Skip to content

strawberry picking!

June 24, 2013

Last week, I organized a trip to a local berry picking farm for a few of our mama/baby friends who are home with their kiddos during the day.  I’ve been excited about taking Lilly to go pick fruit, but wasn’t sure she’d share my enthusiasm for the project.

130613untitled8173.jpg

As usual, she was shy upon seeing the other kids/moms, but she warmed up a little while we were there.  When we found our row, I squatted down to show her where the strawberries were growing, and that we needed to look for the red berries and pick them and put them in our bucket.  I was incredibly surprised when she took the basket and wandered down the row on her own, picking strawberries as she went.  (Even more surprised when I looked in the bucket and every. single. one. was ripe!  I love it when she pays such close attention and gives activities like this her full concentration.  Watching her moments of concentration is thrilling for me, and even more so when she’s able to master the task.)

130613untitled8178.jpg

 

Of course, there were few berries in the basket when she was done, and those that were in the basket had bites taken out of them.

130613untitled8182.jpg

130613untitled8204.jpg

 

There was much talk among the mamas about whether the farmers accounted for product loss due to little ones eating.  Given the amount of small children at the farm that day, our general consensus was that they MUST have.  Still, I felt obligated to fill our basket and make sure that we paid for a decent amount of berries (even the half-eaten ones).

130613untitled8210.jpg

 

I was actually surprised by how many berries Lilly ate since I can never seem to convince her to eat them at home.  I guess it’s more exciting to eat things that you can pick yourself.

130613untitled8211.jpg

 

I’m fairly certain we’ll be heading out to the berry patches again next summer.  And it looks like I’ll be researching other picking options for this summer/fall, though I think much of the fruit harvest may be too high for her to reach…

130613untitled8216.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2013 10:00 am

    We were able to take our 2 year old blue berry picking and she was able to reach the fruit. I agree, its amazing how many she ate!

  2. June 25, 2013 12:18 am

    Love it! She even wore gingham for the occasion!

  3. July 8, 2013 3:52 pm

    I can’t get over how grow she looks!! Blows me away, she is so precious 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. strawberry picking | home in the country

Leave a Reply

