Skip to content

a few thoughts on moms, and Mother’s day

May 13, 2013

I just found this blurb, hanging out in my drafts pile, from last year.

My first Mother’s day was low key, which was just perfect. I had somehow come down with an itchy rash on my face, which was diagnosed as a staph infection, and I was not particularly excited about going out or doing much of anything. Lil was either sick or teething Saturday night, and neither of us got much sleep. Jason got up with Lil in the morning and let me sleep in. We were going to head out for brunch, but my favorite brunch spot here in town has 12 tables and a regular wait on non-Mother’s day mornings, so I elected to postpone until this weekend. I was gifted a wonderful homemade Mother’s day card that Jason & Lilly collaborated on (although word has it that Lilly’s contributions were limited to trying to eat the card), and we spent the beautiful, sunny day planting flowers & mulching the garden.

This year’s Mother’s day was equally low key, and I think that’s the way I like it. Lilly woke us shortly after 7, and entertained us while we slowly woke up. The pretend breakfast she brought me in bed was almost as good as a real breakfast would have been. 🙂 We somehow all managed to get up and out of the house by 8:30 am, and we headed to a new, nearby brunch spot. The food isn’t as good as my fav brunch spot, but the wait is short and the food is still pretty darn good. They also served Jason lunch. At 9:00 am. We came home and spent the rest of the day painting the guest/baby’s room and hanging out with Lilly June. Jason hung the fan in the guest/baby’s room and made dinner.

Its nice that we take a day to say thanks to our moms. Heck, none of us would be here if it weren’t for them. Also, I am lucky enough to have an awesome mom (who is willing to show up at my house and sleep on my couch so that I can finish painting the guest room… among other thoughtful things she’s done in the past 32 years, right?). If I can count Lilly’s sweet cradling and rocking of her baby dolls as a reflection of my mothering skills, I hope that my mom will take it as a good commentary on her own mothering that I’ve managed to keep such a happy little person alive for the last 1.75 years. 🙂

As a mom, though, I can’t help but feel that I’m the lucky one to have such a wonderful little person to cuddle. And yep, it can be a royal pain to find a place to change her diaper when she poops in public, and sometimes I don’t want to share whatever I’m eating/drinking (my two least-favorite parenting tasks), but it doesn’t really matter. My little person is so happy and fun, and she makes our lives so much richer that I feel like perhaps I should be the one spending a day thanking her. I can only hope things get even better as we’ve got two little ones running through the house!

My heart goes out to everyone missing their mamas on this day, and to those whose dreams to hold babies in their arms just haven’t quite happened yet.

My heart goes out to all the mamas out there. It’s not always an easy job, but nothing that’s really worth it is easy, right?

20130513-092659.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. theperryfamily permalink
    May 13, 2013 9:39 am

    Thanks honey!
    (ps: you are rockin’ those knee highs!)

    • May 13, 2013 9:48 pm

      I know, they are really great, aren’t they!?! Can you believe this is like the only photo I have of us when I was little? A good reminder for me to step in pictures with Lilly now!!

Leave a Reply

