Skip to content

baby #2: weeks 22-23

May 21, 2013

We’re in the midst of the second trimester lull.  Not too much seems to change physically week-to-week and thankfully things are quiet around here.  The pregnancy is going way too fast — much of our lives seem to be moving at warp speed since having Lilly June, and this pregnancy is no exception!  I want time to slow down a bit, but I have a feeling that time is about to start moving even more quickly once this baby shows up!

130510untitled8002.jpg

Jason paints the ceiling in the baby’s room

We’ve been preparing the baby’s room (which will double as a guest room – especially in the first few months when baby will be sleeping in our room).  Jason picked out a really nice teal/blue color on a whim after I had spent months indecisively staring at paint cards.  He painted the ceiling (white) last Friday, and then we spent Saturday and Sunday painting the walls.  Jason installed the ceiling medallion and part of the fan, too.  The new light is SO much brighter than the old square recessed versions, and since we hate turning on AC, I’m sure we’ll get a lot of use out of the fan.  Up next: finishing the fan installation, replacing light switches and sockets, and organizing/painting the closets.  Then the fun stuff – the decorating! – can begin.

Untitled

 

Jason picked the tealy blue wall color.  The ceiling medallion was a must-have because our old recessed light left a 16″x 16″ hole in the textured ceiling that I couldn’t patch.  The fan is crucial for our hesitant-to-use-AC household.

We had another doctor’s visit and my uterus is measuring where it should be, a relief since I’ve been feeling BIG lately.  Baby’s heart rate is 160 bpm, and though this information was a relief to hear, baby’s constant movement in my tummy is almost constant reassurance that he/she is okay in there.  The movements have gotten noticeably stronger in the past two weeks – I can now feel moves in two places at once and have occasionally felt a small hand or foot draw a line across the inside of my belly.  There is really nothing like feeling a foot drag across the inside of your abdomen – it’s eery and comforting all at the same time.

130514untitled8005.jpg

130514untitled8018.jpg

 

Here’s where I realize that perhaps this non-maternity top is NOT flattering on my baby belly.  Oops.

I finally ordered a few more maternity pieces and the elasticity of them makes me incredibly happy (the ones above were $10 thanks to a GAP.com clearance).  I’m considering wearing elastic-banded pants forever.  So. comfy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina D. permalink
    May 21, 2013 9:56 am

    You look great, my friend! xoxo

  2. May 21, 2013 10:54 am

    I really like the longer hair!

    • May 21, 2013 11:09 am

      Thanks! It’s mostly because I’m too lazy/cheap to get it cut again… but as long as it stays curly, I think it can stay. It’s nice to be able to put it in a pony tail now that it’s gotten hotter outside!

  3. May 21, 2013 5:20 pm

    You look so cute & happy. The wall color is so pretty! Good pick 🙂

Leave a Reply

