Skip to content

baby #2: weeks 20-21

May 1, 2013

I think we need a nickname for baby #2, but we seem to be lacking naming creativity lately.  (Coming up with a REAL baby name is proving to be even more difficult!)

Anyways, weeks 20-21.

In dramatic fashion, I exclaimed to Jason one morning that, “getting dressed is the WORST part of my day!”  And he’s all, “tough life, you’ve got there” which is absolutely the truth.  It’s not been too tough around here lately.

Still, my (nonmaternity) pants aren’t fitting anymore, nonmaternity shirts & dresses are too short to wear, and I’m just feeling big.  Truthfully, I don’t own many maternity items – a pair of jeans, a skirt, two dresses, and 3-5 long sleeved shirts.  When I was pregnant with Lil, I borrowed clothes or wore clothing that I had bought and have since given away, so it’s probably time to buy a few more items… especially because life with a toddler means that nothing stays clean for more than an hour or two.  I’m not super-wild about the idea of buying things I can only wear a few times, I’m not super-wild about the synthetic materials that a lot of maternity clothes seem to be made from, and I don’t have the patience/energy to go clothes shopping while chasing a toddler.  Anyways, all this is to say that feeling like I’ve gotten so big so fast has been an adjustment, and one that I generally don’t deal well with at 6 am! 🙂

Here I am at 21 weeks, 1 day:

130425untitled7897.jpg

130425untitled7903.jpg

 

For some reason, I can’t take baby bump pictures without making insane faces.  It’s a real problem.

The bump is much bigger than it was with Lilly at 21 weeks.

My hips are achy, and the ligaments/muscles under my belly have been occasionally sore.  It seems like these changes (wider hips, stretchy ligaments/muscles) are happening much sooner than they did last time.  I’ve also been feeling Braxton-Hicks contractions already.  It’s possible that I was feeling them with Lil at this point, but I didn’t really know what they were, so I wouldn’t have identified them as such.  I’m now predicting that baby is coming in August (early!), and also that I will be more uncomfortable by the end of this pregnancy than I was with Lil (because I was totally cool with her staying in there 42 weeks).

The baby is moving and kicking up a storm – getting stronger every day!  I think Jason and Lilly will be able to feel kicks soon.  That part is awesome because it’s a reliable way of knowing that things are as okay as they can be, and it’s a good reminder that hey! we’re getting a little one soon.  Which is a nice, happy way to remember that all of these insignificant complaints re: clothing and belly/hip aches are absolutely worth it.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley G permalink
    May 1, 2013 11:15 am

    Have you tried ThredUP? They are an online consignment store for kids (size 12 months and up) and women. I’ve noticed on their women’s site that they have a BUNCH of maternity stuff for pretty inexpensive prices. http://www.thredup.com/shop/women (and bonus, they’ll send you a bag to fill with clothes and send back to them, and they’ll pay for shipping, and then give you cash for the items!)

  2. May 2, 2013 5:32 am

    You look so good! Yes, everything happens faster the second time around. I’m not sure if its because you’re expecting it, or your body knows what to do, or what. But, like you said, it is all good news! Yay for being half way!!

  3. May 2, 2013 10:31 pm

    You are one cute Mama!

  4. May 5, 2013 8:35 pm

    How much of an age difference is going to be between Lily and the baby? Just over 2 yrs?

  5. Danielle permalink
    May 16, 2013 3:53 pm

    I hear ya on feeling the pains earlier! I was having a difficult time with this pregnancy, compared to my first. Our baby is measuring in the 90th percentile, so we have to go back for another ultrasound to determine if we should do a c section or try pushing. I am freaking out! lol.

Leave a Reply

