Skip to content

these hands

January 23, 2012

It’s been another busy week for our family.

I both love and hate the busy-ness.  Love that there is so much for Lilly to do, that our lives are enriched with time spent with family, play dates with friends, work.  Hate that I don’t have the energy required to clean the house, that I don’t have time to record each minute as it passes here on the blog.  I can’t help but think that so many of these ordinary moments are precious and fleeting — what seems an ordinary moment now was extraordinary two months ago.  For example, Lil sits up by herself and grasps toys, entertaining herself in this way for almost 20-30 min without much supervision.  No big whoop.  But in November, we marveled at how she could sit up if we propped her against us… she would reach out in an attempt to grab things on occasion — and it was just incredible.

Almost daily, I get these really sweet moments where I feel an overwhelming sense of appreciation and joy for my little one.  Where I can ignore the days tasks and stresses and just marvel at her.

One thing our baby has been doing frequently over the past few months is staring at her hands.  She has a deep concentrated look as she moves them very slowly back and forth, or, more recently, one finger at a time.  It’s my favorite, though I can never seem to adequately capture the moment.

Amazing fingers

I imagine her inner dialogue to be something along the lines of: whoa. These hands are AMAZING! 

But, I wonder if she really knows how amazing those hands are?  Two years ago, they didn’t even exist!  6 months ago they were almost constantly balled into fists.  3 months ago they really began to open and close.  2 months ago, they began to reach towards and explore things.

And now?  Those little fingers can wiggle, they can pick things up, they can pull mommy’s hair and grab daddy’s glasses.  They are excellent teethers.  They can pet the dogs, causing rounds of giggles when the doggies’ ears move in response to Lil’s touch.  They can rub little eyes when tired, they can mush food and deliver it to her little mouth.

Lilly, you ARE amazing.  Thank you for marveling at yourself, and causing me to reflect on the wonder and amazement in this world.  I suspect this might be the best thing you do for me, though, hugs and cuddles are a very close second.

Possibly the only thing more incredible than how much these hands have done is how much more they’ll do…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 4:02 pm

    This is such a beautiful post. Babies are truly such a miracle. It really IS amazing.

  2. January 26, 2012 5:22 pm

    Beautiful post. 🙂 I cannot wait until the day my husband and I have our first child. More and more I think about it almost daily. Yes, the labor scares me. Yes, I wonder if I will be a good mother who can function on lack of sleep. But, it’s posts like this that do a wonderful job mentioning the little things that once were incredible and now are everyday occurrences but still just as beautiful and adorable as ever.

    Oh, and yes, I did start a new blog. The old Wrapped in Happiness one is still around and I plan to still write something now and then but you can find me now at the new one listed as my link. Just FYI! Take care 🙂

  3. mom permalink
    January 26, 2012 9:51 pm

    It’s so wonderful you are capturing these feelings on “paper”. The emotions are truly different than anything you may have experienced before.

  4. January 26, 2012 11:34 pm

    I could not agree more, and definitely could not have said it any better. I have been feeling the same way about Pace lately. Time is going by so fast. I love watching him grow and discover new things, but it’s amazing how quickly he moves from one milestone to the next. The one thing I keep telling myself is that even if I’m not keeping up with all the things on my to-do list (cleaning, cooking, blogging, etc.) at least I get to experience all of those “special” moments. I find that I can sit and watch him play with his hands for 30 minutes and not even realize it. This time is just so precious. It’s wonderful to take it all in…..even if it means that some things fall behind. 🙂

    Lily is beautiful and you are doing an amazing job with her. Keep posting when you have time (since I love the pictures and updates) but we totally understand when you don’t!! 🙂

  5. January 27, 2012 4:50 am

    So true – what appears to be a miracle becomes an every day normal occurence.

    May you never lose your wonder, and may you keep sharing it with us and recording it for Lily too!

  6. January 27, 2012 9:15 am

    Beautifly written!

  7. January 27, 2012 9:06 pm

    Just a wonderful post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

