Skip to content

baby #2: weeks 15-19

April 17, 2013

Week 15

Another doctor’s appointment this week!  Baby’s heart clocked in at 152 BPM, and she’s much closer to my belly button now than she was at 11 weeks.  I think I am finally starting to feel her move, though I can’t be 100% positive.  Note that calling the baby “she” is pure speculation, but I think this one is a girl.  As a reminder, I was certain Lilly was a boy through my entire pregnancy, so my track record is 0 for 1 predicting gender.  We won’t find out on this one for sure until baby’s birthday, so we’ve all got a long way to wait.  I’m a big fan of the delivery room surprise!

I’m finally wrapping my head around the fact that we will once again have a tiny babe in the house.  For many weeks, I didn’t want to think about it lest we lose this baby.  Also, I think I was in denial about the changes that are coming to our household.  They are going to be happy changes, but as with any major change, the transition period can be rough.  I am not looking forward to: chasing a toddler while 9 months pregnant, labor & delivery, nursing every 2 hours (or less!), trying to figure out why the baby is crying (those first few weeks are rough!), and waking frequently through the night.  I am so very very excited for: feeling the baby move in my belly daily, Lilly’s love and excitement for her tiny sibling, the exhilarating feeling that follows giving birth, holding a sweet newborn babe in my arms, and finding out just who this little person is.

Week 16

Lilly and I have been looking at her baby pictures often in the past week or two.  I’ve been feeling a little guilty for focusing on the negatives of having a newborn (up all night! sleep issues again! constant breastfeeding! …and I was just feeling like I was getting some of my “me” time back), and looking at these pictures has really been good.  Babies are just so tiny and cute and cuddly.  I plan to wrap this little one up in the Moby and pretty much never put it down until it gets old enough to protest.

Also, the official “what needs to happen before baby” lists have begun: paint, curtains, pictures, furniture, organization, etc for the guest room/baby’s room; we’d like to purchase another video monitor, more (smaller!) cloth diapers, and perhaps a special going home outfit (because if baby #2 is a girl, that’s likely to be the ONLY new thing she ever wears); getting the rest of the house set up for maximal comfort for a soon-to-be-gigantor mama and maximal playtime for a very busy toddler also seem important; and there’s been discussion lately of maybe even getting some new kitchen appliances (our 3/4 fridge is already busting at the seams and I just can’t grocery shop weekly or bi-weekly: it needs to hold more).  I feel both rushed about these things and not rushed: my experience tells me that we’ve already got everything here that baby could possibly need/want in those first few months — the rest are just conveniences.

Week 17-18

And, the belly is officially a belly.  I can feel some movement, but not enough and not with enough regularity to ease my almost-daily fears that something is wrong.  I can’t wait until the movements are bigger and more frequent!

This weeks’ trivial pregnancy issues involve finding the *perfect* maternity suit for this summer’s beach/swimming adventures.  So far, 3 have arrived in the mail and I’m waiting on one more.  I’m sure you’ll be excited to hear which one(s?) I finally settle on.

I’ve been working hard to get the trim painted in baby’s new room (with the no VOC stuff, and windows open… I’d make J do it, but I’m much better at trim than he is), and I’ve pinned like a million ideas by now.  The new room is going to have light blue walls, with navy & orange accents.  If baby #2 is a girl, coral will also likely get thrown into the mix.  But we won’t know that until she shows up in September.

Week 19

We had our mid-pregnancy ultrasound this week.  It’s supposed to be the last ultrasound we’d have during the pregnancy.  Instead, there’s a slight complication, I’m officially on “pelvic rest” and will be taking another ultrasound peek at baby in 2 weeks.

IMG_0004.jpg

First, the baby: baby appears to be measuring right on track for an early September arrival.  We didn’t find out the baby’s sex and don’t intend to until he/she makes his/her arrival.  I think it’s a girl, but continue to use male pronouns.  It makes no sense.

We watched the baby’s bladder fill and empty, so we know he’s already practicing some very important stuff: swallowing and peeing.  Baby was moving and shaking in there, so that was cool to see.  We felt reassured that things seemed to be going as they should.

In our meeting with the doc afterwards, we were informed that there were two tiny hiccups: 1. baby has a cyst in its choroid plexus (the part of the brain that creates cerebrospinal fluid), and 2. the placenta is low.  The baby’s cyst should resolve itself — and the doctor assured us that this is a fairly normal thing, but warned us that in some cases, these cysts are associated with genetic abnormalities like trisomy 18.  Because the baby shows no other structural abnormalities, she was confident that our baby doesn’t have trisomy 18.  I am trying to stay calm about this, especially as it should result in no long-term problems for baby, but it’s hard to hear that my baby isn’t *perfect*.

IMG_0005.jpg

The placenta issue is even more worrisome.  It’s low, positioned in front of the cervix, and if it doesn’t move up and out of the way, baby will have to be born via c-section.  That’s not exactly the way I’d pictured baby’s entrance to the world, especially after Lilly’s birth went so smoothly.  I am terrified of actually undergoing surgery – epidurals scare me, as does being cut open.  Not being able to drive for weeks afterwards or pick up anything heavier than my newborn seems unmanageable, and not being able to pick up Lilly when she needs it seems especially terrible.  But, I’m getting ahead of myself here, and need to remember just how lucky we are to have this baby, regardless of how he enters the world.

For now, I just need to watch for bleeding (terrifying), take it easy with the exercise, and try to be calm (googling “placenta previa” didn’t really help that third part… too many terribly scary stories out there…).  In two months, we’ll return for another ultrasound – hopefully the placenta will move higher as my uterus grows, and everything will go smoothly from there.  I’d love any of your prayers, positive thoughts, and happy comments in the meantime, though.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2013 9:15 am

    Hey Jen, I haven’t had time to read all of both entries but wanted to just say congratulations on #2! It is so fun having 2, and I say that as someone who has now gone half a year without any decent sleep to speak of. I was also going to add that you’re not selfish for “focusing on the negative” – it’s great to be prepared and then if things are easier than you think, it’s a pleasant surprise. I’ve had a few friends who had really difficult transitions to their #2s and I was worried that would happen to me… so worried that I think it made my own transition seem easier than it otherwise would be. Congrats again! I’m so excited to find out the sex and name. And I don’t recall Lilly’s bday but I LOVED my Sept and October babies. You can swim when you’re huge, which is so great, and then you can get out and about when they’re still transportable and right when they really need to be at home for naps the weather sucks. Then as it gets nicer they’re getting a little more flexible and you start solids and there’s no end of fun produce to feed them. Also loved getting my nausea over when there was no produce to speak of. Enjoy!!!

    • April 18, 2013 1:04 pm

      Thanks, Lisa. I’m taking lots of notes on having two kiddos from your FB posts & blog. I love your sweet, but so realistic take on what it’s like being a mom of TWO!

  2. April 17, 2013 10:06 am

    I had placenta previa with my second child too. It resolved itself so try and stay positive!

    • April 18, 2013 1:05 pm

      Will do! Thanks for the note… it certainly helps to hear that other people have gone through this and had a happy ending! 🙂

  3. April 17, 2013 1:40 pm

    Congrats!!!!!!!!!! Lilly is so lucky to be getting a sibling–that is the best part of #2 for us. So much to say, but since Lincoln is crying, let me just say that I had a very low placenta with Ike’s pregnancy and it moved up nicely before the due date…I bet the same will happen for you!!

    • April 18, 2013 1:07 pm

      I am loving your posts about baby Lincoln & Ike… have been staring at your instagram feed with fascination for months. (That’s not creepy at all, is it?) Thanks for the words of support — I’m loving watching (from a distance… oh my, this is creepy) you mom two kiddos successfully!

  4. April 17, 2013 10:53 pm

    Congrats!!! I’m so excited for you xx

Leave a Reply

