Skip to content

hand strength, concentration, and art

April 22, 2013

Brought to you by glitter glue! 🙂

I’ve been trying to add more art projects to our routine.  Markers and stickers seem to be okay, but she has difficulty taking the tops off of the markers or removing stickers from paper by herself.  I’ve showed her how to use a scissors a few times, and she seems interested in cutting, but still lacks the hand muscles to be able to properly use a scissors.  Lilly likes to “paint” and by “paint” I mean that she asks me to pour a little of each color of paint out of it’s jar, and just when she’s got a gob of each color paint, she loses interest in the whole process and I find myself frustrated because of all that “wasted” paint.  (Wasted in parenthesis because I’m sure she’s still learning a lot about pouring, etc… it just wasn’t the lesson that I’d intended and sometimes that’s difficult for mama to let go of).

130415untitled7874.jpg

I thought she might like these tiny glitter glue pens, so I picked some up and added them to her Easter basket.  As with most things, she was hesitant at first.  I showed her how to use them and held her hands in mine to squeeze the tube with her.  After a few trials, she was up for the task on her own.

130415untitled7871.jpg

She’s since created a few glitter-and-marker masterpieces.  I can tell she’s really concentrating and working her hand muscles hard to get the glitter out of the tube.  I love watching these little moments of concentration!

I’ve been rethinking my paint strategy now, too.  Perhaps she’d be more into some sort of squeezy bottle than she is into using a paint brush… (and perhaps then I can relax a little about “wasted” paint…)

What are some of your best strategies for doing art — especially painting — with the littles?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    April 22, 2013 9:28 am

    Charlie loved fingerpainting….I just had to close my eyes to the mess and let her go for it.

  2. April 22, 2013 12:12 pm

    Have you thought of the big paint dot markers? I don’t know the proper name. They are big, or rather fat, paint tubes with a roller type tip. You can ‘roll’ to paint or use dots (a la pointillism art movement). I’ve seen them in dollar stores at times.

    • April 22, 2013 3:50 pm

      Oh! Great suggestion! We’ve used those a few times and she seems interested. The kids at daycare are pretty into them, too.

  3. April 22, 2013 7:30 pm

    Oh my gosh. When we were trying water colors for the first time I was driving myself crazy trying to get Ike to follow the routine of water, paint, paper. He wanted to just put the water on the paper and skip the paint. Eventually I loosened up a bit and just let him “paint” with water–he loved it!

Leave a Reply

