Skip to content

Lilly’s First Week

July 28, 2011

Hi!  I’m back!  Did you miss me?  Life here has been busy and full, but I’ve been doing my best to take notes about our days so that I can remember them & also to share with you!  I should be back a bit more regularly as the three of us settle into a new routine…  Until then, I’ll just post some notes/pictures about our first weeks together as a family of 3.

What an amazing week it’s been.

IMG_5078

(Here’s where I should probably warn you that this is officially about to become a “mommy blog” — because being a mommy is pretty much consuming my life right now, and because 90% of my readers are friends & family members anxiously awaiting more baby photos.)

IMG_5065

We are pretty much in awe of this baby girl that has joined our family.  It’s crazy how long Jason and I can stare at this  little creature that possesses only eating, pooping, sleeping, and crying skillz.  We spent much of our two-day recovery time in the hospital just staring at Lilly, asking each other, “Can you believe she’s ours!?” and processing what had happened in the previous 24 hours.

IMG_5115

IMG_5146

Lilly’s Nana & Auntie Ashley came to visit us in the hospital, as did the friends that were with us the night before Lilly was born.  Other than that, we had fairly limited distractions (limited = a relative term, since we had nurses, doctors, and room service peeps stopping in every few hours), and we tried to just rest and bask in our new parent-ness.  We did send Lilly with the night nurse for a few hours each night (and I felt some major mama-guilt that my baby was less than 24 hours old and I was already shipping her off with someone else).  She had a few crazy bouts of choking on mucus during our waking hours, though, and both Jason and I were worried that we’d fall asleep so deeply that we wouldn’t wake to hear her choking in the night.  In fact, I spent most of Lilly’s first week worried that something terrible would happen to her while I was sleeping, and that I wouldn’t wake to hear her struggling to breathe or clear mucus/vomit/spit up from her throat.  Terrifying.

IMG_5185

IMG_5210

We arrived home to find that Nana & Auntie Ashley had cleaned the entire house while we were in the hospital.  What a gift that was!  Especially since I haven’t wanted to do anything at all this week besides snuggle my girl…  And, in fact, pretty much all we’ve done around here this week is love on our baby.  The classes that we took before Lilly’s birth instructed us to do nothing but feed & snuggle the baby for the first two weeks of life, and although I’m usually not good at following instructions, these are ones that I’m VERY happy to follow.

IMG_5272

IMG_5234

Lilly’s grandpa & uncle Trevor showed up later in the day to meet Lilly, and between Nana, Grandpa, and Uncle Trevor, we were able to take a few long naps.  I felt better knowing that while I was sleeping, my baby girl was being cared for, but the first night, I woke in a “WHERE’S MY BABY!?” panic before realizing that she was just downstairs.  Thanks to Nana, Grandpa, & Uncle Trev for also cleaning up the porch & mowing the lawn.  Jason and I enjoyed the extra hours of baby snuggles we got in while you were helping out!

IMG_5279

IMG_5316

Our second day home, we realized that Lilly had a bit of jaundice, which the pediatrician said would probably clear up if we continued to feed her every 2-3 hours and undressed her & sat in a sunny window.  We hadn’t been feeding her that often — she was asleep and nearly impossible to wake, eating about every 5 hours or so.  We made even more of an effort to wake & feed her, which was tricky, and truthfully, a little frustrating (at one point, we had her totally undressed & laid a cool wet washcloth on her and she continued to sleep).  Eventually, though, she got the hang of it, began eating every 2-3 hours, and the jaundice cleared up nicely for her doctor’s appointment on day 3.

IMG_5323

We found out that she had lost 9 oz in the first 4 days, so were instructed to continue to feed her every 2-3 hours for the rest of the week.  Although the thought of being baby’s only food source once she was out of the womb was really strange to me during pregnancy, breastfeeding has felt much more natural now that she’s out.  I’m feeling particularly lucky to be able to feed her, even though it’s been painful.  All I have to do is look at her content “I’m full” face, and it becomes worth it.

We lost power twice during Lilly’s first week home.  Not a huge problem, but being without electricity & water is slightly more stressful when taking care of a newborn (and recovering from giving birth).  I hope Lilly will like her country life, even if it includes the occasional indoor camping episode.

IMG_5465

We also gave Lilly her first at home sponge bath on Day 5 of life.  And, since she decided to do a giant poop up her back, about an hour later Lilly had her second at home sponge bath.  And, while we’re talking about poop (you guys! my life is so glamorous!): later in the week, Lilly was having some constipation issues, which resulted in some serious crying.  Jason google searched for solutions, and we ended up laying her on her back & bicycling her feet in a move we refer to as baby marathon or baby Tour de France.  After much crying and straining, our kid finally had a giant bowel movement & Jason and I were so happy you’d have thought she won the Nobel Prize.  Seriously.  I never thought I’d be so happy to change a diaper.

IMG_5459

As far as my recovery goes, I’m still feeling on top of the world after having such a smooth delivery.  If I could use just two words to describe how I’m physically feeling this week, they’d be: jiggly and leaky.  I have no abdominal muscles whatsoever, and it’s really strange to have to continue to roll out of bed instead of just sitting up.  The amount of leaking going on here is insane – I’ve never been a sweaty person before, but suddenly, I’ve just been drenched.  And the crying!  WHOA.  Again, I’m not typically an overly emotional person, even managing to avoid most pregnancy mood swings, but OHMYGOSH I can suddenly burst into tears at any moment.  I think these are officially referred to as the “baby blues”, only in my case, I don’t actually feel blue at all.  In fact, it’s the opposite.  I look at this beautiful baby girl that just joined our family, and I love her so much that all I can do is cry.  She is just so awesome, and we are so blessed to have her.

IMG_5501

If I feel sad about anything, it’s that with each passing day, she’s getting older, bigger, and I know that some day, she’s going to start telling me “no” or asking for the car keys or moving out of my house.  She’s been out less than a week, and already such things seem unbearable.

IMG_5490

Also, each day that passes brings us closer to the day when Jason has to return to work, and I’m already dreading it.  We’ve been having entirely too much fun as a family of three, and Jason has been taking such good care of his girls that it’s going to be very. very. sad when he goes back to work.

IMG_5531

IMG_5551

{this picture might be our all-time fav. love her little furrowed brow!}

15 Comments leave one →
  1. PAppel permalink
    July 29, 2011 1:42 am

    That last picture is precious as is the one with her on her side with a stuffed doggie.

  2. July 29, 2011 8:09 am

    What a gift! How very lucky you are to have family close by; how very sweet of them also! She’s gorgeous!

  3. July 29, 2011 9:42 am

    LOVING the adorable picture with the stuffed monkey! SO sweet!

    For whatever it’s worth, the mood swings, crying, anxiety, etc. are completely “normal” (but I’m sure you know that). I know it totally sucks when you’re feeling all weird and leaky and stuck way down in a funk but always remember: THIS TOO SHALL PASS!

  4. July 29, 2011 10:17 am

    Jen, she’s absolutely gorgeous! I love her little mouth. She’s so lucky to have such wonderful, loving parents. 🙂 How do the doggies like her?

  5. Courtney permalink
    July 29, 2011 10:52 am

    YES! I was waiting & hoping for the baby picture filled post. You didn’t disappoint!
    Lilly is so adorable! I love the picture of her sticking her tongue out. It’s too precious! I know everyone says this, but enjoy this time as much as you can. I have an almost 20 week baby and it seems like he almost doubled in size in a matter of minutes. Time has gone waaaay too fast!
    And I had to same thing with the being a super cry baby. I was such in awe of having such an amazing little fellow in my life that the water works wouldn’t stop coming!
    I know you guys are going to be such wonderful parents. I wish you these absolute best and can’t wait to see more pictures and update of your BEAUTIFUL baby girl!!!

  6. July 29, 2011 5:52 pm

    Jen! Lilly is so beautiful! Oh my goodness, it makes me miss my sweet little newborn…hold on to ever minute! It sounds like you guys are managing wonderfully and working as a team to find solutions. And isn’t it amazing how simple life gets when all you think about is poop, sleep and feeding!? I am so happy for you!!! Huge virtual hugs to you and sweet snuggles for Lilly!

  7. July 29, 2011 7:03 pm

    I could have written this post a few weeks ago! The crying though you’re not sad, the baths, the blog going to now revolve around mommyhood…yes to all of it! And while that last picture is legendary, I love the one of you and her with the polka dot blankie.

  8. July 30, 2011 6:56 am

    So lovely to see lots and lots of photos of her – NEVER apologise for this being a mummy blog – I just love it!

    I know all about the guilt, and the tears, but sounds like you are doing a brilliant job and yes – it is awesome, and yes – you could just gaze at her for hours!

    Lovely seeing her in all her adorable outfits, towels and toys.

    Lots of love and hugs and irish kisses (we are back at the cottage on the coast)

  9. July 31, 2011 8:45 am

    What a cutie pie! Take as much time as you need with your sweet little one. They do grow way to fast! I love how you explain yourself in two words. Made me crack up because that is exactly how you feel after giving birth. Keep posting photos of her. Oh and I love mommy blogs! Its okay with me to see baby pictures and sweet stories. Get some rest and your family is doing a wonderful job helping you out.

  10. Elizabeth permalink
    July 31, 2011 12:01 pm

    She is absolutely gorgeous, Jennifer. I am so thrilled for you and Jason – you are already such wonderful parents! Lots of love and see you soon, mama bear.

  11. Katie permalink
    July 31, 2011 9:55 pm

    She is beautiful, Jen! I can’t wait to meet her!

  12. July 31, 2011 10:48 pm

    Now we are officially blog friends. I had a baby girl too, and my baby girl has a Nanny and an Auntie Ashley. Lilly is so precious! Congrats. Looking forward to your “mommy” blog! Mine has officially become one too 🙂

  13. August 4, 2011 3:03 am

    Loved reading about your 1st week at home w/her. We had the same issues with the weight loss, Avery – I had to push up my feedings to every 2-2.5 hours. Avery still eats that often except at night where he’ll sleep 4 – 6 hours at time, which is heaven! 🙂

    We have lots of poop talk here too!! 🙂 Gald all is well 🙂

  14. Betsy permalink
    August 5, 2011 11:48 am

    Jen- This is Betsy from Jason’s work. Just wanted to let you know I love reading your blog! And to also let you know your random crying will not stop. My daughter is 8 and son is 2, and everytime I see the pampers commercial, or st. judes, or the subaru, or Nancy Grace telling how a child was stolen or killed I cry and cry. I didnt do that before the kids. Everything will be different now…for the better, but with more tears from a mommy!

Leave a comment