Skip to content

buhbye 2011, hello 2012

January 2, 2012

What an awesome year.

In my wrap up post for 2010, I announced that we’d be expecting a little one.  I had no idea what the year would bring, but my two main wishes for 2011 were a healthy baby and to quickly figure out how to make that baby happy.  I’d say that it’s been a successful year on both of those fronts.  Lilly has been incredibly healthy and she is officially the happiest baby we know.  I’m not sure I should attribute that to anything that we are doing as parents, but it’s hard not to feel like a parenting success when your daughter is constantly flashing smiles at you.

IMG_7523

My other wishes for 2011 were to pick up some new camera skillz and to drop the baby weight by August.  I have had some wonderful baby photo shoots, thanks to a very willing subject (who, BTW has learned to look at the camera – SCORE!).  I bought a flash for my camera over the summer as a push present, and have (slowly) been trying to improve my indoor photography.  As for the weight, I didn’t drop it that fast, but I did fit into my bridesmaid’s dress for my BFF’s wedding.  I actually have no idea what I weigh; the last time I stood on a scale, I was (almost) 42 weeks pregnant.  I’m hopeful that I weigh less now than I did then, but I don’t care enough to get new batteries for our scale and stand on it again.  (Some of) my pre-pregnancy pants fit again, and that’s good enough for now.

IMG_6504

This year has brought so many wonderful things our way.  I am in awe of how blessed we’ve been.  Jason continues to enjoy his work.  I’ve fallen into the ideal employment situation and a job that I absolutely love.  Our sweet little miracle was the highlight of our year, and she continues to thrive – happily.  We can’t get enough of her.  She is just. so. awesome.  We’ve had opportunities to spend time with family and friends, and we have had so many reminders this past year of just how lucky we are to have such wonderful people surrounding us.

With a new year comes new opportunities to improve ourselves, show gratitude, and have more fun.  So here are my goals/wishes/resolutions/whatever for 2012:

    • Work on one new home improvement project each month.  Even if that project is as tiny as changing out a light fixture (I’m looking at you, horrible + nonfunctional above-the-stairway light).
    • Try one new recipe each month.
    • Make one new sewing item each month.
    • Host an event/dinner/friends over once each month.
    • Have at least one date with Jason each month.
    • Finally finish & publish the two blurb books I’ve been working on (one is a wedding album, the other is memories/blog posts from 2003-2005… yeah, I’m a little behind).
    • Throw Lilly an awesome first birthday party.
    • Take a family vacation.
    • Improve my instagram skillz.  My BFF posts the most beautiful instagram photos and I’m inspired to do better.
    • Blog 3x/week (at least).  Improve/update the design of my blog.
    • Drink more water, eat more leafy greens, and attend church more often.
    • And my most important wish/goal/resolution: soak up every possible moment with Lilly as she grows, creating/enjoying many opportunities for learning and fun without rushing her exploration of life.

IMG_8941

Also, totally unrelated: I’ve finally joined Pinterest and it’s as amazing as everyone has promised.  I’m obsessed.  As in, pinning on my Iphone at 4am while trying to nurse the sick baby to sleep obsessed.  Give me a shout out if you’re on so that I can follow you!  (Also, what’s the difference between “liking” something and “pinning” it?  Is there one?  I’ve just been pinning everything that I like… but maybe I should be liking it?  I have so much to learn!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 10:44 pm

    What an awesome year for you! I’m so glad that things are going so well for you. You deserve it! Can’t wait to see what 2012 brings for both of us and our sweet little ones.

  2. Debbie permalink
    January 3, 2012 7:19 am

    Happy New Year! I (selfishly) like that resolution to blog at least 3 times /week! I love me so blogs about Lilly (and of course her parents).
    Have a great year!

  3. January 3, 2012 10:18 am

    Pinterest is worse than pretty much any other website when it comes to wasting time! Follow me (mamajoie) and I’ll follow you 🙂 Hope 2012 is as great a year as 2011.

  4. January 3, 2012 5:50 pm

    OK I NEED to know – who are you on Pinterest (I’m Janmary) and Instagram?

    Love both, waste time on both.

    My goal is to do Project 365 (or 366!) and I am using both my iphone and DSLR so I might actually make it this year ….. we’ll see.

    And yes ….. she IS gorgeous!

  5. January 3, 2012 6:08 pm

    Wow! That is quite a year! Lilly is just beautiful and perfect. I can see why you want to soak up every moment with her. Love the picture of you two at the wedding. You look awesome in that dress.

  6. January 3, 2012 10:13 pm

    That last picture of Lilly is beyond precious! You had an amazing year.

  7. January 3, 2012 10:34 pm

    Such a sweet baby! I’m on pinterest too. It is addictive. 🙂

  8. January 4, 2012 12:48 pm

    Happy new year! I need to get on the Blurb books too. I have NOTHING. No wedding album or a single baby album . . .

    Here’s to 2012 my beautiful friend!

Leave a Reply

