Skip to content

Eleanor’s first birthday party

January 11, 2015

We HAD to throw Eleanor a little party with friends for her first birthday. HAD to.

I know this is one of those things she’ll never ever remember, but: 1. J and I remember (and at least 90% of parenting these kids is about me), and 2. we had a tough first year together and wanted to celebrate growing beyond that.

So I made some monkey-themed invites, and we threw a little monkey party.

The power went out the night before the party (you know, when I was supposed to do all the prep!), so I decorated cupcakes and cake by candle light. I think they turned out okay anyways.

140906untitled12916.jpg

We were lucky that most of our friends could make it to celebrate E, and it’s always fun to see all of the kiddos running around the back yard while the adults attempt to actually have conversations with each other.

140906untitled12921.jpg

For decor, we stuck with simple balloons and flags (which I crafted with fabric and glue by candlelight the night before the party!).  I also had a photoboard up with weekly pictures of E’s first year — nearly all of them taken cuddling the little sock monkey my gramma made for her (which is also why I went with a monkey theme).  Luckily, I had finished printing the photos earlier in the week, so that project wasn’t affected by the power outage.  Unluckily, I forgot to take a photo of the board, so you don’t get to see it.  Imagine 52 pictures scotch-taped to a giant white board, and you’ve pretty much got it.

140906untitled12923.jpg

140906untitled12927.jpg

140906untitled12948.jpg

140906untitled12950.jpg

140906untitled12957.jpg

140906untitled12962.jpg

She was CRAZY about the balloons.  (Eleanor is screaming and giggling in over the top excitement in the above photo.)

Barely ate any cake.  (Don’t worry, Lilly and I overcompensated for her.)

And, we typically tell our party guests that presents aren’t necessary, but E did get a few presents and was happy to open them (with big sister’s help, of course).  In all, it was a great afternoon!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie Ross permalink
    January 12, 2015 2:08 pm

    Adorable as always!

  2. January 14, 2015 9:53 pm

    Awesomely cute! (the kids AND the monkey cakes) 🙂

Leave a Reply

