Skip to content

mirror, mirror

March 21, 2012

One afternoon, as I was preparing lunch, I sat Lil on the kitchen floor with a pot and it’s metal lid.  She’d previously shown interest in banging together metal pots, so I thought she might enjoy exploring my cookware.  To my surprise, she didn’t bang the metal, but instead quickly discovered that she could view her own reflection in the metal lid, and spent the better part of 20 minutes leaning over the lid and giggling/shrieking, then sitting up, then leaning back over the lid and giggling/shrieking, and so on.  It was the most fun I’ve ever had preparing lunch!

The next day, I added a full-length mirror to her play area.

IMG_0421.jpg

To be fair, it wasn’t an original idea.  I’ve recently become interested in the Montessori approach to teaching.  I know very little about it, but my impression is that it’s a simple, peaceful way to allow kids to learn.  I love the mantra “teach me to do it myself” and I like what I’ve read about allowing kids freedom while giving them responsibility.  Typical Montessori nurseries have a mirror hanging over their floor bed to allow babies to view their room from the bed.  Although we probably won’t be by-the-book Montessori parents, we are currently borrowing the floor bed idea (as in: Lil sleeps on her crib mattress on the floor of her room) and I thought that the mirror placement in her play area might be a hit as well.

IMG_0492.jpg

And my hunch was right — it’s a HUGE hit.  Lilly loves the mirror.  We’ll sit her in front of it and she’ll practice waving her hands, throwing one or both up in the air and shrieking.  She talks, bounces up and down, and dances while looking at the mirror.  She also observes the dogs walking, sleeping, and playing by watching their reflection in the mirror, and will watch Jason or I in the mirror, too.

IMG_0491.jpg

It’s pretty awesome.

I hope she always has such a joyful response to her own reflection.

IMG_0497.jpg

I’ve decided to continue to adding new activities to our play time, and will likely share more in future posts.  This little one is growing so fast!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2012 2:27 am

    I went to montessori school from age 2 thru 3rd grade, and it was instrumental in shaping my love of learning by doing, rather than memorizing. Thanks for the idea to investigate how to apply the principles at home! (and for the kind words you left on my blog)

Leave a Reply

