Skip to content

spring break 2013

April 10, 2013

One of the best perks of being a college professor is having spring, summer, & winter breaks.  Lil and I took advantage of my week off and headed to Milwaukee to visit the fam.  We left Jason behind to work and clean the house.  Awesome trade-off.

130326untitled7536.jpg

While we were there, we celebrated Trevor & grandma’s birthday.  Someone (ahem, Lilly) ate the frosting off of THREE pieces of cake before I had to cut her off.

130326untitled7541.jpg

We visited the zoo with Auntie Ashley one morning.  Lilly was really into these sheep, the bears, and the big cats.  She wanted to see the gorillas, but they must have been in an area of the exhibit that wasn’t visible to us.

130327untitled7559.jpg

We saw the elephants and Lil pointed out the “huge poop” in the cage.  I was hoping we’d have a few more years before poop is fascinating/awesome/funny, but no.  Sigh.

130327untitled7563.jpg

130327untitled7567.jpg

We also had a fun field trip to the airport to visit my grandpa’s new airplane.  Lilly is obsessed with airplanes lately and was so excited to actually see them up close.  She was NOT so excited to sit in the airplane, however.  There were tears.  (Also, more tears when she saw this picture on my computer today. “No sit airplane, mama!”)

130328untitled7571.jpg

The rest of the field trip was a success, though.  She loved watching the airplanes take off and land, and she had a blast walking around on the yellow lines at the airport.

130328untitled7576.jpg

Things got really exciting when my grandpa actually got in the airplane and took off.  I still hear, “Grandpa fly airplane!  Take off!”

130328untitled7582.jpg

She also has been requesting to see pictures of grandma.  I think they had fun playing together.  I was so surprised when Lilly began playing an imaginary game of “get the mail” — running to a metal post, pretending to grab mail from it, and then carrying it over and pretending to hand it to grandma, Trevor, or I.  I didn’t think kids this young (20 mos) played pretend games like that, but since then, we’ve played many pretend games, most of them involving pretending to eat food.

130328untitled7585.jpg

We spent the rest of the week running errands and hanging out at my parent’s house.  Lilly and I had our dresses for sister’s wedding made, though I’ll refrain from sharing those pics here until after the big day so I don’t ruin any of sister’s wedding surprises.  Nana and grandpa babysat Lil so that I could have a much-needed night out with the girls.  The only picture that I managed to snap that night was of the giant plate of meat that I ate at the awesome BBQ place we went to — photo fail!  I also committed a giant photo fail on Easter by not. taking. one. single. picture.  WHAT?!  I know.  Lilly was so adorable in her Easter dress, too.  I think I will have to have a redo one of these days.  It’s not terrible to dress your kid up for Easter and hide eggs in the backyard a month after Easter, is it?  Easter came too early this year anyways. 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2013 2:09 pm

    She’s getting so big! And so sweet!!

  2. April 12, 2013 12:17 pm

    I had a great time playing “we’re off to see the wizard” with Lilly on the “lello” lines at the “hairport”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

