Skip to content

four months of Lilly

December 6, 2011

(okay, she’s almost 5 months.  But I wrote this weeks ago & it got lost in the drafts folder waiting for pictures.  So this is really about what Lil was like at 4 months…  So that counts for something, right?)

Ahh!  She’s so awesome you guys. So awesome.

And Jason and I seem to really be hitting our stride as parents.  But things will probably change again next week.

IMG_7733

One of the best lessons we’ve learned in the past week is that parenting seems to be much more about changing our expectations of the current situation than actually changing the current situation.  For example, a few weeks ago, my baby decided that she no longer needed to nap.  I was like, “NO!  Babies NEED naps!” and I decided she was going to nap for at least 2 hours starting at 1 p.m. every day, and I was going to read her a book and then rock her and then put her to bed.  And I did this for about 4 days.  Maybe 5.  And they were very very frustrating days and I was mad and crabby.  The thing is, this baby does sleep, and she sleeps enough – at least 12 hours straight through the night, and probably 10-30 minutes after a few of her feedings during the day.  And she is just so happy all the time – she’s not cranky or itching her eyes or yawning or any of that.  And once I just decided to accept that my baby is going to sleep when she’s going to sleep and that I should plan on doing what I need to do after she falls asleep at night, things got much better.  Once my expectations met reality, we were golden – I was in a much much better mood, and we had a great time together.

I should note that this week, that’s changed.  In the past few days, she’s opted to take an hour nap in the morning and a 1-2 hour nap in the afternoon.  Without my prompting.  Which kind of rocks, because I’m a lazy parent, and if she keeps this up, I won’t even have to worry about sleep training. *fingers crossed*

IMG_7792

She’s getting to the age where she can do more things, explore more objects, and more easily talk/laugh/smile at us.  It’s awesome.  Although I sometimes find myself wishing she was just a little bigger so I could do (insert cool idea here) with her, I am really really loving this age.  Small enough to still be a cuddly, sweet baby, but big enough to smile, coo, laugh, and stay out of trouble.

At her 4 month appointment, she was 26 inches long (95th percentile) and 14 lbs (50th percentile).  She gave the doctor skeptical face as he listened to her heartbeat, and she was a champ for her vaccinations, calming herself almost as soon as they were done!  We learned that it’s recommended that we stop swaddling her soon and that we can start feeding her solids anytime now.  Truthfully, I’m hesitant to start solids right now; it just seems too early.  Baby led solids sounds like a really interesting approach to feeding my baby, and I need some more time to look into it and read about it before deciding which foods to start with.  Also, my baby can’t yet sit up on her own, which seems fairly critical for feeding.  And, to top it off, I’m not looking forward to what real food is going to do to my cloth diapering. 🙂

IMG_7864

Supplies that we’re loving this month:

    • The Bumbo has made its appearance and we’re having so much fun with it.  Lilly LOVES sitting up now that she’s got more muscle control, and we sit her on the table (even though the label says not to – BAD parents!) while we’re eating dinner so that she can join us.  It’s really remarkable that the first time I put her in the bumbo – just after she turned 3 months – she lasted about a minute or two and was super-wobbly, and now, just a few weeks later, she can sit while Jason and I eat an entire meal.
    • Books!  Lilly will actually sit in my lap and look at books now.  Her attention span is increasing, and I’m loving that she’ll pay attention to the pictures while I read to her.  I think her favorite might be Brown Bear.
    • The Boppy.  How have I not mentioned this before?  We’ve been using it since day one… it was great to sit on when I was recovering from childbirth, and now we’ve been using it to support the baby when we’re holding her, or we’ll set it on the couch and lay Lil in it when we play with her.  We’ve used it for tummy time.  It’s a pretty great all around product.
    • Small toys/objects.  Now that Lilly can grasp things, we’ve been putting more objects in front of her to grasp/touch.  Things like small rattles and crinkly fabric squares are becoming more easily graspable.

IMG_8035

And, for some mamabragging about our girl’s skills:

    • Smiles, coos, and giggles all around.  The coos are rocking my world lately because she’s begun varying her tone/pitch and making different facial expressions as she talks.  Sometimes she has very very serious things to say, but more often, it’s a happy high pitched squeal.  So awesome.
    • She’s begun cuddling into us, putting her head on our shoulders.  Another awesome baby skill that makes me think that I might be doing something right.
    • Her grasp is getting stronger, and she can grab objects that are in front of her.  We’ve seen her begin to reach out and touch things… she’s mostly interested in the dogs, our clothing/hands/hair/faces, and other babies.  She shows a slight interest in grabbing toys or touching books that are placed near her.

IMG_8164

This is the first thing Lil really reached for – her buddy, Elijah’s burp cloth.  We are so lucky to have met so many sweet new parents in our birth class… I’ve made two mommy/baby pair friends that I’ve seen several times, and we’ve gotten together as a larger group twice since the kiddos were born.  It is SO NICE to have other parent friends that are at the same stage in this game as us.

IMG_8170

A group shot of baby cuteness.  Jason thinks ours is the cutest (of course he does, she looks just like him!  Also, don’t all parents have to think their baby is the cutest?  I asked Jason this and he says, “BUT OURS REALLY IS THE CUTEST!”).

IMG_8216

And one more, in which our peace-keeping hippie baby breaks up a chick fight.

  • Sitting up.  She’s not quite sitting independently, but with a little support, she’s more happy to sit than lay.
  • Sticking her fist/fingers in her mouth.  She loves to chomp her little fingers.  Chomp, chomp, chomp!  Between the chomping and the drooling, I won’t be surprised if our girl pops a tooth sometime soon…

IMG_7883

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 10:10 pm

    Counting the days, just counting the days….The group baby shots are so adorable, I think it should be sent to the Bumbo manufacturers….especially since you all highly endorse the product!

    • December 7, 2011 10:49 am

      Ok, but Catherine and I want to come over and play with her before the big Christmas eve stampede. So Nana Carol, share nice!

  2. December 7, 2011 3:20 am

    Your daughter is absolutely gorgeous…what a cutie pie.

    Thanks for sharing your journey. I too found that going with the flow makes for a much happier time. Babies definitely know what they need. Harper has been a patient teacher as I have learned to follow her cues.

    Mommy groups are the best! I am glad you have found people to hang with and share stories. That type of support is priceless. Plus its super fun for the babies.

  3. December 7, 2011 10:52 am

    REALLY, REALLY cute photos! 🙂
    REALLY, REALLY cute Lilly! 🙂

  4. Christina permalink
    December 7, 2011 10:56 am

    I’ll have to agree with Jason that she is the cutest. I hope I get a little cuddly time with her over the holidays! Love you guys.

  5. December 7, 2011 4:16 pm

    I love that lineup of the babies in the bumbos. 🙂 I keep saying she’s adorable and she really is the cutest girl baby in the world. 🙂

  6. December 7, 2011 6:11 pm

    OF COURSE she is the cutest – no contest!

    Kids have a habit of changing things up – just when you think you have something sussed – they mix it up – keeps us parents on our toes.

    My “babies” still do this to me – at almost 14, 12 TOMORROW and 7 years old.

Leave a Reply

