Skip to content

Happy (belated) St Patty’s Day

March 22, 2013

This post is a week late, which seems to be how we roll here lately.  I find that I’d like to blog shorter blogs more frequently, but wonder whether I’d actually have enough to say or if you’d all be like, “yeah, I get it, your kid did _____ today and it was great.”  I still haven’t decided if this blog is really just all for me, or if it’s a little bit for you, too.

130316untitled7464.jpg

Also, it just seems like so. much. work. to get photos from my camera uploaded and then edited in lightroom and then uploaded to flickr and then inserted into a post.  And the way that some of you fancy bloggers put text on your photos just overwhelms me — ANOTHER step in the process?!  Gosh, I’m tired just thinking about it.

130316untitled7466.jpg

I wonder, do any of the rest of you bloggers ever feel like this?  Also, there must be an easier way… but what is it?  (Related: it’s driving me crazy lately that every time I edit my photos in flickr, the link from the blog is broken and the picture disappears.  I think this has something to do with my photostream being private, but I’m just not sure the internets needs to have access to all 15,000 pictures I’ve taken in the last year.)

130316untitled7472.jpg

Anyways, St. Patty’s Day.  We dressed in green, and then I went to work for the afternoon to proctor my final exam (who schedules a final exam on a Sunday afternoon?!).  Not super-exciting, and definitely not as exciting as  the party we attended last year when we were out East visiting the very Irish side of the family.  (Related: I cannot believe those pictures were taken just one short year ago!  Lilly has changed and grown too much since then!)

130316untitled7476.jpg

But, I made a skirt for her using a 1/2 yd of green & white seersucker I purchased last year and some 1″ elastic that I had on hand already.  I made it up as I went, but I plan to make more in the future and can outline steps w/photos if there’s interest.  This was an easy and quick project, and I love how fruffy the seersucker is.  Lilly put it on and immediately decided that this was a good skirt to run in (and also, pick up and throw sticks in), and I totally agree.

130316untitled7485.jpg

The shirt was one she already had — I traced a clover shape from leftover skirt material and used an iron-on adhesive to attach it to the shirt.  I made the little headband last year.  And the yellow necklace was all Lilly’s own styling.

130316untitled7507.jpg

It feels really good to get crafty again, and especially with my sewing machine.  Lilly helped with parts of the skirt, sitting in my lap while I sewed, or occasionally trying it on and spinning.

130316untitled7510.jpg

I am pretty sure she’s telling me to pick up the dog poop just off camera.  Awesome.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    March 23, 2013 8:20 am

    She is quite the little lady these days, isn’t she!? Adorable!

  2. March 23, 2013 8:55 am

    Love the outfit! And you shouldn’t worry about how often you post. I love reading about what Lily is up to — it gives me an idea of what we’re in for!

    • March 24, 2013 9:34 pm

      Thanks, Leigh! I do love reading about what other people’s babes are up to (yay for Katie walking!), so perhaps you are right that our everyday stuff might not be too boring! 🙂

  3. March 23, 2013 9:01 am

    She is so stinking cute. And I love the skirt. I’ve been wanting to make some pants for Henry but haven’t gotten around to it.

    As for blogging, I say do what feels right. I like short blogs. And for photos, I set up a template to add words so I can just pop in the photo and add words.

  4. March 25, 2013 1:49 pm

    Really cute! And I love that she accessorized with the necklace! 🙂

  5. March 28, 2013 3:03 pm

    Adorable! Yes, uploading and editing photos has been one of my roadblocks in blogging in the past year! I’ve just taken to editing in PicMonkey online and adding text at the same time, which takes out one step.

Leave a Reply

