Skip to content

things I’ve made recently: baby play edition

March 18, 2012

I’ve managed to continue my love affair with my sewing machine over the past few months.  I know you’re surprised to hear that, given that I haven’t posted about any projects since Lilly’s arrival.  Given the crazy changes in babies sleep schedules and that I’m trying to squeeze both work and housework into Lil’s naptimes, I often feel a really huge sense of accomplishment when I manage to eek out a few minutes (or, on a few occasions, hours) in front of the machine.  Having this time to myself to do projects has been unbelievably good for my outlook on life.  I love projects.  And what better than to make projects that I can watch Lil enjoy?

1.  Taggies squares.  So easy; all it takes are two scraps of fabric, ribbon scraps, and, if you want it to crinkle, a plastic bag or two.

IMG_0321

IMG_0326

Talking about taggie/textures, Lil got an awesome texture/taggie quilt from her Auntie Ashley for Christmas!  Such a sweet gift and she seems to enjoy grabbing at the different textures.  Jezebel would also like one for Christmas, she has been found attempting to nap on the taggie blanket!  (ohmygosh, I love Lil’s hand on Jezzie here… they really are BFFs.)

IMG_0337

IMG_0334

 

IMG_0340\IMG_0339

2.  Fabric blocks.  I made one for Lil for Christmas (she needed at least 1 homemade gift!) and it was quick and easy – cut 4 squares from scraps, sew into a cross-shape, then sew together into a box & stuff, hand stitch closed.  I’d love to make others… perhaps a set with different colors, shapes, numbers, etc on them?  For now, the textures of the different fabrics used on each side are appealing to her, but I bet that with a set of homemade blocks, she could stack, count, learn colors…

IMG_0310

IMG_0328

IMG_0313

IMG_0311

IMG_0327

3.  A naked butt mat.  Every baby needs a little diaper-free time, right?  This naked butt mat (the gray & green mat Lil is sitting on in the above photos) is two layers of fabric – a fleece layer sewed into a PUL layer.  The PUL is waterproof, and fleece pulls liquid into itself, so if she does happen to pee on the blanket, it doesn’t make a mess.  I am realizing as I type this that it sounds a little more “crazy” and a little less “cool” than I think it actually is in real life.  Also, I am super-proud of myself for this fleece-PUL pairing and think that my cloth diapering ways have given me a whole new appreciation for materials science.  Fabric is so cool…  I could probably sing the joys of fleece, bamboo, and PUL for days if you’d let me.

Anyways, the naked butt mat rocks, and you need one.  I’m sure of that.  Baby girl does her best rolling sans diaper, and truth be told, it’s the only way we could get her to agree to tummy time early on.  Tummy time + diaper = much screaming; but naked tummy time = superawesomefunsmilesgigglesandjoyfulsqueals.  File that one under Important Things We’ve Learned in the past 8 (!?!?!!!!) months.

 

PS how is my baby 8 months already?

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2012 9:14 am

    She is so cute! My little grandson hated tummy time too. 🙂

  2. March 19, 2012 10:34 am

    I am totally intrigued by that naked butt mat! Charlotte is not a huge fan on tummy time most day, but she does seem to love naked baby time…

  3. March 19, 2012 6:33 pm

    Such great projects, Jen! I’m not sure how we survived year one without a naked butt mat!

  4. March 19, 2012 7:13 pm

    Love that she really seems to enjoy the items you have made – it would be a bit disappointing if she preferred the shop bought stuff – I think I would be devestated!!!

  5. April 18, 2012 3:38 pm

    Love this, Jen! I am totally going to try it!

Leave a Reply

