Skip to content

our yellow office

May 14, 2013

One of my April goals was to put some finishing touches on the office.  Since I last shared pictures of the space (two years ago), we’ve moved a few pieces of furniture around, added curtains/cornices, and mounted some new shelves.  When we moved into the house, it was a dedicated office space with room for the dogs’ kennels, but now that we’re filling up bedrooms with little people, the “office” must also do double duty as my sewing/crafting space.

130506untitled7984.jpg

My half-finished sewing projects are housed in the giant basket underneath the card catalog (which is AMAZING for housing tiny office supplies and sewing notions).  The chalkboard frame turned place-to-clip-photos (because my chalkboard handwriting is horrible – just ask my students) came from our Minneapolis home.  The framed pictures on top of the card catalog contain a picture from each of the major vacations we’ve taken since getting married — Ireland, Costa Rica, and Italy (the frame that each one is in was actually purchased on each vacation… a tradition that I’m hoping to continue as our family travels the globe).

130506untitled7991.jpg

The chair that I recovered is still happily sitting in the office, but with a new pillow.

130506untitled7990.jpg

We moved the desk  and the banker’s chair that I refinished to the other side of the room.  We added shelves and curtains to either side of the desk to hide the large dog kennels that are hiding beneath them.  It’s so much nicer to walk into the room and see curtains rather than cages!

I also asked Jason to hang shelves above the desk to house frequently-used books, family photo albums, and other important family mementos.  You can spy my sewing machine cover, and two!? photo printers, which I know is just ridiculous, but we’ll probably phase out one of them sooner or later.

130506untitled7995.jpg

I am pretty crazy about our cornice/curtain combo.  Jason made the cornices out of wood & L-brackets, and then I wrapped them in batting and fabric.  They’re hung using more L-brackets mounted to the wall.  The white sheers are from Ikea (and are fairly easily removed for washing… we have to be kid-friendly now!).  These are our first attempt at cornices, so I’m pretty thankful that they turned out as well as they did (thanks to Erin for the inspiration/directions/information about cornices!).

130506untitled7992.jpg

And looking back towards the doorway, we’ve got a small console table with office supplies, books, dog treats, a lamp, and a really sweet photo family tree that was sent to us after Lilly was born from our friend Janmary whose blog I have read for years and whom we had the pleasure of meeting when we were in Ireland.  (I think the family tree was intended to go in the baby’s room, but I get to see it much more frequently here, and it makes me smile!).

I’m pretty pleased with the way the room has come together.  It feels useful, uncluttered, and easy to pick up.  It suits our family’s needs for now — a place to use the computer, to sew, to store dog kennels, and to look out the window for daddy’s arrival home at the end of the work day.  That’s probably most important, that this space is useful for us now.  But I’m also loving the yellow, gray, and navy color combo, and that it feels “grown up” to me without being too stuffy or unwashable (must think kid-friendly!).  It’s sort of fun to see how my style has changed/grown with our family, and I think that this room is one of a few rooms in our house that is really “us” (perhaps the other rooms would be our bedroom, Lilly’s bedroom, and the upstairs bathroom?).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2013 12:17 pm

    Super cute! You guys are amazing!

  2. May 14, 2013 4:33 pm

    I’m in love with the card catalog!! The room looks so sweet and I’m still in love with your, best makeover ever!

  3. May 15, 2013 8:53 pm

    So glad the cornices worked out for you! The whole room looks great!

  4. May 16, 2013 4:35 pm

    This looks so nice! I love the cornices, too. And of course the fabric – one of my favorite fabrics eva.

  5. May 19, 2013 3:38 pm

    Looks great! I love the colors. 🙂

Leave a Reply

