Skip to content

pregnancy: week 41

July 13, 2011

A week late.

Yep, this kid’s got his mom’s sense of time, which, generally operates MUCH slower than the clock that the rest of you are on.

I told Jason that his timekeeper genetics should have been stronger and beat out mine so that this kid would show up already.  Now we will REALLY NEVER BE ANYWHERE ON TIME from here on out.  But at least you all know to expect it now.

Physically, all is still wonderful.  On W41D1, we had an ultrasound to check fluid levels, blood flow through the cord & placenta, heart rate, movement, and all that good stuff.  Rico got a perfect score.  So he is likely flourishing in there and will stay put until he’s 25, attending online college through a cord plugged into my (increasingly disgusting) belly button.

All joking aside, we’re so grateful that the little one is healthy.  All you have to hear is one my-baby-came-too-early horror story to be happy that ours has chosen to stay put a little longer.  That this baby doesn’t want out is actually an okay problem to have, despite our mounting impatience to meet him.  And besides the occasional teary why doesn’t he want to meet us moment (sometimes followed by more tears and a what if I’m not as excited to meet him as I was three weeks ago moment or a how much longer can I take being on the edge of something. really. big. moment), I could still probably do this for a few more weeks.  (Although the ladies at yoga have become more and more concerned that my water will break mid-class).  I’ve yet to be completely and unbearably uncomfortable.  Moody?  Yes.  Annoyed?  A little.  Occasionally uncomfortable?  Sure.  But this hasn’t been impossible.

We headed to our normal 41 week doctor’s appointment knowing that we’d be discussing induction.  I felt slightly stronger contractions the morning of the appointment, but they were irregular & pretty short.  Still, I was hopeful that at the appointment the doctor would announce that I was in labor and better head to labor and delivery.  That did not happen.  What did happen was that little Rico passed his non-stress test, I found out that I’ve gained (gasp) 40 lbs since last October, and we spent an hour discussing induction possibilities with the OB.  He wanted to give me until the end of the week, I wanted three extra days.  I was trying to be hopeful that if I just had extra time, Rico would come out on his own… but in the end, we found out that one of our preferred docs would be on call for the doc’s suggested induction day, so we agreed to it.

As it turns out, though, all of my worrying about being induced was for nothing.  Those contractions that I felt on the way to the OB’s office intensified later in the day, I was in full labor by the next morning, and by the following afternoon, I was happily snuggling my adorable little Lilly June!  Yes!  Rico was a girl all along, and such a sweet one at that! (Hopefully my use of male pronouns to describe her for the past 9 months won’t send her to therapy as a teenager.)  We are completely, absolutely, and totally smitten with her.  Really, words cannot describe how amazing the past few days have been, so, for now, I won’t try.  Instead, I’m gonna go snuggle my girl.  Be back soon with stories of her birthday & first few days outside of the womb.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 8:16 pm

    I LOVE LILLY JUNE and can’t wait until I can hold her again!!! What new project do you have that I can use as an excuse to come over again?

  2. July 13, 2011 8:19 pm

    I wanted to cry for you reading the title, but thrilled for the outcome! Beautiful name, baby and mama!

  3. July 13, 2011 8:23 pm

    She’s beautiful! I love her name too. You look so great! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. July 13, 2011 8:41 pm

    O-M-G….you fooled me! I was checking your blog wondering if you’d given birth. I thought Rico was a nickname you gave because you knew your baby was a boy. Ha! Lilly June is a lovely name. Enjoy your baby girl. Can’t wait to hear more…

  5. japortma permalink
    July 13, 2011 8:51 pm

    You two look amazing!! I kept stalking this page waiting for this post!! Im so happy for you and your happy little family of two dogs, a husband, and Lilly June!!

    • japortma permalink
      July 14, 2011 12:23 am

      Oh and don’t worry, my guess is that since she is apart of our family, you (and everybody else) calling her a “he” won’t phase her much! 😉

  6. July 13, 2011 9:22 pm

    She’s beautiful!!! Enjoy every moment! Can’t wait to hear more about her and see more pictures!

  7. July 13, 2011 9:51 pm

    Oh my goodness I thought I was going to read ANOTHER post that you were still hoarding a child in there and we’d never see the kid!! My husband was sitting next to me when I scrolled down and saw that you had a little bundle of joy in your hands and I squealed—she is so SO beautiful! And what a wonderful name 🙂 So what day was she born anyway?

    P.S. I thought for sure Rico would in deed be a boy and your use of “he” all the time was your way of admitting you knew the sex and just weren’t telling anyone. 😉 haha

  8. July 13, 2011 10:01 pm

    Congratulations. This was such happy news to read. Enjoy your gorgeous little girl.

  9. July 13, 2011 10:55 pm

    She is gorgeous! Congrats!!

  10. July 14, 2011 1:11 am

    Yay congrats you two! What a beautiful name and a beautiful little girl. Enjoy being new parents!

  11. Jan permalink
    July 14, 2011 3:01 am

    You had me completely fooled, I thought by the title that you were still waiting for baby’s arrival and scrolled down expecting to see your still pregnant belly. Congratulations to you both, she is gorgeous and her name is lovely. Was she named after anybody?

  12. Laurel permalink
    July 14, 2011 5:18 am

    Count me in as being fooled! Congrats! What a beautiful baby girl!

  13. Monique Jalbert permalink
    July 14, 2011 6:01 am

    Congrats on your daughter! What an adorable addition to your family.

  14. July 14, 2011 7:04 am

    YOU TOTALLY TRICKED ME! So happy to read this today! Both you and baby are beautiful. Congratulations to you & hubby.

    Welcome to the great adventure that is parenthood ; )

  15. July 14, 2011 7:31 am

    Congratulations! You’re both so beautiful! 🙂 xxx

  16. July 14, 2011 8:54 am

    Oh yay! I love her name! Lilly June .. so pretty. What a beautiful little girl.

  17. Erin permalink
    July 14, 2011 9:39 am

    Congrats!!!

  18. July 14, 2011 9:50 am

    Oh my goodness… I was SO not expecting that. Here I am reading about induction, and BOOM, Lilly June. She’s gorgeous. You’re gorgeous. I’m so happy for you both!

  19. Katie permalink
    July 14, 2011 10:53 am

    You are both amazing! Congrats to you my friend! We can’t wait to meet her.

  20. July 14, 2011 11:07 am

    Congrats!! She’s beautiful!

  21. July 14, 2011 1:18 pm

    Congrats on the baby Rico! She is just cute as a button. And you my dear, looking great. Enjoy her!

  22. July 14, 2011 1:26 pm

    Oooohh… She is precious! She has the sweetest little lips! I am so happy for you.

  23. July 14, 2011 1:32 pm

    Congratulations!

  24. Debbie permalink
    July 14, 2011 1:38 pm

    Can’t wait to meet Lilly! I know another Lillian who is smiling away!

  25. July 14, 2011 2:18 pm

    Congratulations!!! She is beautiful 🙂 Absolutely beautiful and I love her name. Way to go Mama!! I know you are enjoying every moment with her and i cannot wait to hear all about it. Congratulations, again girl she is perfect!

  26. July 14, 2011 4:29 pm

    Isn’t it amazing what you can do when you put your mind to it! She’s a real prize!! 🙂

  27. July 14, 2011 4:32 pm

    YAY!! Congratulations! She is so beautiful! Can’t wait to see more pictures and hear more about her birthday. Hope all is going well so far and that you are getting the swing of things quickly. So happy for you!

  28. July 14, 2011 6:08 pm

    Congratulations on your little one! She is gorgeous and I am so happy to hear you were able to avoid induction!

  29. July 15, 2011 11:19 am

    OMG!!!! I am so happy for you guys! She looks perfect! You will have to update us on how the doggies are handling the new one in the house. We are concerned about that with our pets. Congrats!

  30. July 15, 2011 11:58 am

    She’s BEAUTIFUL! Congratulations! I can’t wait to hear more and see more photos! I bet she just loves her beautiful bedroom too! 🙂 So happy for you!

  31. Kate permalink
    July 15, 2011 6:07 pm

    Congratulations! So happy she has arrived, I hope you all are doing well and enjoy! Girls are so much fun, but then that’s all I know about. Ha ha. Best to you all!

  32. July 17, 2011 4:22 pm

    I’m so happy for you and your hubby!!! Your baby girl is lovely, congrats again!

Leave a Reply

