Skip to content

what we did with those pumpkins

November 5, 2011

I insisted that we carve pumpkins this year.

Lilly’s not old enough to even grasp a knife, much less successfully use one to carve faces in a pumpkin, but we’re in the business of starting family traditions here.  So Jason got to work, with Lilly’s supervision:
IMG_8021

(He’s wearing gloves because he’s having the world’s worst eczema outbreak on his hands… they’re all cracking and bleeding and require special soap and prescription lotions. Yuck.)

IMG_8027

Lilly wanted in on the action, though. (Or, more likely, she was sick of sitting in the Bumbo and possibly a little tired.) So I brought out the black paint, painted her little toes, and stamped them on her pumpkin. She was pretty interested in the process!

IMG_8029

IMG_8028

I stamped her feet heel-to-heel on the pumkin and then painted a little circle where the feet met.  It’s my weak attempt at making a bat out of my kid’s feet… let’s just say painting isn’t one of my supercraft skills.

And then I whisked the baby upstairs for a feet-cleaning bath while Jason sat downstairs and carved his pumpkin by himself.  I could have carved my pumpkin after the baby fell asleep that night, but when given a few free moments to myself, I decided that “carving pumpkin” wasn’t exactly at the top of my to do list.  So I’m pretty much the lamest family organizer to insist that we had to make trips to the pumpkin farm to buy pumpkins which I then didn’t even carve.  Oops.  Maybe next year.

IMG_8138

I made Lilly take the obligatory on-the-stoop-with-the-pumpkins photo.  (Note her excitement.)  Look what a big girl she is sitting in her bumbo!  It’s amazing that she couldn’t have done this a week ago.  So many things change so quickly with these little ones!


3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2011 3:11 am

    You are very lucky Jason tolerates all your far fetched ideas and goes along with them! Did you at least make pumpkin seeds?

    • November 6, 2011 10:28 am

      Nope, no pumpkin seeds either. Super-lame pumpkin carving year!

  2. November 15, 2011 4:46 pm

    Don’t think I have ever seen a child so under-whelmed with Halloween! LOL!

    She’s thinking …. how many more years of this before I can leave for college 🙂

Leave a Reply

