Skip to content

happy birthday to me!

September 12, 2011

Last weekend was my birthday weekend!  And it was full of activity…

Lilly attended her second wedding – she’s quite a popular little girl.

Our friends were married abroad earlier this summer, but had a reception here in SWMI so that we could celebrate with them, too!  The reception was held in a tent in the beautiful yard of a coworker, catered by that coworker (it was a.maz.ing!), and other friends photographed the event, while the groom himself brought out his DJ equipment and went to town.  A really sweet and really fun way to celebrate with them!  And!  To add to the excitement, they announced that Lilly will have a new little friend to play with in a few months!

IMG_7171

Lilly was very well behaved and spent most of the time at the reception either staring wide-eyed at the party or completely asleep in her daddy’s arms.  Lil and I hit the dance floor for just a minute, and she was mesmerized by the light coming off of the disco ball… we may be installing one in our home now.

{baby-wearing at the farmer’s market like a true hippie “natural mama”.  she’s probably even wearing cloth diapes under there.}

The rest of the weekend went by quickly — a lunch date at Chipotle, shopping, a trip to the farmer’s market.  And, since  it was my birthday weekend, I requested brunch out and a homemade card (card-making is one of Jason’s better skills).

Jason is super-crafty!{Jason works wonders with a pen and sparkly paper.  Do you see why I ask for homemade cards and not store-bought ones? Amazing.}

We were seated for brunch and given a children’s menu and cup of crayons for Lilly.  Now, I will be the first to brag about how advanced my child is (you guys! she’s super-advanced!), but, umm.  She barely has control of her limbs or digestive system.  Coloring and ordering an entree is just not in the cards for Lilly at this point.  I will gladly order an extra side of bacon on her behalf, though.

I also was made an amazing birthday dinner of flank steak tacos with cilantro lime marinade and topped with homemade pico de gallo!  (My husband frequently blog-cheats on me with this blog, but at least I get some tasty meals out of the deal…  This recipe for chipotle chicken is another one of our faves, and is delish on pork, too.)

The three of us sat down to dinner, Jason and I in chairs, Lilly in her little bouncer set up on the table, and as Jason and I ate, we watched Lilly watch her fist.  She was in uber-deep concentration, trying to get her clenched little fingers to land in her mouth.  She’d get so close, and then end up with her fist at her cheek.  Or her nose.  Or her forehead.  The intense concentration on something that you or I would be able to do with no thought whatsoever was incredible.  And when she finally landed her little paw in her mouth, there were cheers.  And it was at that moment that I thought to myself so this is where being a parent gets fun

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 5:44 pm

    Happy Late Birthday!! 🙂 Sounds like you had a wonderful one and that wedding reception, with new baby news, sounded just like the weddings I enjoy–fun and laid back. That little Lilly is just so adorable and due to some photos I can just picture the super concentrated face she was making, at least it’s what I would think she would make. Wish there was video!

    • September 13, 2011 3:13 pm

      I wish there was video of that, too! It was so funny. I’ll have to work on it! 🙂

  2. September 12, 2011 5:49 pm

    Sounds like the perfect, laid-back Birthday weekend.

    I can’t believe the brunch people gave you crayons! Too funny!

  3. September 13, 2011 7:18 am

    Happy Birthday as a new mommy!!

  4. September 13, 2011 2:04 pm

    Evidently Lillys family aren’t the only ones that can see her intelligence!

  5. September 14, 2011 10:14 am

    Sounds like a fun birthday!

  6. September 14, 2011 3:34 pm

    Happy Birthday – love the card – can you get him to make one for me?!!

Leave a Reply

