Skip to content

sometimes its not all giggles

May 22, 2012

We are having  a tough week over here, folks.  I usually only blog happy stuff… because I think it’s important to focus on the positives, and also, who wants to read my whining?  But, crap.

12051910moLilly1428.jpg

We’ve gotten a 1-2-3 punch round of cold/snotty/congestion/fever/sore throat/cough in the past week.  Lil was miserable pretty much all of last week.  And she’s more communicative than ever.  Add these two things together, and it was a WHINE-tastic fest here.  I can handle just about anything – but that WHINE!  OH!  THAT WHINE!  KILLS ME!!
12051910moLilly1431.jpg

{This little bathing suit also kills me, but in a different way.  I normally have strong objections to baby/kid bikinis (is it appropriate?, so much tender skin exposed for the sun to burn!) but the floral pattern on this one and it’s $3 clearance price tag got me.  Plus, if she poops, it’ll be easier to clean off than removing a whole swimsuit, I rationalize.}

Seriously, I’d prefer to have nails scratching down a chalkboard as the soundtrack to my day.  I’d rather mow our yard 4 times without a water break.  Frankly, I’d rather have another unmedicated birth or get my wisdom teeth pulled again than have this kid keep whining at me.

And I have a feeling the whining gets worse from here?  (Let’s be honest: I STILL call my mom to whine when I need it!)

12051910moLilly1435.jpg
What am I going to do about this?  It short circuits everything I have.  It turns me from the calm, happy mama that I normally am into this crazy stressed out not ready to deal with things mama in less than a tenth of a second.
Are earplugs a viable solution?12051910moLilly1437.jpg

Kidding.

(kind of)12051910moLilly1433.jpg

Also, the irony of whining about whining is not lost on me.

The I-can’t-breathe-because-I’m-sick night-waking is wearing at me a little, too, admittedly.  I have to frequently remind myself that she must feel at least as crappy as I do/did.  And I feel so totally jealous that Jason gets to sleep through it (and secretly, I laugh an evil laugh when we have storms at night and the dogs wake him — mwah ha ha ha).
12051910moLilly1441.jpg

{eating sticks photo}

And the Camry was totaled over the weekend.  No one was hurt in the accident, thankfully.  But, where we live, with our jobs, a new (to us) car is going to be a necessity.  ASAP.  Stress!  (And I miss my trusty 14-year old Camry. She was going to last at least 5 more years! Sniffle!)

12051910moLilly1438.jpg

Lil felt better for a minute over the weekend and it was super-warm, so we put her in our poor man’s pool, aka a rubbermaid storage container with water in it.  (That’s when these pictures were taken).  She loves the water, and was thrilled to discover that she could pick up the stones and dirt from the patio and add them to the pool.  Equally exciting was the discovery that she could stick her face in the water.  That was a trick to be repeated a few times. (Jez also discovered the water and turned the pool into her own personal gigantic water bowl.)

12051910moLilly1451.jpg

I took her swimming at the club yesterday and she was ridiculously happy the entire time we were in the pool.  (I found a groupon for $60 for a 3-month membership! Yay for cheap-ish swimming, and don’t I sound fancy when I’m all, “we went swimming at the club”!?!)  She was waving at others in the pool and an older woman commented that she had the princess wave down pat!  She stared in awe at a 4-year old boy who swam back and forth across the tiny but warm rehab pool.  She giggled when I jumped up and down, kicked when I laid her in the water and said “kick kick kick”, and gladly jumped from a seated position on the side of the pool into my arms.
12051910moLilly1457.jpg

And, as much as the whining pierces through every corner of my soul, as exhausted as I am from her 2 hour middle-of-the-night screamfest last night (teething? finally?), these little happy moments take so much of it away.

12051910moLilly1456.jpg

(But I could still use some sleep.  And maybe some earplugs.  And even a new (to us) car.)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2012 1:33 pm

    I’m so sorry about your car! The whining never stops as they grow. Ask your mom! 🙂

  2. May 22, 2012 2:03 pm

    Oh my has she grown up!! I haven’t been good about reading up on my blog friends in forever — so sorry 😦 But Lil is adorable Jen! I love the photos of her sticking her face in the water and the dog drinking from the pool. haha And about your car, oh man, that’s horrible. Glad to hear no one was hurt though. ::hugs::

  3. theperryfamily permalink
    May 22, 2012 2:59 pm

    Love the photos (again) especially the last one, it says it all….happy and content with water running down her face and remnants of her dirt snack around her mouth! Perfectly captures all her joys right now. I am also thrilled to see the Rub-a Dub Dub brothers (butcher, baker, candlestick maker) are alive and well in the Fisher Price offerings; I do believe your Aunt Teresa had a set when she was a baby!

    • May 22, 2012 3:28 pm

      Grandma gave me the Rub-a-dub-dub guys — we used to play with them at her house when we were little! Not sure if they still make them… they’re vintage! 🙂

  4. May 22, 2012 3:43 pm

    Oh hope you all turn the corner to things more positive. Such a little love- great pictures!

  5. Debbie permalink
    May 22, 2012 3:56 pm

    I remember how the whining drove me CRAZY! Whining is the worst. I hope Lillly feels better soon and you can get some sleep.
    These pictures (as all of them ) are pretty cute. I’m glad she’s a happy water baby and wish I could see her in the “pool”.That bathing suit is adorable even though her skin is showing. Sunscreen takes care of that.
    I hope next week is better; I always enjoy the blogs, whether the subject is whing or other.

  6. May 23, 2012 1:03 pm

    That last photo is the best! And I so want to show Scott the pics of Lil and her sticks- anytime we’re outside on a blanket and Summer crawls to the edge to play with the grass and sticks and weeds, I’m all, “eh, let her eat some dirt, it’s good for her!” and Scott always tries to keep her smack dab in the middle of the blanket away from it all. Drives me crazy! Babies like to eat things. Totally normal.

  7. May 23, 2012 1:38 pm

    She is too cute for words!!! We got hit with a Summer cold last week too, so not fun. First Avery and my mom (she watches Avery during the day for us) got it, talk about a nightmare week, then I got it this week, not fun.

    when the babies whine its the worst! Finally almost seven days later he is happy again 🙂 Thank goodness

  8. May 23, 2012 5:03 pm

    It all seems SO much tougher when you aren’t getting enough sleep and she is ill – hugs, but well done for sharing it and keeping it real. It can be easier just to present the picture perfect side of parenting, which is not the reality all the time!

    The whining just changes – with teens it is accompanied with big sighs, and occasionally door slamming

  9. Erika permalink
    May 28, 2012 6:01 am

    Hi, first time here. According to your follow button I am number 100 for email 😉 do I win the beautiful baby as a prize 😉 gorges baby.. yes I know I have my own. But I though the more the merrier.. found you off of JanMarys blog. have a fun Monday.

  10. nancy Tileston permalink
    June 1, 2012 8:56 pm

    To put it simply (and I know it’s not easy)…. do not respond to whining (even if your mom does.)

Leave a Reply

