchen cart a crazy shade of neon green, you guys awesomely advised to paint it a different color.  I ended up going with black – mostly because it would require fewer coats of paint than if I had done white, but also because both my momma and MIL suggested black, and I was not about to disobey two moms.  That would be baaaaad news.

before’s neon green after

In the end, though, I think the moms were right: I’m really pleased with this black version of the cart!  Yay for spray paint!  (Also note that I’ve put a coat or two of new white paint on the wainscoting  in the picture below, which is why it appears a bit brighter).

black is the new after

Those wires hanging out of the ceiling really have to go, though.  I think I want to hang some sort of old schoolhouse light fixture in this area, but am not sure whether the fixture should hug the ceiling or hang down a bit.  I love the look of pendant lighting, but I’m a little hesitant to use it in this space because our ceilings are not very tall, and if it’s a low pendant, it would get in the way when I’m using the bowls on the upper shelves.  Plus, do hanging lights look silly if they’re not hanging over anything?  Do I need a bigger (i.e., more square) cart to pull that off?  Any thoughts?

(from Rejuvenation)

(From Lighting Direct)

Which one is your favorite?  Are there any other styles I should consider?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    August 19, 2009 6:17 am

    The black looks great! Painting the wainscoting was a great idea as well; it really brightens it up.

  2. mom permalink
    August 19, 2009 10:48 pm

    I’m thinking a pendant light would not be a good idea in the kitchen because, yes, the ceilings are too low. (Although you could put one over the sink; I do not remember what is there now but if you really, really want a pendant light, that would be a safe place to put it. I like the last one for that!) What about something that shines at the cart & shelves like the spotlights you have on the ceiling now? Otherwise that location seems like a strange place for a light because there is not a walkway under it (like in a hallway) or even a table. Canned lights could be an option also but keep in mind, they can get hot so be careful with what is in the ceiling! Those are my thoughts…I’m never shy with my opinions!

Trackbacks

  1. mirror, mirror, on the wall… «
  2. knobs make all the difference «

Leave a Reply

