Skip to content

oh Christmas tree!

January 5, 2012

We ventured out to pick up our Christmas tree during the second weekend in December.  We had waited to pick it up until there was snow on the ground.  As I do every year, I insisted that we cut one down, so we bundled up and headed to the local tree farm (local = 3 miles away).

IMG_8994

Most years, I insist on walking the entire field to find the *best* tree of the bunch.  This year, with Lil in tow, we looked at only a few trees before we found the one.

IMG_8996

And actually, truth be told, it was really only the front half of the tree that we purchased (half the tree = half the price! yay cheap tree!).

IMG_8999

It’s super-easy to load a front-only tree on the car.  Also? since we only bought the front, it was only 1/2 the weight of a full tree.  Bonus!

IMG_9007

Although, when you’re trying to set up the half tree, you’ve got to be careful to weight the back half or the entire thing falls over as  you’re attaching ornaments.  Found that one out the hard way.  This year, we stuck with simple white lights & our collection of ornaments.  My parents always bought us an ornament on family vacations and gave us an ornament in our stockings on Dec. 6th that represented something that we did on that year, so I have a pretty huge collection of ornaments.  It’s a tradition I’ve continued with Jason, and this year’s purchase was the oh-so-cheesy “#1 DAD” ornament.  I love it.

IMG_9511

We tried to get a picture of the dogs & Lil in front of the tree.  This is about as good as it gets.  But I’m embracing imperfection this year.  Imperfection in my photography, imperfection with the posing.  This is just where we are.

IMG_9514

Not bad for Lil’s first Christmas tree… but I’m pretty psyched for next year, when we can hang the ornaments together.

IMG_9507

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    January 5, 2012 9:28 am

    I love that last picture of Lilly looking up at the tree! She seems mesmerized by the lights.

  2. January 5, 2012 10:07 am

    Lilly and the dogs are awfully attentive, if you ask me!

    Also, seriously, you can buy a half a tree? Why is this not a possibility in my neck of the woods? Do they cut it for you? Do you have any pictures of this? Tell me more! (or don’t, I’m probably the only one who is curious about such a thing)

    • January 5, 2012 12:00 pm

      It was only half a tree because it was planted too close to another tree line at the edge of the field so only the front half of the tree grew. 🙂 There were few branches on the backside, and those that were there were wimpy and without needles. I think our tree farmer is new to the game (or was when he planted them!).

  3. January 5, 2012 10:57 am

    Great pics and I love your family’s ornament tradition! I may have to steal that one! Love too that you go and cut your own tree – that will be so magical for Lilly as she’s growing up!!

  4. mom permalink
    January 5, 2012 11:31 am

    As always, love the pictures! The mommy/daughter photos are adorable. Jason is becoming quite a photographer too!

  5. Catherine permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:54 pm

    This is very cute! I like the half-tree idea… i should have tried that one because tree’s are expensive… instead I cut one out of cardboard and painted it. 🙂 Barley looks like an old man, or mature I should say.. I miss him!

  6. January 5, 2012 5:07 pm

    She’s so precious!!

  7. January 5, 2012 10:19 pm

    I was really confused about the half a tree thing until I read through the comments. I thought you were fooling us!!

    I love, love, love your pictures! So jealous that you had snow for your half-tree cutting experience!

  8. January 6, 2012 1:46 pm

    A half tree? Amazing. Sweet photos too.

  9. January 6, 2012 5:18 pm

    Lovely tree / half-tree!

    Didn’t know you could get a half tree!!!

  10. January 6, 2012 6:38 pm

    Why not half a tree! Ours is stuck in a corner, so who cares what the other side looks like. You do have to be a litle conscios about the balance though. We learned that the had way toooooo!

  11. January 6, 2012 9:36 pm

    Half a tree never heard of such a thing.

    Great photos of the little one.

Trackbacks

  1. oh! Christmas Tree! «

Leave a Reply

