Skip to content

2013 resolutions. riiiiggghht.

February 7, 2013

I always think it’s super-fun to make resolutions for the new year.  (I also really enjoy seeing other people’s resolutions on their blogs.  Is that weird?)

130111untitled7047.jpg

(These pictures are totally unrelated, but Lil’s Christmas dress, red shoes, and tiny ponytail + bow are like the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.  I know I’m biased, but I just couldn’t get enough.  So we had to do a photoshoot early in January before I took the tree down.)

130111untitled7050.jpg

Sometimes I stick to my resolutions.  Last year?  Not so much.  I couldn’t even tell you what was on my 2012 list.  So I’m trying a new approach this year: 3 goals per month.  I figure a month is an easier period of time to track, and I might be better at anticipating how much we can handle in any given month, and plan our tasks based on weather, too.

130111untitled7058.jpg

My goals for January were: take down & organize the Christmas decorations, turn Lil’s room into a toddler room, and organize/clean/throw away the basement.  Two out of three isn’t bad, though if I’m being completely honest, I plan to change a few more things in Lil’s room once I can find a suitable dresser. 🙂

130111untitled7071.jpg

130111untitled7072.jpg

130111untitled7075.jpg

So, I’m proclaiming my February goals (like 1/3 of the way into Feb, awesome, I know) in the hopes that this will keep me accountable:

  • fill out our legal estate docs – I bought a groupon for these over a year ago and the docs are sitting on my hard drive.  It’s ridiculous that we haven’t filled them out — especially with a little one to worry about.
  • make some updates to the office – I have plans for more desk space & more shelving in the office.  Then, it’s all about prettifying it — sorting out my sewing crafts, setting up a new printer, making a cover for the sewing machine, and getting the piles of paperwork off of my desk.
  • organize/clean/throw away the basement – I am very much into the idea of rotating toys, especially because I am not interested in millions of toys taking over my living room (she can’t play with one million toys at the same time anyways!).  I’d like to have an organized space in the basement to keep the out-of-rotation toys so that they’re easier to bring into rotation.  I’d also like an organized area for art/craft supplies, since I think Lil may become more interested in painting, etc soon.

130111untitled7079.jpg

It doesn’t seem like much, now that I’ve written it down… but it is already 1/3 of the way into the month and we haven’t even begun.  I’ve been skiing at least once/week, so between that, teaching, and having the most fun ever with Lil (who now yells, “PLAY! TOYS! FRIENDS!”), we’ve kept busy.  I’ve taken her to a few playdates, and she is quite the little bruiser, yelling “NO!” whenever another kid tries to take a toy from her.  And if they won’t stop, she yells, “NO! NO! SCOOT!!” which is what we’ve told her to tell the dogs when they try to take food from her.  Oh my.  {shakes head}

130111untitled7087.jpg

Also, if anyone knows proper playdate parenting etiquette, throw it my way.  Do I get involved when she’s rudely yelling “NO! NO! SCOOT!” at the other kids or should I let her resolve this on her own?  Maybe I should be proud that she’s asserting herself?  This age is so tricky: they don’t have the ability to comprehend “share” for another year or so, yet I don’t think I want to condone her grabbing things from other kids.  I would definitely step in if she got physical (pushing/hitting/etc).  I have this feeling like kids need to work it out – they learn so much from their social interactions, but I also don’t want to be that mom who is not supervising my kid.

130111untitled7104.jpg

130111untitled7114.jpg

And on a super-sad note, one of my students passed away suddenly last weekend from bacterial meningitis.  It’s a horrifying reminder of how fragile life is.  She was a really great student — always upbeat and bringing something intelligent to the conversation.  Class today was tough… so tough.  Probably one of the first days in many that I wished I was home in bed instead of in front of the classroom.  It’ll get better, I’m sure, but these kids are still supposed to be a little invincible.  My heart is breaking for her parents… I don’t think I quite understood how horrible it would be to lose a child until I became a parent myself.  Just so awful.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2013 3:40 pm

    I too enjoy seeing other people’s resolutions/goals, so thanks for sharing yours here! Last year I tried a weekly installment of goals, but honestly, it was just too much. I’m liking the monthly approach.

    So, so sorry to hear of the passing of your student. I too didn’t understand how heartbreaking the death of a child would be until I had one. Motivation to hug her extra close tonight!

  2. February 7, 2013 4:14 pm

    I hope one of your resolutions was to capture time, because you slam-dunked it with these snaps of your baby!
    Many prayers for family who lost child, you said it right, sadly enough, they should be somewhat invincible at the teen/college age.. And full of life…
    Enjoying your posts, from snowy MN.

  3. February 7, 2013 5:04 pm

    Correct a wrong…no matter what the age, kids need to learn right from wrong before they end up thrown in jail for swearing at the judge and flipping him the bird (see yahoo story). Nuf said.

  4. Debbie permalink
    February 7, 2013 6:39 pm

    Great pictures as always!
    So sad to hear about your student. In the past 6 months I have had two friends lose children suddenly. I cannot imagine anything worse than the loss of a child. Her parents are in our prayers.

  5. February 7, 2013 9:04 pm

    That scoot thing is HILARIOUS!!!! I don’t think you need to correct her on it. I think that especially when they’re too young to understand “sharing,” “had it first” is a good and fair rule and it’s awesome that she’s standing up for herself. Frankly I think “had it first” is a good rule in general, and sharing is only really necessary if a child is hogging a toy or focusing on the toy to the exclusion of being social. I find it overkill when one kid has just picked up a toy and then just because another child expresses interest, the parent makes the kid “share.” What is the lesson there, hot potato? Or “etiquette trumps justice”?

    • February 8, 2013 3:09 pm

      Thanks, Lisa! This is super-helpful… and the scoot thing really cracks me up. I think I’ve decided that it’s a good thing she will express herself with words (and not hitting/grabbing toys/whatever), so I should probably encourage her to keep talking. If she’s 7 and still yelling “scoot” at the other kids, we’re probably going to have to talk, though. 🙂 For her limited communication skills, “NO! SCOOT!” is a good start. I was at a playdate last week where another mom wasn’t stopping her kid from taking toys from Lil but then Lil would want it back and I’d tell her she had to wait until he was done – that she couldn’t just grab it back. (And she stands there and repeats “waaait done. waaait done.” until the kid is finished playing with the toy… that also cracks me up.) That made me feel kind of bad – like other kids can take things from her and then she’s got to wait? I’m hesitant to parent other people’s kids, but maybe in that case I’d have to stick up for her or just not playdate with parents who don’t step in? This seems trickier to me. And I agree that the hot potato play style doesn’t really work – then none of the kids really get to play!

  6. February 10, 2013 12:27 am

    First, I am so sorry about your student. That’s heartbreaking.

    I love these pictures of Your little one. Although she’s getting bigger by the second. She’s adorable and that dress is killer.

    Great goals. Hope they go awesome.

  7. Haley permalink
    July 26, 2013 10:31 am

    Question…we are thinking about getting one the same ride-on toy for our 9 month old. Did you get the smaller or larger sized one? Thanks!

    • July 26, 2013 9:39 pm

      We bought the smaller one, and at 2 Lilly still rides it around the kitchen!! She’s always been a tall kid (90th percentile), too. Obviously her knees are super bent when she rides it, but I think that lets her propel herself a bit better. Other two year old friends also seem to still enjoy the small bee!! We opted for the smaller one because I found it on mega-sale ($30!) from amazon right before Christmas but the larger one was still $80 and I wasn’t sure I wanted to spend that much on a toy Id never seen. Having said that, I’d definitely buy this again – it’s adorable and well made and she loves it!

Leave a Reply

