Skip to content

six months of Lilly

February 12, 2012

Lilly is so fun, you guys. So fun.

Daily we look at each other and laugh about how cool she is and how much we love her.

I still can’t believe she was in my stomach all along. (It’s strange to me that I thought she was a boy! Now I can’t imagine anyone other than her!)

And that she’s 6 months – half of one year – already seems insane.

In some ways, it seems like she’s been with us forever. Other times, it’s like she just arrived.

We celebrated Lil’s half-birthday in the same way we’ve celebrated each month mark: with a trip to Chipotle. Jason claims it’s Lilly’s fav restaurant, but I’m not sure how she was able to communicate that with him. It’s more likely that it is Jason’s own wishful thinking.

Jason’s been tracking Lil’s growth by comparing her to a burrito.  Of course, he has to eat said burrito after the photo is taken.  Just one of the many fatherly hardships Jason has endured in the past few months…

At her 6 month appointment (okay, it was an almost-seven month appointment since mom was a little late in scheduling it!), she weighed in at a whopping 17 lbs 6 oz (75th percentile!) and is now 28.5″ (over the 95th percentile!).

Two things: 1. Who are your parents, Lil?; 2. We’re 1.5″ from needing a new car seat (yikes).

I’ve also been keeping track of Lil’s growth by taking a photo of her in her room each week, although I often take like 50 pictures of her and I’ve not been very good about picking just one and putting the week on it. Someday, someday.  (Like when she goes off to college and I have free time again.)

I have also taken periodic pictures of Lilly with the stuffed monkey my grandma made for her. It amazes me how big she’s gotten. And how quickly! (I’ll share those pics soon.)

As another fun keeping-track-of-our-girl’s progress, we’ve been writing monthly notes to her in a little journal. I love the online notes that I’ve seen other parents write to their babies – so sweet. But there’s just something about a hand-written note… especially now that everything is typed. So each month, Jason and I write her a little something about how cool we think she is and what she can do.  It should be a fun little compilation of love to give her when she’s bigger, although for years 2+, we’ll probably just stick to writing notes on each birthday or when something special happens.

Anyways. The reason for this post: Lil at 6 months!  Mamabragging:

  • Lil can sit up unassisted!  She has the occasional fall, but for the most part, she sits on her own.  Very cool.
  • She’s been sitting in her high chair, and we’ve been offering food since she was about 5.5 months.  When we first put her in the high chair and pulled it up to the table, she got the biggest smile ever.  She likes to join in the dinnertime conversation, too.  She frequently grabs for and tries to drink from our water glasses when we’re holding her.  It’s really cute.  (I think she wants to be like us).
  • She grabs for toys, dog’s ears, mom’s hair, dad’s glasses.
  • She entertains herself for at least 15 minutes at a time.  So I can sit her on the floor with some objects (toys) in front of her, and she’ll play happily while I pick up, check my email, or fold laundry.  Who am I kidding?  I usually get so wrapped up in watching her play that I don’t do any of those things.  Our house is a wreck, but we are so so happy.
  • She giggles and smiles like crazy.  The dogs are sooooooo funny.  Only occasionally are mom and dad funny.  But those are really great moments for yours truly.  (No one else thinks I’m that funny.)
  • She’s a watcher, and I’m forced to make my actions worth watching now.  Item #1 on the what not to do list: no more yelling “NO!” at the dogs, lest I end up with a 2 year old who is constantly screaming, “NO!”.  As much as she watches Jason and I, she watches kids even more.  They seem to fascinate her, as do the dogs.
  • She can roll, stomach to back and back to stomach.  She first rolled at about 4.5 months, but has occasional lazy streaks where she won’t roll at all.  We see the most rolls when she’s naked (maybe it’s easier to get around?).
  • She’s started talking and changing up the tone of her voice.  It’s pretty cute, even if her best sound is “dadadadada”. (Lil, I worked super-hard to make and feed you… you could throw some props my way anytime now…)  Jason likes to joke that she’s probably saying, “dogsdogsdogsdogsdogs”.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 10:04 am

    She’s a real sweetie! 🙂

  2. Debbie Ross permalink
    February 13, 2012 12:02 pm

    I’m glad Lilly will entertain herself long enough for you to blog about her latest endeavors! I miss those blogs when you don’t have time. She is so precious and we’re counting the weeks until we see her (and you) again.Give her a big kiss from me!

  3. February 13, 2012 6:14 pm

    She is such a beauty!

  4. February 14, 2012 9:09 am

    A wonderful story! It’s great that you are writing all these things down. The “babyhood” of my children is just a blur. These writings will not only be fun for her to read when she grows up but you will get a lot of enjoyment out of them also.

  5. February 14, 2012 4:50 pm

    She’s so cute! I love reading your mama bragging 🙂 !

Leave a Reply

