Skip to content

pregnancy: week 40

July 5, 2011

Yep, we’re here. No baby yet.

(Actually, as I’m posting this, I’m 41 weeks 4 days, and still no Rico.  If you’re confused about this, so is my mom.  Basically, I’ve been writing thoughts about each week as it happened & then posting those thoughts on the following week…  So you’re actually reading what went down around here LAST week, and next Monday I’ll have a whole new post about my thoughts on this week in pregnancy…  Likely, it will include things like, “GET OUT ALREADY!” but as I’m hesitant to agree to an induction without having actual medical reason for one, it’s entirely possible that this baby still won’t be here.  I’m starting to have visions of him attending online college through a USB port installed in my belly button.)

I’ve been waking up every morning asking, “Rico, will TODAY be your birthday?”  So far, no answer.

Physically, I could keep Rico in there for another month or two.  Seriously.  I feel (mostly) great – a little achy around the hips & it’d be great to get rid of the occasional slight heartburn and inability to bend over without sighing loudly or grunting as the air is completely forced from my lungs – but really, I’ve had it pretty easy.

Mentally, the waiting game is killing me.  I kind of like things done on MY time (which means that I’ve got it planned out, even if my sense of timing operates a little slower than the time the rest of the world is on).  And I’m used to getting things (mostly) done on MY time.  But, I suppose this is the first of many instances in which MY time really isn’t my time, and that I have no ability to plan for or control what this kid is doing.  Sigh.

{Also, it cracks me up that even Jason is done fielding the “where is baby?” question — every day that he shows up for work, at least one of his coworkers asks, “No baby yet?” and I tell him that his response should be, “oh, baby’s here, I just thought I’d completely forego my awesome 6-week paid paternal leave.”  I mean, duh.  If the baby is here or even on it’s way, Jason sure as heck better not be at work.  This makes me so glad that I’m not working right now – I’d probably handle the situation far less graciously than Jason does.}

Baby dropped.  Go compare these pictures to the last ones here.

So I will continue to fill my days with cleaning and sewing and petting the dogs.  Even if I’m running out of closets and garages to organize and attractive clothing to wear.  In the interest of full disclosure, the above photos were taken on the one day this week that I managed to actually change out of my usual pj/J’s t-shirt combo.  I am one hot mama, I know.  At least the closet/garage organization was WAY overdue (I filled our entire garbage cart – one that we usually take an entire month to fill – in about 3 hours on Saturday.  I would have taken before and after pictures to really show you what a great little nester I am, but was WAY to embarrassed to share the before…)

Jason looked at me like I had two heads when I told him I was going to clean the house again.  He’s all, “what are you going to clean?  The house is already clean.”  So I guess I’m seeing & cleaning invisible dirt at this point.  (I SWEAR it’s there.)

And, you guys.  I don’t think this is nesting anymore.  I think this has crossed over into the realm of pure, unadulterated boredom.  Seriously.  I’m going to start darning socks up in here if this kid doesn’t arrive soon.

At this point, my biggest fear is that this baby isn’t coming out on his own & that I’ll have to be induced.  I’d really rather for Rico to pick out his own birthday, because it’s way more awesome that way, and also because I’ve not heard  favorable things about being induced.  And every day that he doesn’t come out on his own, my anxiety about him not coming out on his own skyrockets.

But!  Rico’s looking good.  He’s measuring right, I’ve still put on only (gasp!) 35 lbs, and his heartbeat looks strong.  He passed his non-stress test this week after a little prodding and an entire can of Sprite (haven’t had a full can of soda in longer than I can remember, and boy was I shaking from the sugar afterwards).  But he’s “reactive” — which means that he moves & shows corresponding changes in heart rate – and this seems to satisfy everyone that he’s still thriving in there.  So, rock on with your bad self, little Rico.  But please come out soon, okay?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 8:49 am

    Hey Jen, I was really hesitant to agree to an induction too – and as it turned out I didn’t have to because I went into labor on my own at 40 weeks and 5 days. But because of the situation I was in, I had Mark do all the research on inductions. It turns out that being induced at 41 weeks (or any time after) actually does not increase your chances of needing a c-section or otherwise surgically aided birth (i.e. forceps/vacuum). In fact, after 41 weeks your chances of those things go up the longer you wait – as does infant mortality albeit by only .2% – because the baby starts packing on pounds once you hit 40 weeks, and a bigger baby increases the liklihood of needing interventions. I’m just telling you my perspective… I was all suspicious of my OB’s policy of inducing at 41 weeks instead of 42. As it turned out, M was born at 41 weeks (since labor took so long) and he was already 9 lbs and 10 ounces, with a 99th percentile circumference head. Had they induced me at 39 weeks, which they plan to do next time, I would have had a much better chance of a more “normal” delivery or in any case, not needing the forceps. I would have had a much better recovery, no doubt. Of course everyone needs to make their own choice here. But I just wanted to tell you we’ve done the cutting-edge research and once you hit 41 weeks, it actually reduces your chances of c-section etc. to be induced rather than waiting as the baby gets bigger and bigger and has less room to position itself to come out.

  2. July 5, 2011 9:14 am

    My first baby was two weeks late and then the labour started on its own. It was, however, the longest two weeks of my life! 🙂 🙂

  3. July 5, 2011 9:26 am

    Oh gosh, those last 10 days past my due date took forever!!! I was induced 10 days past and while I wish labor had started on it’s own, it was nice to have an end to the waiting. You look awesome though, and he’ll be here any day now! My son is just over 3 months, and it already seems like a lifetime ago that I was pregnant and waiting for him to make his arrival.

  4. Amanda Moloney Johns permalink
    July 5, 2011 10:47 am

    We are rooting for Rico in Utah! If there is a baby pool out there, I’m voting for the 7th!

    • July 5, 2011 1:21 pm

      Me too! I’ll go with the 7th because it’s my wedding anniversary AND my (first) grandbaby’s birthday – she’ll be six. Hang in there; you look amazing!

  5. July 5, 2011 2:21 pm

    Like I’ve already told you, Aunt T was two weeks late. I’d had a dinner party and when the dishes were done I felt a lttle different. Because we couldn’t afford an extra day in the hospital (due to the fact that we didn’t have insurance) we waited to get to the hospital until a minute after 12:00 and she was born at 1:10. I’m hoping that you have inherited that baby having gene from me 🙂 There was no such thing as “Daddys” getting six weeks off so he had to be at work at 9:00 the next morning

  6. July 5, 2011 4:16 pm

    This stage does seem to last FOR EVER – but I promise it won’t!

    Jx

    PS Yes – the water is FREEZING, but they don’t seem to mind/care. I remember (way back when I paddled in the Atlantic Ocean too) that after a while, it is so cold you go numb, and don’t feel the pain. The worst bit is the pain as you start to “thaw” ……oh to be young and not care!!!

  7. Katie permalink
    July 5, 2011 5:44 pm

    I feel your pain! Charlie was a week late and it was torture. I admire your productivity though, I just sat around avoiding people and their “Is the baby here yet?” questions and watched an entire season of Dexter! Good luck Jenny – we are thinking of you!

  8. Debbie permalink
    July 5, 2011 6:49 pm

    Love the expression on your face! We all love you and know we’ll have good news soon.

  9. July 5, 2011 9:34 pm

    I am right there with you! I am just 39 weeks though so I have a ways to go. And it is hilarious that I just had the exact same conversation with my husband about how I was so happy I was off work because I would not be able to handle the daily questions he is getting, Good luck on him coming on his own soon!

  10. July 5, 2011 9:37 pm

    my second baby was 41+6….she certainly didnt want to come! Feeling for you, but it wont be too much longer 🙂

  11. Kate permalink
    July 5, 2011 9:51 pm

    So both of my girls were induced. Elizabeth at 40 weeks and Evie at 39. My family has big babies. I mean BIG babies, so based on a lot of factors both of my OBs decided induction was the way to go. Both of my labors were easy. Textbook even. It took me a little while to get complete (avg. 6 hrs), but for both I pushed less than thirty min. For Evie, she was out in two or three pushes. I really have to say it was probably easier for me to get induced. They were the perfect sizes (7lbs7ozs; 7lbs4ozs) and that made it easier on me. The pain wasn’t bad, though I did have an epi with both- but not until I was much closer to delivery. When I got my epi I was uncomfortable, never in “bad” pain. I sometimes wonder if I could have done it without. People give you horror stories about labor and inductions, but in reality things usually go very smoothly. The big thing to remember is that most of the literature states that past 42 weeks babies don’t usually thrive in utero, in fact they usually start to decline. I’m not saying go induction, but it isn’t as scary as many make it out to be. Good luck, wishing you the best, and I hope things happen naturally for you.

  12. July 6, 2011 8:53 am

    Thinking of you! I remember those days so clearly, just waiting around and trying to make up things to do to fill my time. I was SURE I’d go early with my first so I stopped teaching 3 weeks before my due date…and then I delivered 3 days AFTER my due date. lol Hang in there! Can’t wait to see the little bugger! 🙂

  13. July 6, 2011 6:42 pm

    I can’t even believe that it is close to time. You look so good! I think it’s great that you are avoiding being induced, but remember that if you need to go that route, you’ll make it through and you’ll meet that sweet little Rico! Can’t wait to hear the news!!!

  14. July 6, 2011 8:52 pm

    The compulsive cleaning is just nature’s way of preparing you for the next 18+ years! Hang in there girl – it will all be worth it in the end ; )

  15. July 6, 2011 10:42 pm

    Come on babyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good lucl. I keep checking for an announcement and baby Rico’s arrival!

  16. July 7, 2011 10:55 am

    I hope you don’t have too much longer to wait, but as long as baby is healthy and happy in there, I guess its the best place for him/her. I will cross my fingers for you that it happens soon though!! Good luck with everything!!

    And think of it this way, at least you are getting done a few last minute projects before the Rico arrives!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

