Skip to content

friends thanksgiving 2011

December 2, 2011

The problem with not blogging frequently is that life adds up and then I’m all “oh!  I should blog about this and this and that!” which quickly overwhelms me into not blogging about anything at all.  So I’m gonna pull this one from the “drafts” file that I meant to finish up 3 weeks ago so that I could join Kim’s party (because I think Kim is super-cool, and I love seeing everyone’s holiday ideas).  Ahh, well, can’t win ’em all, can we?

A few weeks ago, we hosted our second annual friends thanksgiving.  Our motto this year?  All of the fun, none of the family.  And, indeed it was a super-fun day-long cook/eat/drink-fest.

It feels REALLY good to be able to do things that I enjoyed pre-baby again – sewing, cooking, and entertaining top that list of fun.  I managed to do a ton of cooking while Lilly was sleeping or being entertained by her daddy.  My mom & sister also visited to play with Lil while I was cleaning/cooking (thanks so much for your help, guys!).

(photos taken by my awesome photog friend – if you’re in SWMI and looking for a photog, I’d be happy to send his name/info to you)

Thanksgiving2011fb-1

Somehow, I even managed to have everything ready several hours before our guests arrived (Note that I wasn’t in charge of cooking the turkey this year – our friends made it & brought it over carved!).  I surprised myself by even finding the time to decorate the table!  Much of the reason for hosting friends thanksgiving in the first place is that it’s a great excuse to break out the china & crystal.  Since we live so far from family, I’d never have a chance to break out the good stuff and cook if it weren’t for friends thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving2011-2

We barely had enough room for our 15 guests, but managed to squeeze 3 tables together in our dining room.  It was hugely important that we all sit at the same table, even if that table was actually three tables.  Next year, we’ll undoubtedly need a kiddie table, though, as we’re likely to have at least 3 more little mouths to feed.  (Note to self: it might be time to buy a folding table & chairs.  And I could use 2 more sets of china, crystal, and beige Crate & Barrel napkins to host all of these peeps!)

Thanksgiving2011-13

I threw a super-long piece of burlap over the tables to tie them together, then set the table.  In the 2 minutes of spare time I had before my guests arrived, I quickly wrote each guest’s name on a little white pumpkin & set it at the table.

Thanksgiving2011-20

I even managed to make 2 dairy-free pies.  This Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie is delish – I’d probably make it again next year when my dairy restrictions will (hopefully) be lifted.  The apple pie was made using soy butter instead of real butter – I was pleasantly surprised that the (soy!) buttery crumble on the top turned out crisp and delish.

IMG_8302

All-in-all, it was a super-wonderful day, and I’m so glad that we took the opportunity to organize a gathering!  Probably the best thing about the holidays is the time spent with family & friends, and we are so lucky to have had plenty of that in the past month and plenty more to come!

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Ashley permalink
    December 4, 2011 1:47 am

    Auntie Ashley needs some more LJR picture updates since she is changing so much now from day to day! I miss her (and her parents)!! Love their little family:)

  2. December 4, 2011 12:35 pm

    Writing the names in the pumpkins – would never gave thought of that!

    My dream/ambition is to be in US some year for thanksgiving 🙂

  3. sue permalink
    December 7, 2011 4:18 pm

    how did you find out were not allowed dairy? does lily sleep on her own at night and during naps. i just had a son( 5 weeks) and he won’t sleep on his own at all.

Leave a Reply

