Skip to content

denim picnic blanket

June 21, 2013

I’ve been hoarding jeans for over 4 years to make this blanket.

130617untitled8280.jpg

I first saw the idea here, and thought it would be a really cool way to reuse my old jeans for something useful.  Now that Lilly is so into picnics, it seemed even more important to have some sort of thick blanket we could lay out in the yard.  I used most of this tutorial, but backed my quilt with a green corduroy fabric that I had in my stash instead of trying to figure out how to add a button-on water resistant backing like the original tutorial did.

I attached my backing by putting the right sides of the fabric together, and sewing around the perimeter except for a ~10″ hole.  I then pulled the fabric through the hole so that the outsides were no longer facing each other, and I top-stitched twice around the edge of blanket, and twice through the middle of the blanket.

130617untitled8281.jpg

I added two straps to one side of my blanket so that I could roll it up for transport.  I sort of wish that I had also sewed a handle or shoulder strap on… something you may want to consider if creating something similar.  (And you should consider it: it’s a fairly easy project, and denim is fairly forgiving – or at least my stretchy old jeans were.  Probably the most time-consuming part was just cutting the jeans into squares.)

130617untitled8282.jpg

In less than a week, the blanket has already gotten much love at the beach (notice the sand all over the corduroy backing in the pics above) and in the back yard, so I’m pretty confident that this will be something we use a lot.  Good thing denim is such a sturdy material!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2013 12:41 pm

    Jen that is so cute!! Your sewing skills always impress me!!

  2. June 24, 2013 3:04 pm

    Great use of materials that would normally go to waste. I love it!

  3. June 24, 2013 10:24 pm

    Thanks, guys! I really enjoyed making this… having been using my machine lots lately! 🙂

Leave a Reply

