Skip to content

baby quilts!

June 29, 2011

Yep, that’s quiltS, as in plural.

When I last mentioned quilting, I’m sure I left you all hanging on the edge of your seats, wondering if I’d finish Rico’s quilt before he arrived.  (I KNOW, this blog is so dramatic!)

Well, friends, I did one better than that – I finished two baby quilts.

Here’s Rico’s zigzag quilt, hanging above the crib (because babies + blankets + sleep = big no no, right?).  The quilt itself was pretty simple to make, and I’m really happy with how it turned out.  (I am still soliciting crib skirt suggestions… I really wanted to go with the teal fabric in the top stripe, but don’t have enough and can’t figure out who makes it or what it’s called.  Our current second choice is white, maybe with a yellow or teal stripe at the bottom.  Or I can use some of the leftover zigzag material from the rocking chair I recovered, but methinks that’s just too many zigzags in one tiny little room.)  More pictures of the nursery coming at you soon… as soon as I figure out the crib skirt!

I used a low-loft natural cotton quilt batting, which made the entire blanket flat & fairly easy to machine quilt.  (Previously, I had used cotton/poly mixes that were a bit thicker.  They make the quilting a little more obvious, but are also a little more difficult for yours truly to smoosh into her sewing machine when quilting).  For the quilting, I just sewed ~1/2″ to the inside edge of each white zigzag.  Pretty simple, and it seems to hold everything together nicely.  I was also given a walking foot by one of the sweet women that I work with (who is an amazing quilter, BTW), so used that when quilting, and I think it really helped walk all the fabric through the machine at the same rate.

The second baby quilt is this over-the-top pink minky deal.  Our friends, whose baby girl was due a day before us ended up having their sweet baby girl two weeks early.  I’m only slightly jealous.  {RICO!  WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO US?  DO YOU NOT WANT TO MEET US?  What’s the deal, pal?}

I got all the pink fabrics out of my stash and whipped up this little quilt top in about an hour (they’re all Heather Bailey Nicey Jane fabrics, in case you love them as much as I do!  In fact, I’ve also used them in this quilt.).  I decided to forego batting, instead backing the quilt with a soft (PINK!) minky fabric.

Also, in thinking that my baby MIGHT ACTUALLY be born any day now and that I’d better finish this project ASAP (ha ha ha! so funny!), I decided to simplify the quilting process a bit by attaching the front & back similar to how I did with the flannel-lined towels I made a few months ago.  That is, I pinned the front of the quilt to the front of the minky, sewed around the outside, leaving myself a few inches to turn the entire thing right-side-out.  Then, I simply sewed around the edge using 1/4″ seam allowance.  Finally, I sewed across the middle of the blanket so that it doesn’t separate when it’s washed.  FYI: Inet rumor has it that when sewing with minky, you’ve got to pin every 1 1/2 or so because the minky stretches – I also used a walking foot, and didn’t have much difficulty with stretching.

I think this project probably took 2 hours total, and turned out much better than I expected, given that I’ve not sewn with minky before.  I kind of want to make one for Rico now… the minky is so nice and soft…

Irrationally, I keep thinking, “maybe he’s waiting to make his appearance until I _________.”  The blank has been filled in with such adventures as: clean his room, finish his room, and now? make him a soft minky blanket.  Yes, that is definitely what he’s waiting for (because he’s only been gifted 3 super-soft homemade blankets, I’m certain he needs one more).

Although, truthfully, Jason and I have decided that he should just stay put until at least next Tuesday.  I mean, who wants to spend the holiday weekend in the hospital?  (with staff who, presumably, also does not want to be at the hospital?).

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 9:26 am

    You are so very talented – I am in awe of your lovely craftiness – what a lucky little baby!

    I come from a long line of quilters/crocheters on my mother’s side and am sad to say I most definitely did not inherit the sewing gene.

  2. June 29, 2011 10:14 am

    Very cute! I like how Rico’s blanket turned out. If Rico is anything like Jim, he/she will love it to shreds!
    The pink quilt is sweet…I like the idea of using the minky fabric instead of batting and a back. How big did you make that quilt???

    • June 30, 2011 1:22 pm

      I remember those cute little blue & pink woobies you made the twins… he really did love his to shreds, didn’t he? 🙂

      The pink quilt is 32″ x 32″ — not super-big, but a good size for cuddling!

      The zig zag one is crib sized – 45″ x 60″.

  3. June 29, 2011 11:32 am

    You rock!! Love the zig zag baby blanket its so precious and I love the one you made for your friends baby girl so sweet! you make it look so simple! lol — I’m starting on a quilt for our little guy today, wish me lots of luck.

    Hopefully Rico will arrive tuesday giving you one more weekend to chill and relax, if not wishing you and hubby an early congrats!!!

  4. June 29, 2011 3:04 pm

    Your quilts are beautiful! 🙂 I can’t wait to see your baby!!! 🙂 🙂

  5. June 29, 2011 3:44 pm

    I ADORE the zig zag quilt. Like. I need one. Now. I just love the pattern so much.

    I’ve always been so scared to try Minky. Glad to know it’s doable.

  6. Mom permalink
    June 29, 2011 7:15 pm

    I love Rico’s quilt…now I can totally see one of the blue fabrics for the skirt (but you don’t have any, right?) Did you try laying the yellow zigzag under the mattress? Would be interested to see if that is too crazy or not!

    • June 30, 2011 1:25 pm

      I did try the yellow zigzag & it looks a little crazy.

      Good news, though – I emailed the shop in Philly where the blue fabric came from w/a picture of the fabric & they still have it in stock! So I just ordered fabric for the crib skirt – should arrive in 2-3 days, so if Rico stays put until next week as he’s been instructed, I’ll probably have time to finish it before he arrives! If not, I may solicit your help when you’re here…

  7. June 29, 2011 8:27 pm

    You are amazing! This is beautiful!!! I so love the colors in the nursery!!!

  8. June 30, 2011 12:52 pm

    Love it. Just love it! And you still wow me because you seem to have so much GO when you are thisclose to giving birth any minute now! 🙂 4th of July baby maybe? That’d be fun!

  9. June 30, 2011 1:26 pm

    Thanks everyone for your super-ridiculously nice comments! 🙂 You’re all awesome.

Leave a Reply

