Skip to content

I am so far behind on this blogging thing.

August 28, 2011

The last few weeks have been crazy interesting for both us and Lilly.

It’s like she’s suddenly discovered that there’s this whole big exciting world around her and it’s worth staying awake for.

IMG_6773

{this baby looks caffeinated, but I can assure you she’s not.}

One night, when Lilly was about a month old, she decided she wasn’t going to sleep.  We nursed and rocked and cradled and sang to her until 3am, at which point she begrudgingly fell asleep and Jason and I collapsed into an exhausted (emotionally and physically) heap on the bed.  (She slept until 11am the following morning without waking.  The sleeping in was much appreciated by all, including the dogs.)

Once she’s asleep, she’ll typically sleep soundly until between 7 & 9am, wake to nurse, then sleep until about 10-11ish.  After that, all bets seem to be off for the afternoon – we’re usually looking at catnaps, crabbies, and frequent nursing until about 3-4pm, when she’ll sleep soundly until 6-7pm.  She’s fairly cheerful when she wakes, and will stay that way until maybe 9:30-10ish, when it’s time for her I’m so tired that all I can do is cry and cry and cry time.

We’ve taken action.  Because neither J or I is at our best at 3am.  S0, we are working hard to follow her sleepy signals better, and send her to bed when she starts yawning instead of when she starts screaming.  It seems crucial to keep her awake and active for the 2-3 hours between her late afternoon nap & bedtime.  So we read, have tummy time, and give her a bath.  And then Jason swaddles her and I feed her while laying in bed.  Then she’s moved to her bassinet because no one would sleep well if she stayed in our bed.  And the first night, she fell asleep in 20 minutes and I proclaimed that we were parenting geniuses.  And then she woke up and took another hour to settle back to sleep.  So I should not say such things, obviously.  But over the past week or so, things have definitely gotten better.  Jason and I have even had an entire hour to ourselves to sit on the couch together!  But I should not say such things, obviously.

IMG_6780{Daddy’s talk of brewing beer put Lilly to sleep… maybe this should be our nighttime strategy?  Jason’s brew talk usually puts me to sleep, too…}

I was kind of annoyed that she gave me the first glimpse of a non-poop-induced smile at one month and then spent the next two weeks so crabby, tired, and confused that she wouldn’t flash me any more of her cute happy baby faces.  What a tease.  Thankfully, baby smiles have returned within the last week!!  And they are super-huge, especially first thing in the morning and after she wakes from her evening nap.  I fully expect her to break out laughing one of these times…  (more on this once I actually manage to capture a baby smile on camera!)

The most awesome thing about this new routine, though, is bath time.  No matter how crabby she is before getting in the bath, putting Lilly in a tub full of water pretty much assures you at least one smile and a whole bunch of flailing baby limbs.  She loves it!

IMG_6789{this one has a knack for making crazy faces once I get the camera out… wonder where she gets it from?}

It probably helps that we’re beginning to understand her cries more – we can tell her sleepy cry from her hungry cry from her annoyed cry.  It also helps that she’s becoming much more active (flailing limbs everywhere!) during play time, so I think she’s getting tired.  We’re amazed by how strong her newly chubby little legs are, and how well she holds up her head.  She’s also located her fist and can plant it in her mouth when she needs a little sucking action – it’s pretty darn cute.  {Note that I’m all: SHE’S GOT PERSONALITY!  AND SPUNK!  And I’m sure that if you came over to see her, you’d probably still see a lump of skin flailing crazily and wonder what the heck I’m talking about.  But our little lump of skin has certainly come a long way since we first met her, and it seems like she’s becoming a real human right before our eyes.  So amazing!}

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    August 28, 2011 11:19 pm

    I love the look on her face in the tub! Are those dogs really going to get in with me?!
    She’s just letting you know who the boss is. All life will revolve around her from now and she’ll keep you on your toes! My princess!

  2. August 29, 2011 7:55 pm

    Lilly is awesome! I love the expressions. She definitely has personality and spunk! Hang in there through the crabby, no-sleeping time…such good times are yet to come!!

  3. August 30, 2011 12:23 am

    Okay, that photo in the tub kills me!!! She’s so cute 🙂 I love reading these little updates.

  4. August 31, 2011 3:27 pm

    That is one beautiful baby!

  5. September 1, 2011 5:41 pm

    That bath photo is hilarious – “Seriously Mum, bath photos? Put the camera down!”

Leave a Reply

