Skip to content

bowl light shade

March 30, 2010

When I last shared photos of our kitchen (last fall maybe?), we were still missing a light fixture.  So there were wires hanging out of our ceiling.  It wasn’t very pretty.

And we missed that light fixture for a few months before coming up with a cute and creative idea for a replacement.

It was a tricky task because we had already installed the ikea track lighting and wanted to find something that would a) match, b) provide a decent amount of light for this dark corner of the kitchen, and c) be cheap.

But we finally found something that did the trick: a melamine bowl.  A $2.50, Tarjey, Liberty of London bowl.  (On a side note, I – like the rest of the interwebs – am loving the cheerful colors + flowers in their line.  I pointed out the floral-y office supplies to J while we were there and told him that I might actually like paying the bills if I had something pretty and flowery to put them in.  He didn’t believe me, so they stayed at the store.  But I am hopeful that the Easter Bunny might bring me a file/storage box or two.)

After installing a $20 light kit from Lowes, we simply drilled a hole in the bottom of the bowl and hung it upside down, using the pieces that came with the light kit.  That means that my grand total for this project was: $22.50.  Not bad for a totally unique and cheerful light fixture.

I love how fun it is.  Love.  And it adds some serious light to my coffee nook, which is much needed in the morning now that I’m teaching an 8 a.m. class (totally rocked my first class this morning – and by that I mean no one fell asleep).

I love creative solutions for everyday things… so if you want to share a few stories of creative solutions that you’ve used lately, please do.  Or you can just stare blankly at me like my students did this morning. 🙂

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 1:02 pm

    That is just so darling! It really fits the space well. P.S. wooo hoo! 80 degrees by Friday!

    • March 30, 2010 1:06 pm

      Ohmygosh! I am *thrilled* about the weather here this week! Sunshine! Warm Temps! Thank you, Michigan weather!!

  2. March 30, 2010 1:45 pm

    Love, love love this! So creative. Also, I would like to live in your coffee nook. Is that weird? 🙂

  3. Debbie permalink
    March 30, 2010 2:05 pm

    YOU ARE SO CLEVER! Who would have thought of using a bowl for a light fixture? It’s adorable!
    (Glad you’re enjoying the weather this week. I hope weather .com is wrong about next week).
    We will have fun no matter the weather!

  4. March 30, 2010 3:36 pm

    Cute idea! It really brightens your kitchen corner up. I love how charming that corner looks vintage ritz craker bin and the other bins are so cute

  5. japortma permalink
    March 30, 2010 8:34 pm

    Oh my gosh!! You think of the cutest ideas and they always look AMAZING! I hope my house will look 1/2 as cute as yours does!! LOVE IT!

  6. March 30, 2010 10:29 pm

    What a creative idea! I would have never of thought of that (and I love that line as well).

  7. March 30, 2010 10:45 pm

    LOVE THIS! Will be sharing this on our blog tomorrow.

    • March 31, 2010 8:40 am

      Ohh, Thanks Kim!

      And thanks everyone else for saying such sweet things! 🙂

  8. mom permalink
    March 30, 2010 11:32 pm

    Great substitute for the lead-lined coffee cup! How long did this take to drill through? Does melamine melt? (say that fast five times!)

    • March 31, 2010 8:39 am

      It wasn’t too hard to drill through – only took a few minutes to make a hole. And then another 20 min trying to make that hole big enough to fit on the light fixture!!

      I think melamine melts – that is, it’s not microwave safe. But since we don’t leave this light on for extended periods of time, and since there is room for air to circulate around the bulb, I think we’ll be okay.

  9. March 31, 2010 8:51 am

    What a great idea for a light! I love your kitchen, it’s gorgeous. Unfortunately, we don’t have tar-jey in Canada. 😦

  10. March 31, 2010 9:30 am

    glad you are finally seeing some sun!!
    love your light –
    and I also love your cabinet pulls – {totally off the subject I know}

  11. GGG permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:41 am

    You never cease to amaze me! I would sit in that coffee nook all day long. Love the tins and I assume the plants are Jasons (or are they fake:))….I think I just let the cat out of the bag! Jennifer can handle anything except growing house plants.:) Maybe you could find somethig for light fixtures in my kitchen. There are two bare bulbs with clip on shades and it has been like that since 1974! Glad your class went well.

  12. Carole S permalink
    April 7, 2010 7:50 am

    Such a clever idea and a charming shade–brava!

Trackbacks

  1. For the love of melamine | Domestic Adventure
  2. happy new year! «

Leave a comment