Skip to content

Hi there!

July 14, 2015

Hi!  I’m here!  With a summer off of work and new ambitions to add blogging back into my routine.  Or whatever semblance of routine I might have with two small kids and nowhere to be.  We pretty much do what we want (and love it).

Big changes happening here.  Eleanor walks, talks, sings, dances, and is officially her own person despite the fact that she’s still the size of your average 15-month old.  I can’t believe my baby girl will be 2 soon.  Lilly just turned 4 and can now do just about anything “all by myself!” and she’ll sweetly remind you that she doesn’t need any help whenever you overstep your boundaries.  It’s really cool to see both girls become themselves.

It’s also amazing to watch their little relationship blossom.  I am pretty sure they are crazy about each other.  The other day, Lilly woke first and when El woke, she said, “Good morning!  How about a hug for your big sister?!”  And Elli was happy to oblige.  Lilly is also often overheard saying, “I am your big sister and I will look out for you!”  And this morning, she added in, “You are the little sister, you can look out for me!”  Eleanor, for her part, does nearly everything Lilly does — if Lilly is playing Rapunzel, El jumps in.  If Lil is a mermaid, so is Elli.  El has been recently seen raiding her sister’s closet (already!? yikes), and can actually pull off a few 4T outfits paired with shoes that are 5 sizes too big.

And the two of them are just so darn sweet that we thought we might as well add another happy little face to the family portrait.  So: coming this fall, another big change for our little family.  I am so thrilled, and also so amazed by how fast time continues to pass.  I think I might blink and have a newborn in my arms.  Jason is obviously happy about having another little buddy, though he admits that the first year is not his specialty.  🙂  He’s very excited for the toddler years.  The girls have been really great.  Lilly initially asked if Baby Tres would “come out today” every. single. day.  That has since stopped, but she often asks to cuddle Tres or kiss Tres or feel for baby Tres to kick her.  Eleanor understands (I think) that there is a baby in my tummy, and likes to get a silly smile on her face and say “poke!” while poking at Baby Tres.

This pregnancy has, admittedly, been tougher than the first two.  I felt sicker in the first trimester, and have had terrible TERRIBLE lower back/hip pain starting at like 20 weeks.  It, luckily, hasn’t gotten worse as I’ve gotten bigger (as I feared), and seems to be better with stretching and exercise, so I am managing.  I am just so grateful that the baby is, by all indications, healthy, and that the girls are handling my physical limitations pretty well, and that Jason keeps us all well taken care of (especially with the good eats coming off the grill lately!).

So… that is our big news!  And I hope to be back with more fun stories/pictures of our adventures VERY soon.  I’ve got some catching up to do. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Glynda permalink
    July 15, 2015 9:01 am

    Congratulations! Please blog once in awhile and the pictures are always so great!!

  2. July 15, 2015 9:25 am

    So excited to meet baby Tres. I’m sure he/she will be just as cute and sweet as Lilly and Elli. I love the videos of the girls….but I have NO IDEA where they got their acting talent from…. Ha ha ha. 😀

  3. Jan permalink
    July 17, 2015 11:26 pm

    Congratulations to you both!!

  4. July 22, 2015 5:03 am

    Wow, congratulations! What an exciting time you have ahead of you 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

