Skip to content

DIY winter mantel decor

December 12, 2012

I felt like I needed something a little different for our mantle this year.  And I wanted to make it! I am in a major I-just-want-to-make-things mood lately, and this project only quenched that fire for a little while.  (Too many things I want to make and too little time is a general theme of my life right now!  Our days go by so fast, with little time for mama-making, but boy-oh-boy are Lil and I having fun together.)

121211untitled6490.jpg

I usually have a springy-colored canvas that I painted years ago up on the mantle (like in the fall/Halloween mantle below), but I wasn’t feeling it for winter.

121116untitled5916.jpg

Jason was kind enough to cut down and drill together a bunch of 2x4s we had laying from when we removed our front deck.  I only had to do a little nagging. 🙂  The problem with 2x4s put together like this is that they are HEAVY.  Note that other wood signs I’ve seen on the internet are made with 1x4s, which is probably a lighter alternative, but I was going cheap on this and the 2x4s I had on hand.  I painted some trees using a sponge brush & mix of acrylic paint and water (again, using what I had on hand), then I shook a brush at the entire thing with white acrylic paint & water to make the snow effect.  It took me 20 minutes during naptime (I think it probably took Jason that long to cut & assemble, too).

121211untitled6493.jpg

The greens under the wood hanging were cut from our tree and are wired together with floral wire.  I strung pinecones together with twine while watching The New Girl last week (love that show!).  I made the stockings three years ago, I acquired the candlesticks from my grandparent’s house last year (they’re thinking about downsizing and my gramma has all sorts of cool cool stuff to share), and everything else (except the little sweater tree below) was in my stash already.

121211untitled6495.jpg

I’ve seen these things at Target, and since I’ve been hoarding old clothes in the name of using them for a project, I thought I’d give it a shot.  I rolled up an empty cereal box for the cone shape and then hot glued an old sweater that no longer fit to it.  I did it in 5 minutes, while the toddler entertained herself by feeding fish crackers to the dogs.  I now want to make a million of these little guys — they’re so quick and easy!

I’m linking this to Kim’s Dare to DIY party over at Newlywoodwards.  There are some seriously fun projects over there… mmm… more holiday inspiration… (so little time…)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2012 10:17 pm

    I LOVE THIS SO MUCH. This turned out amazing. I love the aged-looking boards and the wood tones and the subtle trees. Just awesome. You rock.

    Thanks for linking up to Dare to DIY.

  2. Debbie permalink
    December 13, 2012 9:38 am

    As soon as I saw that great picture over the mantle, I knew you did it.. What a great idea!

  3. December 15, 2012 12:17 am

    I love it!

Leave a Reply

