Skip to content

resolutions

May 8, 2012

One of my resolutions for the year was to do at least one home project each month.  Ha ha ha ha ha.  So funny.  We hadn’t done anything around here until my family came for a visit a few weeks ago…  and with a few willing hands on deck, we were happy to rent power tools and get some stuff done!

We rented a large chipper for 3 hours, and ended up making more woodchips in those 3 hours than we did an entire weekend two years ago.  As it turns out, bigger IS better.

Brother Trevor had fun throwing sticks in the chipper, and I think my dad did, too.  We cleared a bunch of the wood that had fallen or been cut when we had trees removed 2 years ago, and we’ll have a giant pile of woodchips to spread next summer.  (Jason’s research suggests that the pile will be better to use next year, after it has composted for an entire year.)

It felt really good to get some stuff done around here.  And the weather couldn’t have been better for it!

Of course, there was much adoring of the baby, too.

1204139moLilly977.jpg

1204139moLilly967.jpg

1204139moLilly959.jpg

My mom and I staged a little photoshoot.  (surprise! another post with millions of pics of Lil! this blog is SO UNPREDICTABLE!)

1204139moLilly952.jpg

(a family friend knitted this adorable little beret for Lil!  she looks so sweet in it!)

1204139moLilly941.jpg

Eating things pic:

1204139moLilly940.jpg

1204139moLilly923.jpg

Lil was also gifted this amazing sweater for Easter, knitted by my very talented grandma.  It’s so colorful, and absolutely the *perfect* weight for spring – especially the cool mornings we’ve been having.

1204139moLilly895.jpg

1204139moLilly891.jpg

1204139moLilly904.jpg

My parents visit was followed by a visit from my sister.  It’s always so nice to see her, especially so now that we are all grown and get along much better than we did as kids.  I’m discovering that my sister is actually REALLY cool, and for that I’m grateful.  And Lil is grateful that her auntie Ashley will make the trip to MI to play with her!

1204159moLilly1015.jpg

Auntie Ashley is getting married next spring, and Lil and I were *thrilled* when she asked us to be a part of her special day!  She brought me a pot of calla lillies (that still look amazing 3 weeks later!) and asked me to stand next to her when she gets hitched!  I couldn’t be more thrilled.  And Lil is going to be the most adorable little flower girl ever — she’s already working on her walking skills, but may find it challenging to throw the petals, preferring to pick them up and eat them instead (see eating things photo above).  Thank goodness we’ve got a year to work on that…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. theperryfamily permalink
    May 8, 2012 10:51 pm

    Awesome pics of dad, Lilly & Ashley….(and thank you for not posting any of those with you and I in it…..I remember how “clean” we looked after messing in the woods all day!) Missing that baby girl big time!

  2. May 9, 2012 8:22 am

    Looks like a great time with family. Could Lily be any more beItiful! I love the beret and the sweater is simply amazing. Just beautiful. I cannot imagine the skills necessary to make it. Ryan chipped a bunch of old trees lately and had been selling the chips on eBay for smoking chips. I call it a retirement fund. 😉

  3. Debbie Ross permalink
    May 9, 2012 10:12 am

    I can’t get enough of that beautiful baby! Loved Facetiming with her in the tub last night and then more new pics this morning! She has the most adorable smile! I lovvvvvvvvvvveee her!

  4. May 9, 2012 4:05 pm

    Your wee daughter gets more adorable by the day – or should that be – by the photo shoot!

Leave a Reply

