Skip to content

our bedroom

July 6, 2011

First, a note:  thanks much for all of your encouragement yesterday!  It is so awesome to hear from so many of you who have felt similarly… and reading your comments took an edge off the boredom for a bit yesterday, so thank you! 🙂

In the mad dash to get stuff done before baby arrives, I insisted that we switch up some things in our bedroom. When we first moved, I declared that our bedroom was going to be my first project.  That didn’t really happen; instead, this has been sort of an evolving piece of work.  It’s likely done *for now* but you all know I’d love hardwoods, new closet doors, new light fixtures, and a master bath.  Gotta have something to daydream about, right? 🙂

This reminds me that it’s officially been *two* whole years since we’ve moved into this house — two years since we’ve found ourselves in rural MI.  And they’ve been two really really wonderful years.  We are so blessed, and I’m not sure that it’d be possible for us to be any happier.

Anyways. Here’s what it looked like when we first toured the house (with the previous owner’s furniture):

The last time I showed you pictures of the bedroom, it looked like this:

It hasn’t changed too drastically, but the white duvet cover certainly helped brighten up the room.  We bought two sconces from Pottery Barn so that we can read in bed, and they are awesome.  (Actually, I had a gift card to cover the full amount, so I just paid shipping on them!  Yay!).

{for some reason, the paint color is reading a little more periwinkle-y in some of these pics than it does in real life – the last photos in this post are probably the most true to what you’d see if you were here in person}

I picked up a wood carving thingy on sale at World Market a while ago & had JT hang it above the bed.  I totally dig it.  And I moved the framed engagement photos from above the bed to above each bedside table.

And I made a few zippered! throw pillows for the bed (I used this tutorial… if you want to do piping around the outside like I did with the small green pillow, just sew the piping to the front of your pillow before following the zipper instructions).

The abstract piece of blue artwork is also a Jen original… it’s not the most magical piece of artwork ever, but it fills the spot.  And watercolors are super-easy to do — paint the canvas with water, then start experimenting with color and they’ll all bleed together!  If you hate what you’ve created, let it dry & start again on top of your previous painting.  No big whoop.

The other side of the room hasn’t changed much.  I did hang a few more pictures (the one above JT’s dresser is a photo that we took in Costa Rica last fall & had printed), made a lumbar pillow for the chair in the corner (I anticipate spending some serious baby-mama time in this chair & want to be comfy!), and sewed a new doggy bed pillow to match the printed Ikea chair.

{the blue on the walls in these photos is probably most similar to what it looks like in real life — our room is big and kind of dark, which I think makes it difficult to photograph…}

The next room on the agenda to be completed is the nursery!  And, my little shipment of crib skirt fabric arrived yesterday, so if I can’t share pretty Rico pictures with you tomorrow (you know, because HE’S NEVER COMING OUT), I hope to at least get to share pretty pictures of his room.  A close second… maybe?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 11:28 am

    your room looks pretty, I love your dresser! I hope Rico comes out soon!

  2. July 6, 2011 12:26 pm

    Love the cool restful room – hope Baby realises this when they arrive and let you continue to sleep like babies yourselves 🙂

  3. July 6, 2011 8:56 pm

    You have a lovely room. 🙂 I’m sure Rico will enjoy it whenever he comes out! 😉

  4. July 6, 2011 11:00 pm

    I’m absolutely in love with your room! I can’t wait for Rico’s arrival and am praying for you!

  5. July 7, 2011 8:30 am

    Very nice. I really like the changes around the bed…the pillows, the photos, wood carved thingy and the lamps…it looks like a spread in a magazine!

  6. July 9, 2011 2:09 pm

    I really like your bedroom. It’s so “together” and that wood caring over he bed rocks my socks—very pretty! I wish our room had a little more space for a sitting area and a makeup area desk.

    And again, you are looking fantastic for 9 months pregnant!! You are my pregnancy heroine! 🙂

  7. July 10, 2011 4:12 pm

    Your room looks fabulous! I love the blue on the walls, and the chair is very cool!

  8. July 11, 2011 10:47 pm

    There seems to be a missing piece of furniture in your bedroom?

  9. July 12, 2011 1:33 pm

    Someone must be having a baby…no new post yet this week.

Leave a Reply

