Skip to content

baby play dates

March 19, 2012

One of my goals for the new year was to host something at least once/month.  So Lil and I have been hosting baby play dates with some of our favorite babies.

IMG_0029

It’s pretty remarkable to see how different the development of each of the babies is.  They’re 3 weeks apart (Lil is exactly 3 weeks older than the other babies in the photo), yet some are sitting, some are crawling, some are rolling all over the floor, some are sticking things in their mouth.  Their sleep/nap patterns are all totally different.  Their eating amounts/types of food/patterns are all different.

IMG_0111

My baby sits so nicely.  She reaches for and picks up toys.

IMG_0104

But she doesn’t do a whole lot of moving around on the ground.  She CAN roll all over the place — she just chooses not to, instead hanging out in whatever position I put her in when I set her down.

IMG_0094

For a minute, my competitive side pouts a little: why isn’t my baby crawling like these other babies? why hasn’t she even gotten on all fours and rocked? why isn’t she pulling herself up on the table? or standing by herself?  Like I want my baby to be the first to do EVERYTHING so that I have bragging rights.

IMG_0088

Also, it’s easy to ask: what am I, as the parent, doing wrong here that my baby isn’t as advanced as the other babies?

IMG_0083

But that would assume that I have control over these things.  And I know that I don’t.  She is who she is, she’ll develop in the way she develops.  In fact, I think much of our “parenting” thusfar has really just been responding to Lilly.  There are so many things that we do as parents that really only work because Lilly is who she is.  And I’m certain that the reason we love being parents as much as we do is because we are HER parents.

IMG_0077

So I have to keep these things in mind – that my daughter is who she is – and that she’ll develop in a way that is perfect for her – whenever my competitive side gets the why isn’t she… voices going.  This is going to be one of those sticks-with-you-for-a-long-time lessons.  Let go, and don’t compete.

IMG_0066

In the meantime, I’ll continue to joke about my lazy baby, and be thankful that I haven’t had to baby proof the house yet (because I’m a lazy parent).  My days of decorating with glass hurricane jars are numbered…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. priscilla permalink
    March 19, 2012 10:23 pm

    adorable!

    • March 19, 2012 10:40 pm

      thanks! it’s super-hard to get three babies to look at the camera at the same time… these are the best of probably 100 that I took…

  2. March 20, 2012 5:13 pm

    The play dates look like so much fun! Enjoy all these moments 🙂

  3. Addie permalink
    March 20, 2012 9:53 pm

    Such a sweet girl! She looks so much like her daddy 🙂

  4. March 21, 2012 7:43 am

    I used to quite enjoy that my eldest two were slow walkers – it did make life easier – but of course I felt guilty!

    Some of the babies my kids played with as babies are now their best friends, and they really enjoy seeing pics of them together and hearing stories of what they got up to.

    You are creating a wonderful record of memories for your daughter 🙂

    Also great as a mum to get reassurance that you aren’t alone in this new journey!

  5. March 21, 2012 6:27 pm

    Beautiful beautiful pictures!
    Next time you are in your studio, try the same pictures but use the built-in flash of your camera as fill-in with “slow sync” mode, corrected to something between -0.7 to -1.5EV; it should give the pictures a “crisp” look, and a bright little star in their eyes! 🙂

  6. Auntie Ashley permalink
    March 21, 2012 9:36 pm

    I see a future boyfriend in these pictures and also a BFF! Too cute, all 3 of them!!

Leave a Reply

