Skip to content

Lilly’s fourth week

August 16, 2011

Lilly’s Grammy, Poppy, Aunt Brey, & cousin Maelynn left early in the week, and we’ve returned to just being our little family of three.

Also, I think she’s hitting a growth spurt, since she’s been eating a little more and is slightly more fussy than she has been before.  So bittersweet.  I look at her and she’s already changed so much!  I want to freeze time and keep her little, but I’m also excited to see her grow and watch who she’ll become.

LillyMonkey3Days{look at how much my baby has grown already!}

LillyMonkey3Weeks

Lilly has been holding her head up more and more – her little neck muscles are so strong!  She’s managed to find her fists and jam them in her mouth, and she’ll track objects with her eyes when they’re waved in front of her.  We think the dogs might be her favorite objects to track… her eyes get really big whenever one of them comes into view and she’ll move her head to continue to watch them.  She’s also pretty psyched about bath time, and because of her new found neck strength is MUCH less floppy in the tub.

IMG_6010

We got out the bouncy chair & pack ‘n play.  Again, another bittersweet development.  I know that I need to put my girl down when she’s sleeping, and I know that I should probably get more done around the house besides just holding her, and from that standpoint, these little baby entertainers should help me out.  But really, all I want to do still is hold Lilly or talk to her or fall asleep with her.  I think that for me, pulling out these things means more of a return to our “normal” life where toilets need to be cleaned, bills need to be paid, and we need to go to work.  It seems like the end of our happy little baby vacation, where all we had to do was hold and adore our little one.  Sigh.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 9:33 am

    I was told more than once that I needed to put Logan down when he was sleeping, but I rarely did when I was on my maternity leave (12 weeks). Now that I’m back to work, I’m so glad I put everything on the back burner and just enjoyed that time with him. I think it was more important for me to hold him close than it was for him. The hours I spent with him sleeping on my chest are some of my most treasured moments.

  2. August 16, 2011 11:17 am

    Remember….if experts always knew everything, why do the rules keep changing? Hold that baby when you need to, she’ll tell you when to let go. (double sigh)

  3. August 16, 2011 3:51 pm

    She’s beautiful Jen. You just hold that baby whenever you want. Housework can wait. 🙂

  4. August 16, 2011 6:08 pm

    That monkey is getting smaller and smaller! Hold her—she’ll grow up to the point where you won’t be able to catch her to hold her:)

  5. Katy permalink
    August 16, 2011 6:48 pm

    Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for several months now. We just had our first baby too, her name is Lydia and we live in Kalamazoo. Lydia was born July 30th so we are a few days behind you. I LOVE reading your posts about Lilly, she is adorable and it’s fun to read about someone else trying to figure out this whole baby life. It’s pretty crazy! Anyway, just wanted to thank you for your updates.

    Katy

  6. August 17, 2011 2:02 pm

    She continues to be adorable – and love how we can see she is growing too. I have loved sharing in your baby holiday – only I didn’t have to share in the sleep-disturbed nights.

    Had my first black taxi tour last weekend – and thought of you!

Leave a Reply

