Skip to content

daffodils

April 29, 2012

 

Our spring has been wonderfully, unseasonably warm.

120404weeklydaffodil738.jpg

{in her sweet pea outfit…  fyi: sweet pea was my nickname when I was little!}

Which means that everything in our yard is growing — and has been for over a month.  I’m always amazed when things in the yard begin growing… for some reason, I have every expectation that I’ll kill off the entire garden somehow and that nothing will come up in spring.  So I’m marveling at the fact that everything is alive!

120404weeklydaffodil763.jpg

These pictures were taken over a month ago, when the daffodils in the forest behind out house were blooming.  That we’ve got huge clumps of daffodils randomly placed in the forest, and (until I planted some last summer) none in the yard is a mystery.  Did the previous owners of our house plant them there?  Did they just naturally grow there?  Will I kill them if I replant them in the yard so that I can watch them bloom?  So many questions.
120404weeklydaffodil750.jpg

120404weeklydaffodil761.jpg

Our little one is blooming, too.  A month ago, she was babbling baby babble.  I have every reason to believe she actually is trying her best to tell us stuff, though I have no idea what she’s talking about.  (more mysteries!)

120404weeklydaffodil754.jpg

120404weeklydaffodil755.jpgAnd one day, she just began moving.  I can’t remember the date exactly, but it was seemingly overnight that our baby turned mobile.  One day, I left the living room to let the dogs out of the back door.  She was playing in her little corner when I left, and when I came back moments later, I found her on the opposite end of the room.  And I haven’t left her alone in our not-really-babyproofed house since.

She’s not crawling in any official way, but can raise her shoulders up in a down-dog-esque pose and scootch herself backwards.  In this pose, she can move, one hand over another, a full 360 degrees.

Recently, she’s been seen on hands and knees, rocking back and forth.  Or moving from a sitting to crawling pose.  But I think that what she really wants to do is walk.

120404weeklydaffodil756.jpg

120404weeklydaffodil758.jpg

The nice spring weather has meant plenty of time outside, which Lilly appears to love.  If she’s even having a hint of crankiness (which is rare!), just stepping outside seems to instantly cheer her up.  There’s so much to explore out there!  Leaves, dirt, bugs, weeds, flowers!  All appears to be fair game for touch and taste (eww) exploration.  Just how much of this am I supposed to let her explore via mouth?  (Okay, I’ve drawn the line at bugs, and also leaves seem like a choking hazard and I think some of the plant life could be poisonous.  But I’d like to avoid constantly swatting things out of her hand and telling her “no!”  Ideas?)

120404weeklydaffodil759.jpg

120404weeklydaffodil760.jpg

{for some reason, this picture makes me think she looks like me when I was little.  mom? dad? GGG?  what do you think?}

This was the day that Jezzie ran away.  One minute, she was hanging out within her electric fence, the next, she made a break for it, running deep into the woods and taking Barley with her.  Lil and I searched and yelled for a minute, then gave up and went to the neighbor’s house when we spotted her emerging from her garage.  She invited us in for coffee, and we accepted.  We weren’t in her house 2 minutes when I heard the dogs whimpering on the other side of her garage door.  I left Lilly in her care and brought both dogs home.  When I returned, Lil was happily entertained by a stuffed dog that the woman had on her side table.

120404weeklydaffodil766.jpg

120404weeklydaffodil770.jpg

My very thoughtful husband purchased Lightroom for me as a Valentine’s-Easter-Mother’s Day present.  I’d been wanting to try it for ages, but thought it was too expensive for my amateur needs…  He found it on super-sale (a man after my own heart!) and although it was still more than we want to spend for one of these holidays, I told him he’s off the hook for the other holidays. 🙂  Anyways, here’s where I need your help, fellow photogs and photog-wannabes (that’s me) — how do I use Lightroom?  Do you have any go-to tutorials?  I’ve been (slowly) trying to figure out how to best use it, which also explains some of my blog absence… developing a new system is taking some of my very precious computer time, but I think it’ll be worth it to have pretty (and organized!) photos.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. LisaKami permalink
    April 29, 2012 10:24 pm

    BEAUTIFUL pics!!!!!! The colors (and the baby) could not be more gorgeous!

  2. Debbie Ross permalink
    April 29, 2012 10:38 pm

    That little daffodil in the green dress is gorgeous!

  3. April 30, 2012 8:57 pm

    That picture does remind me of you…especially the furrowed brow and rosy chubby cheeks….just can’t remember which picture in particular….the Johnny Jump-Up pic?

  4. izzy57 permalink
    May 5, 2012 8:49 pm

    Gorgeous photos of Lilly Jen and I’ve always thought she looked like you.

Leave a Reply

