Skip to content

three months of Lilly

October 30, 2011

Late, again (holy cow, it’s almost time for a four months of Lilly post… where does time go?). Better than never, though… right?

This month was tricky because I went back to work. I work 2 mornings/week in the classroom/office, take Lil with me for a bit on an occasional afternoon, and try to find the time to squeeze in work at home when Lil’s asleep. (When Jason described this schedule to a coworker, she was all, “WHAT? Two mornings a week? That’s not a job, that’s a hobby!” Which is kind of true. I do love my job enough for it to be considered a hobby most days!) I leave Lilly with the sweetest woman during those two mornings, and while I’m confident that she’s well taken care of, that doesn’t make leaving her any easier. Luckily, our awesome daycare provider texts me pictures throughout the morning so that I can see what my baby girl is up to.

IMG_7297

Baby’s adventures at daycare mean that we’ve learned all sorts of new things this month and used all sorts of new supplies — the #1 being the pump. Which sucks. Literally AND figuratively. I don’t know how the full-time working mamas of the world can handle pumping that often… The fact that you’re suddenly completely exposing yourself in a strange public place (the office!) basically milking yourself like a cow is just craptastic. I totally think that other countries have it right when they give baby mamas a full year off… I’m certain that if I had to do this more than twice each week I wouldn’t have it in me to continue to breastfeed until Lilly’s ready to wean herself. But, twice a week of lugging the pump in and crossing my fingers that no one decides to walk into my office at the exact moment I’m lifting my shirt seems doable.

IMG_7507

I suddenly find myself more equipment manager and mule than mom at times. These little people require entirely too much equipment… The mornings that I head to work, I typically leave the house wearing no less than 3 bags and carrying the car seat & baby. I feel like I’m constantly packing bags or making mental checklists of what I’ll need to leave the house.

IMG_7656

Anyways, our favorites from month 3 (I guess by “our” I mean “my” this month):

  • The pump. I’ll begrudgingly add it here. It lets me leave the house without the baby every now and then, and is relatively quick. Mine is the Medela electric double variety.
  • Lily padz. Because I haven’t had a wet shirt since discovering them. Crucial since my job requires me to stand in front of a room full of 18-22 year olds for 2 hours at a time. And, boy oh boy, that would be WAY more embarrassing than my current most embarrassing teaching moment (which was last year, when I was handing out papers and I bonked a student in the head with my gigantic baby belly. So. embarrassing.).
  • Layers of clothing, specifically cardigans. See above. I have become very paranoid about the potential for leaks in public. As a special bonus, if you put on the top layer AFTER you’ve put the baby down, no one can see the dried spit up that permanently lives on the back of your undershirt. If only the top layer cardigan took away that wonderful dried spit-up smell, too.

And Lilly is awesome (proud parent bragging time):

  • She smiles.
  • She coos.
  • She laughs.
  • Any of the above are pretty much the highlight of my day.

IMG_7619

  • She’s starting to open her hands and grasp more. I’ve sewed some things with different textures that she can hold on to, and if I lay them on her chest (especially in the car seat), she’ll grasp them. I’m not sure its intentional – it might still be her baby reflexes or just coincidence – but it’s pretty darn cute.
  • She sucks on our shoulders. A lot.
  • She still loves bathtime and splashes like crazy. I can’t wait to sign her up for swim lessons!

IMG_7590

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 4:47 am

    She continues to be the most adorable baby, and you will cherish these memories you are managing to record now, even if it seems tough to keep it up now.

    Pumping sucks – I never managed once I returned to work, so I am very impressed!

  2. Debbie permalink
    October 31, 2011 6:28 am

    Great pictures, great baby, great time in your life! The spit up smell is one thing but do you ever turn your head after you’ve held her and get a little whiff of her” new baby” smell? the best!

  3. October 31, 2011 8:18 am

    She’s absolutely adorable. My little grandson is here, he’s gorgeous too. Move to Canada, maternity leaves are a year long. 🙂

  4. October 31, 2011 11:15 am

    Sweetest pictures ever, when she smiles her whole face lights up! XOXOXO~Nana

  5. October 31, 2011 12:11 pm

    She is beautiful! What a gorgeous little girl. Hard to believe she’s getting so big.

  6. October 31, 2011 12:33 pm

    ADORABLE!!!!! What more can I say:)

  7. October 31, 2011 7:05 pm

    What a sweetie! I can’t believe it’s been three (almost four) months. It sounds like everything is going super well, Super Mama. And pack mule describes us perfectly. Don’t worry, that checklist of stuff becomes second nature. I think I could pack the daycare bag in my sleep now!

Leave a Reply

