Skip to content

HST block of the month

March 26, 2012

I’ve been on a sewing kick lately…  My biggest problem is that I can’t ever finish a project in one sitting anymore, and once I’m about halfway done I lose interest or move on to a different project.  So it’s been a surprise to me that I’ve started and stuck with the half-square triangle block of the month series at In Color Order.  The inspiration came from Kim and Michael, and I thought it’d be a cool way to up my quilting skillz.  Plus, since it requires only one square to be sewn per month, I’ve been able to start and finish each square on a weekend night while watching crappy reruns of horrible animal planet, TLC, or food network shows.  Why is cable so horrible?  And why can’t I bring myself to just cancel it?

Anyways, the blocks.  I’ve been using scraps from my stash for the squares (because I’ve got my fabric stash limited to 3 drawers, and using the scraps means clearing more room to buy more fabric!).  Here’s what I’ve come up with so far — the bright colors make me super-happy.

January:

IMG_0536February:

IMG_0541March:

IMG_0533

 

I’m glad to be quilting – even if it’s going to take a year to complete one blanket…

And it’s cool to be trying something new/more complicated than I’ve put together before.  I’ve never pieced squares like this before!  Yay for internet tutorials!  Anyone out there put together anything like this before?  I’d love to check yours out…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie Ross permalink
    March 26, 2012 9:07 pm

    I can’t wait to see the finished product!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. March 27, 2012 3:23 am

    WOW they all look so amazing…I love the March square.

  3. March 27, 2012 8:56 am

    I love your colors. The finish quilt is going be gorgeous.

  4. March 28, 2012 9:49 am

    They look so great. I love the fabrics.

    And, I must admit – I havent’ completed February or March! Eek!

  5. April 3, 2012 2:55 am

    I would love to learn how to quilt; alas, I can’t even figure out how to thread my bobbin so anything beyond the most basic straight line is beyond my skill level.

Leave a Reply

