Skip to content

happy halloween from my baby boorito!

November 1, 2011

Late halloween greetings to you & yours from my baby boorito!

10-11babyburrito

I have a good excuse this time – I promise.  You remember when I announced that I had eliminated dairy from my diet since my baby was having some crazy digestive issues in late August?  Well, the doctor mentioned that she should be growing out of it, so from time to time, I can test it by eating dairy and watching the baby’s reaction.  I tested the waters with half of a cheese pizza near the end of September and she was still obviously uncomfortable (rocket farts! crankiness!), and then tested things with a few more slices of cheese pizza over the weekend.  Well, folks, it’s still a no-go.  My poor baby girl was squirmy and cranky pretty much all day yesterday, and the squirmy crankies only stopped after several huge rocket farts later in the evening.  (And I had some huge mama guilt… the cheesy pizza was NOT good enough to outweigh Lil’s cries!)  I’m now researching vegan/dairy-free options for Thanksgiving dishes… because Thanksgiving is like the holiday of butter, and there MUST be a way that I can participate (soy butter?).  If you’ve got any good recipes, throw them my way!

Apologies to those of you who are concerned about where this post/blog is going, now that I’m apparently comfortable using the word “farts” in our conversations.  I have no idea where any of this is going either.  I had an imaginary line of bloggable things in my head, and I’ve just stepped WAY over it.

But anyways.

The baby boorito needed some pictures in her costume, but it had to wait until today, when she was all smiles, laughter, and sunshine.

10-11babyburrito2

We settled on the burrito, her dad’s favorite food, after discussing several options – all of them homemade, because I was determined to do something special for her.  Probably most appealing about the burrito was the ease of construction, though it also won points for being warm enough to haul our baby to a barn party during the cool Michigan fall.  (And oh boy, was the barn party fun!  With hayrides!  And bonfires!  And food!  And dancing!  One of my fav things about our friends here is that they throw great parties!)

The outer part of the costume is an old flannel sheet (the tortilla) with green fleece sewn into it and then cut into strips (the lettuce).  Inside the costume, I made brown fleece pants (beans) and paired them with a white onesie (rice?) that had a patch of red felt (salsa), as well as small tan squares (chicken), pieces of yellow ribbon (cheese), patches of green terry cloth (guacamole), and a patch of white felt (sour cream).

IMG_8124

The piece de resistance was the little hat.  I made it with extra fleece from the pants, and hot glued patches of red & white felt (salsa & sour cream) and green terry cloth (guacamole).

I love it.  It turned out so much cuter than I thought it would be, although it definitely helps that my model is pretty much the cutest thing I’ve ever seen (I’m totally not biased).  Jason and I printed out the Chipotle logo & stuck it on our shirts.  We were burrito makers… get it?  Ha ha ha.

I kind of wanted to take her trick or treating (FREE CANDY!!!), but figured that everyone would be on to our get-free-candy scam.  Instead, we had dinner at our friends’ house to help them hand out candy & check out the big kids’ costumes.  A super-fun and festive Halloween that could have only been made better by a smiley baby.

What were you guys for Halloween?  Any other shout outs for homemade costumes?  I’d love to hear your Halloween stories!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 7:58 am

    So cute! We went to a party also, but yours sounds like more fun. I went as GrannyGoodGoose and Grandpa was a Church usher. It was right after Church on Sun. and that way we could wear our costumes to Church!!!!!!!1

    1

  2. November 2, 2011 10:17 am

    Easily my fave baby costume from the blogosphere!

    Re. your quest for a dairy-free Thanksgiving: Cooking Light has a really tasty recipe for olive oil mashed potatoes. Gravy is naturally dairy-free and you should use it in place of butter whenever possible 🙂 Cornbread dressing has no butter (does regular dressing?) Honey-roasted root veggies (another Cooking Light recipe, actually!) are sublime and you don’t miss the butter at all. What’s left? Dessert. Um, Cool Whip is, I believe, a whipped non-dairy substance.

    Good luck with this!

  3. November 2, 2011 12:32 pm

    Seriously adorable! I”m dying over here. Love the boorito!

  4. November 2, 2011 7:43 pm

    Holy cuteness burrito! I love the costume. Great Idea. Glad to see your back writing. I have missed your sweet face. I am talking about your daughter btw. JK. GLad things are great. ANd why didn’t you treating for candy? shame on u? I took my sons.

  5. November 3, 2011 1:14 pm

    That is so dang cute! Absolutely love it. 🙂

  6. November 4, 2011 10:37 am

    So cute! You have a great imagination for costumes. 🙂

  7. November 10, 2011 8:29 pm

    I had to go on a crazy diet because of my own GI issues and so I’ve done a lot of reading. Some people claim that ghee in place of butter is a good option because you’re getting rid of the impurities which is what causes the trouble in the first place. I don’t have a problem with dairy so I’m not sure, but other people swear this has helped them.

    I use a lot of olive oil when cooking my Thanksgiving meals so there are definitely ways to get around all that butter. Herb roasted red potatoes can make great mashed potatoes if you decide to go that route. My sausage, chestnut, sage & cornbread stuffing requires no butter but is so rich and decadent. Honey glazed carrots is another winner. Brussel sprouts with bacon & chestnuts is a great side dish without butter. Wow, now I’m hungry. 🙂

  8. November 15, 2011 4:50 pm

    TOOOOOO cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Foodie Costumes for Kids | Kid Crave
  2. Fun and Creative Halloween Costumes for Groups or Families! | Famigo Blog
  3. Curious George and the Man | home in the country

Leave a Reply

