Skip to content

aprons!

May 3, 2011

Another fun hostess gift made by yours truly in collaboration with my new beau, the sewing machine. I am kind of kicking myself for not making one for myself, especially since any eating/cooking that I participate in lately tends to end with a trail of food down the belly. 

(As a side note: I now understand why my SIL gave me so many white maternity shirts — BLEACH! YES!).

I followed the instructions here (ahem, loosely, because I’m not a very good instruction-follower), but made my version completely reversible by adding a pocket on each side.  The reversible option is nice, but I think that if I were to do this again, I might use a heavier fabric for the back side to give the apron a little more weight (I used Michael Miller quilting-weight fabrics from fabric.com).  Or maybe use heavier fabric for both sides and just pretty fabric for the pocket?  I can be pretty messy in the kitchen.  Also note that if you are good with iron-on interfacing, you may want to add it to the pocket, even if the instructions don’t tell you to (the pocket looks great on, but is a little droopy when left to hang humanless).

I also modified the instructions by sewing twice around the outside edge of the apron — the instructions suggest that you sew twice around the pocket, and I wanted the edge of the apron to be matchy-matchy.


This project could take you an hour or two, I think… I actually made two at once and since my usual MO is to watch tv & sew at the same time, it probably takes me longer than most to actually complete any given project…


5 Comments leave one →
  1. japortma permalink
    May 3, 2011 12:15 pm

    Ahhh those are sooo cute! I love them! 🙂

  2. May 3, 2011 3:00 pm

    It’s so cute! I keep wanting to make an apron and never do. I was thinking I’d just use my favorite as a reference.

  3. May 4, 2011 1:47 pm

    I love them! I’m going to try this one.

  4. May 7, 2011 10:05 pm

    LOVE it! So cute.

Trackbacks

  1. potholders & another apron «

Leave a Reply

