Skip to content

Baby #2: week 34

July 30, 2013

I’m still in the hospital!  Week 34 started off with the news that my OB group would not be discharging me before baby’s delivery.  They are primarily concerned that we live too far from the hospital to be able to save the baby if more bleeding should start up.  It was disappointing, but I sort of had a sneaking suspicion early on that I was here to stay.

We had another ultrasound at 34 w 1 day to check on baby and placenta location.  Baby is great, placenta still blocking the exit.  I’m hopeful that it’s at least low enough that they won’t have to cut through it (that could result in more blood loss and longer recovery for yours truly).  The ultrasound tech was really great, and at one point switched over to the 4D ultrasound to give us this beautiful photo of our sweet babe:

20130730-112319.jpg

And I’m pretty sure that in that instant, I fell in love.  Hi baby!  You are so sweet and cute and tiny!  I can’t wait to meet you for real!  You look so much like your sister did when she was born, but you also look a little like your own person.  Looks like you lucked out and got daddy’s nose instead of mine… can’t wait to learn which parts of our personalities you’ll pick up, too, and to see how much hair you really have!  Mama has been worried that you won’t get enough attention when you’re born – that your big sister will overshadow you – but you seem to have done pretty well for yourself, getting much alone time with mama for these last few weeks of pregnancy. 🙂

This image is just so much more *real* than any of the other ultrasound pictures we’ve seen.  I’m usually not a fan of the 4D images, but… whoa.  This one sort of took my breath away.  Definitely a good reminder of why I’m sitting here in the hospital.  (Although I do feel a little bit like this takes away some of the who is in there? mystery! At least we’ve managed to keep baby’s sex a secret — we have to start every ultrasound with the disclaimer that we don’t know and we don’t want to know!)

20130730-112252.jpg

Lilly has been coming up to visit every day.  It seems like things work best if someone lets her run out her energy in the morning, and then she arrives around lunch time and stays for the afternoon.  We have some quiet time, cuddling and watching bear shows or tv.  We found a great show on puppies the other day — we saw them just as they were born and then watched clips from the next 8 weeks.  It’s probably a little more tv watching time than I’m happy about, but there’s only so much you can do in a small room, and I love having the time with my girl (especially when she cuddles into me and falls asleep… she hasn’t done that in so long and then did it TWICE this past week).

When we’re not watching tv in the room, we are coloring, making playdoh cookies (and then baking them and giving them to people and telling them to “be really patient. cookies too hot. be really patient with Lilly June. careful, cookies too hot.”), or playing mama’s doctor.  Last night there was a rock show in my hospital room — Jason was playing a plastic fork on metal chipotle lid, I was on the empty coke bottle, and Lilly was showing us some mad dance moves.  So we’re getting a little creative with our fun.

Surprisingly, Lilly seems to be unaffected by my absence.  I’m a little bit offended, actually – it’s been a mostly mama-and-Lilly summer and she’s not even bothered by my sudden disappearance!?!  WHAT!?!  The only change in her behavior has been that she’s suddenly waking 1-2 times/night, but she’s easy to get back to sleep, and the sleep thing might actually be teething as we’ve spotted her with her hand in her mouth a ton lately.  But really, I am so happy that she’s adjusted well to this big change, and maybe I’m not even surprised… she is really easy going after all.  And, all of the time with Nanee, Auntie Ashley, and Daddy has been super-fun for her, I’m sure.  Staying here would be SO much harder if she was having trouble at home, so I am grateful she’s handling these big changes so gracefully.  And it gives me hope that she’ll handle the next set of big changes (a new baby brother or sister!) just as gracefully, which would be awesome.

20130730-112308.jpg

I did get doctor’s orders to have two 30-min wheelchair rides outside each day — and the nurses don’t even have to supervise it.  That’s pretty big stuff. 🙂  So, at least I’m getting a change of scenery every now and then.

Sister came to visit for a few days, which was awesome.  Nice to have someone new to talk to, Lilly just ADORES auntie Ashley, and Ash also gave yours truly a pretty awesome pedicure.  Makes me hope Lilly June is getting a sister! 🙂

(Although, I love my brothers, too, and it would be fun to have a boy in the house.  So I hope for a brother, too!)

I had my sewing machine brought in, which, as I’ve been told is a hospital first. 🙂  So I’ve at least started baby’s quilt… and with a week of sitting here before baby is scheduled to arrive, maybe I will actually finish it before baby’s arrival (which would NOT have happened if I was home, so I guess that’s a hospital rest bonus?).

20130730-112334.jpg

 

I’ve been lucky enough to have several visits from friends to keep me busy, and the texts and phone calls from my long-distance faves keep rolling in.  Jason works near the hospital, so I’ve been enjoying lunch dates with him, as well as visits before and after work.  I probably haven’t been this social in a long time! 🙂  Other parts of the hospital stay that aren’t terrible: loooooong uninterrupted showers, breakfast in bed, getting to hear the baby’s heartbeat on the monitor several times each day, the knowledge that if/when this placenta does break away and bleed I’m in the right place for baby and I to be quickly taken care of.  But of course I’d really rather be home… Just over a week and a half until that’s a reality, and hopefully we’ll be able to bring baby home with us right away!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2013 11:18 am

    Wow, didn’t know you were going through this! Well it sounds like it’s all in the best of hands, and you’re doing great! Can’t wait to hear if your #2 is a boy or a girl, and a name! That ultrasound pic is really amazing, too – I’m with you, haven’t been much for fancy ultrasound pics but that one really is a glimpse right into your womb!

  2. Danielle permalink
    August 2, 2013 11:57 am

    I read through your posts and I have to say, this sounded like me 8 weeks ago! I wasn’t on hospital bed rest or having bleeding, but I had that condition where you have too much fluid in the womb and it wasn’t discovered till near the end. Ugh what an awful pregnancy. They thought I was going to have a huge baby and may require a c-section. I was so upset by the thought and wanted to go naturally. I told them I only wanted one if necessary. Thank god I went into labor on my own and delivered with no problems really. Just a ton of water when it was broken and I had a super fast labor (4.5 hours!). But I remember the emotions of when they told me the experience may be different than we thought and I was super scared too. You are handling this all very well and I love that your sewing machine is what you! lol.

  3. August 8, 2013 2:16 pm

    That sweet, sweet baby face. Love it!

    I’ve been thinking of you a lot and wondering how it was going. SO glad you got to bring your sewing machine. That should help pass the time. Can’t wait to see the quilt!

Leave a Reply

