Skip to content

Lilly’s third week

August 9, 2011

Our baby bird had a few more visitors this week – her Grammy, Poppy, Aunt Brey, & Cousin Maelynn came all the way from Philly to visit with her for the entire week!  We held her baptism this week, which meant that she also met Uncles Kevin & Robby, Aunt Amy, Cousins Peter, Lucy, & Thomas, and her great grandparents & great Aunt Tami!  It was quite an exciting week for our little one — so many people who love her gathered in the same place!  She was passed from person to person for an entire weekend and didn’t mind at all – in fact, she mostly napped in everyone’s arms.  It was a little hard for this mama to share her baby bird – in my head, I know that she’ll be fine with anyone in our families…  but it’s still hard to give up my sweet baby.  Knowing that it’s best for her (both now and long-term) to feel comfortable and loved in her relative’s arms is probably the main thing that kept me from hovering too much!

IMG_6120{Lilly’s Grammy and Poppy came to stay with her this week!}

Lilly’s getting bigger: 8.5 lbs and 22.5 inches at her 2-3 week appointment with the doc.  I’m a little sad that my baby is getting bigger (why can’t she just stay tiny forever?), but also so happy that she’s thriving.  That means her father & I probably haven’t screwed her up too much yet *fingerscrossed*.

IMG_6060{Lilly was gifted lots of cute girly clothes this week, and you know her Grammy & I had some fun playing dress up the baby…}

This week I’m loving that she’s starting to stay awake for longer periods of time during the day.  She’s been more alert, watching whoever is talking to her, staring at the ceiling fan above our bed, or checking out her books.  She continues to sleep 8+ hours/night!  *fingerscrossed, knockonwood, whateverotherrandomluckythingIshoulddosothiskeepsupforherentirechildhood*  Usually her daddy or I have to wake her once we wake up, then I’ll feed her and one of us will get her ready for the day.  Even during what we think is her 3-week growth spurt, our girl slept 6 hours, woke to nurse, then slept for an additional 3 hours before we woke her for the day.  Her mornings are particularly sweet – Jason and I tend to wake once she starts stirring, and then we’ll pull her out of the bassinet that stands next to our bed.  We’ll pull the swaddle off of her and change her diapers, and meanwhile, she stretches and stretches and gradually opens her eyes.  It might be the cutest thing ever, and I’d like to bottle it up and put it in a jar (along with her sweet newborn cry) and keep it forever.

IMG_5925{I also stuffed my topless tutu-wearing daughter in a suitcase, which, you know, just happened to be casually placed in the garden.  This is stuff normal people do.  I promise.}

IMG_5932{Here is what she thought of the photoshoot.  Yep, she’s smiling AND flicking me off.  Awesome, Lilly.  Thanks.}

We made a special trip to the beach with all of Lilly’s cousins.  The older kids had fun playing in the water & sand, while Lil pretty much slept the entire time.  Her cousin, Thomas, who is only 10 months older than her, snagged a nap inside the tent, too.  Pretty cute.  Also?  Completely remarkable that my girl will be that big in just a few short months…

IMG_5907

We think that sometimes the girl fusses because we’re holding her too much — like she’ll sort of pretend she’s going to cry, and then we put her down and she’s completely content to just lay there.  We’re hoping that this is an early sign that she’s going to be a pretty independent child, but it’s fine if you roll your eyes at that because I know she’s only 3 weeks… and I’m not sure how much about her personality I really can infer from her current behavior.  (Although, if I can infer her personality from her current behavior, we’re both going to love how laid back and adaptable this child is!)

IMG_5835{Lilly & her GREAT grandpa.  Who sang her the same songs that he sang yours truly when I was a little girl.  And you know I had a cry about that, too.  But those were the only tears shed this week, thank goodness.}

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 2:49 pm

    Those suitcase pictures are SO precious! LOVE them! Glad you are soaking it up! I felt the same way when my in-laws visited… *give me back my baby*… sigh.

  2. Debbie permalink
    August 9, 2011 4:58 pm

    I’m so glad that even though you thought it, you didn’t beg for your sweet baby back. I had to soak up enough Lilly to last me 4 months! In the meantime I show her to pictures to every willing(or pretend to be willing) participant and they all think she’s just adorable!
    I hope she still recognizes me when I see her again .LOL!

  3. August 9, 2011 5:10 pm

    She is a pretty little girl. Love the photos in the suitcase!

  4. August 9, 2011 6:02 pm

    Gosh, I have so many things I want to say! Lilly is so beautiful, especially in her tutu and suitcase! But what I want to say most of all is that I think you can tell a lot about Lilly’s personality even though she is only 3 weeks old. Ike has always been independent and he still is. He is often much more happy playing or laying on his own than he is being held!

    You guys are clearly doing a lot right, especially if she is sleeping so much (only so much of that is luck, for sure.) Keep up the good work!!

  5. August 9, 2011 6:16 pm

    The great thing about all that growing means you get to keep playing “dress-up” with all the new outfits, but it is sad to see things they are already too big for.

    Love the tutu in the suitcase on the grass photo – I totally get it, and wish I had done it with my daughters, although that would have been in January for both of them and would probably have been illegal!

  6. August 9, 2011 7:12 pm

    Your daughter is fantastically gorgeous and you are my new hero for only crying once this week! Heck, I don’t know you, your daughter, or her great-grandfather, and *I* cried at the songs he sang to you both. Congratulations on a great 3rd week!

  7. August 9, 2011 10:43 pm

    I LOVE the suitcase pictures. Can you print me one with this caption underneath…

    “Send me to Nana’s house, NOW!”

  8. August 10, 2011 12:06 am

    ahhh sooo cute! I really like the picture of Lilly and Grandpa!! I can’t wait to meet her, I will hopefully meet her during xmas this year right?! It was good talking to you today–even if it was just for a bit. I will call you shortly though!

  9. August 10, 2011 12:43 pm

    Jen, she’s so cute! What a good baby sleeping through the night. Tell me your secret so I can pass it on to my daughter. 🙂

    • August 10, 2011 6:06 pm

      Our secret is the swaddle! Seriously, I’m convinced that it’s at least partially responsible for our sleep success. 🙂

      • August 10, 2011 10:52 pm

        I have to agree…I was able to see “the swaddle” in action last weekend and it defies belief! She actually calmed down when her arms were secured next to her body and she was wrapped like a burrito! Any older child trapped like that would scream to get free but at her age it seemed to calm her down and put her right to sleep! Wish that was encouraged when my kids were babes….

  10. August 14, 2011 7:33 pm

    ohmygodsuitcase! Those pictures are the cutest! And what? I totally have a suitcase in my garden for all the topless cherub babies that come to visit. Happens all the time. Totally normal. And I second the swaddle, we’ve been using it every night since Summer was born.

    • August 16, 2011 12:39 am

      Yes! See! Normal people have little angel babies in their garden suitcases. No big whoop! 🙂

Leave a Reply

